Sponsor Message:
Aviation Hobby Forum
My Starred Topics | Profile | New Topic | Forum Index | Help | Search 
Just Discovered A Major Scam ...  
User currently onlinealberchico From United States of America, joined Sep 2004, 3070 posts, RR: 0
Posted (5 years 1 month 3 weeks 4 days 16 hours ago) and read 8479 times:

Apparently this company is selling a flight sim that is basically a rip-off of an open source sim called Flight Grear





Has anybody else heard about this ?

short summary of every jewish holiday: they tried to kill us ,we won , lets eat !
8 replies: All unread, jump to last
User currently onlinecsturdiv From Australia, joined Aug 2005, 1894 posts, RR: 3
Reply 1, posted (5 years 1 month 3 weeks 4 days 8 hours ago) and read 8406 times:

I see ads for this all of the time on Facebook, and they are starting to get annoying, In their ads they are now replacing letters with numbers, not sure what they are trying to accomplish. And in one ad, it listed it as being a complex miitary simulator, but he picture they used was of a British Airways Concorde.

An American expat from the ORD area living and working in Australia
User currently offlineBraniff747SP From United States of America, joined Oct 2008, 3177 posts, RR: 1
Reply 2, posted (5 years 1 month 3 weeks 4 days 6 hours ago) and read 8389 times:

Well, they actually disclose the fact, in their T&C area, that the software is FlightGear... Kind of. http://www.proflightsimulator.com/fg-help.htm

Quoting Pro Flight Simulator T&C (Thread starter):

ProFlightSimulator is an open source stand alone Flight Simulator.

As always disclosed this is a split / branch from the FlightGear community and has been set up for a very specific reason.

It's different from FG due to the many major changes to the game.

Why are we different?:

A plug and play system that works without the hassles of advanced customization
Makes it easy to start playing the game without having the need to perform complex technical installation.

We offer a one stop launch system and makes it easy to add aircraft + scenery.
No more fiddling with files and not knowing where to copy them. Its a one-click installation process.

The complete start up of the game was rewritten to help new users with this issue.

There is better hardware and add-on software interfacing capabilities. (Eg: Joystick support)

We've incorporated More Photo-Realistic Scenery
New updates are added monthly.

Reduce the lag effect in flying

New aircraft models are added on a regular basis.
(FG does not provide new updates very regularly)
Customer support is only an email away
(Open source products do not offer any support)
VATSim network integration! Fly with other pilots on aviation networks. (should be ready in 4 months time)
To be compliant, we've released the game until the GNU/GPL license.

There're also planned works to include a few major improvements in the next few months namely:

- Improving joystick interface (one-click configuration with all major flight control hardware)
- Intergrating VATSIM and other network support.
- Constant development of new aircraft and new sceneries.

It would be much much different from what FlightGear was.

it also comes complete with bug fixes, and we reinvest back into this version of the game to get programmers to make more additions and bug fixes.

We have a team of paid developers who are working full time to add new code and new ideas to fully develop this.

As such, the cost you'll be paying will go into the development of this game. There will be new changes and updates every month.

This is a separate branch of FlightGear and it may be based on it but it is definitely NOT similar in the aspects mentioned above.

To say it is simply FlightGear would be inaccurate and illegal.

I hope that explains our position

The 747 will always be the TRUE queen of the skies!
User currently offlineZKNCL From New Zealand, joined Oct 2010, 338 posts, RR: 0
Reply 3, posted (5 years 1 month 3 weeks 4 days ago) and read 8304 times:

I got an email from them saying that they wanted me to buy it. Knowing me I automatically deleted it but I never knew it was. I was actually going to buy it! but thanks for the warning.

ZkNcL (Might see If I can rename myself to that )

A319/20/21, A332/3, A342/3/6, A380, B732/3/4/H/8, B742/4, B762/3, B77E/W, B788
User currently offlineFly2HMO From , joined Dec 1969, posts, RR:
Reply 4, posted (5 years 1 month 3 weeks 3 days 21 hours ago) and read 8286 times:

Flight Gear is open source last time I checked so anybody can do anything they want with the program code and charge for it legally. So strictly in that regard it is not a scam. It's certainly a lame attempt at glorifying a crap simulator though.

[Edited 2011-04-08 17:47:26]

User currently offlineinitious From Singapore, joined Dec 2008, 1079 posts, RR: 6
Reply 5, posted (5 years 1 month 3 weeks 3 days 17 hours ago) and read 8247 times:

I seen this several times on Facebook too. I thought it was a gonna be a serious competitor to FSX but when I went to the website and saw the screenshots, I just went, "CRAP!" and closed the website immediately.   I don't think I'll use it even for free!

One way I will fly around the world!
User currently offlineMaverick623 From United States of America, joined Nov 2006, 6043 posts, RR: 7
Reply 6, posted (5 years 1 month 3 weeks 1 day 19 hours ago) and read 7995 times:

Quoting alberchico (Thread starter):
a rip-off of an open source

"PHX is Phoenix, PDX is the other city" -777Way
User currently onlinealberchico From United States of America, joined Sep 2004, 3070 posts, RR: 0
Reply 7, posted (5 years 1 month 3 weeks 1 day 17 hours ago) and read 7973 times:

Its still deceptive advertising and marketing. Not to mention that their so called money back guarantee claim is a load of crap as other people who purchased this have been unable to get a refund. Thankfully there aren't too many idiots out there who have bought this crap when they have x-plane and FSX to choose from.

short summary of every jewish holiday: they tried to kill us ,we won , lets eat !
User currently offlineEDICHC From , joined Dec 1969, posts, RR:
Reply 8, posted (5 years 1 month 4 days 10 hours ago) and read 7050 times:

What a heap of crap! Looked at the screenshots...on a par with FS2000 maybe.

Top Of Page
Forum Index

Reply To This Topic Just Discovered A Major Scam ...
No username? Sign up now!

Forgot Password? Be reminded.
Remember me on this computer (uses cookies)
  • Aviation hobby related posts only.
  • Back all your opinions with facts.
  • No adverts of any kind. This includes web pages.
  • No hostile language or criticizing of others.
  • Do not post copyright protected material.
  • Use relevant and describing topics.
  • Check if your post already been discussed.
  • Check your spelling!
Add Images Add SmiliesPosting Help

Please check your spelling (press "Check Spelling" above)

Similar topics:More similar topics...
World Airline Routes/ Just Planes Part 9 posted Fri Oct 1 2010 16:31:08 by EMA747
Looking For Duty Free CataloguesAll Major Airlines posted Mon Jul 12 2010 13:17:32 by rutley21
Just Ordered Airline 7 posted Thu Jul 8 2010 06:37:40 by jetfuel
Dreamwings Dash 8 Q400 Major Problems In FSX posted Fri Dec 11 2009 15:10:50 by UltimateDelta
Selling Just Planes St Maarten DVD posted Sun Nov 29 2009 04:41:35 by Hywel
World Airline Routes/ Just Planes Part 8 posted Sat Oct 31 2009 05:58:38 by 757767lover
Just Planes Part 7 posted Thu Jun 25 2009 03:04:51 by WILCO737
Self Gloss: Just Got The Court Line Tri Star! posted Thu Apr 16 2009 08:23:13 by Braniff747SP
Just Planes DVD For Sale posted Sat Mar 28 2009 06:40:00 by Dazed767
Just Planes Eurowings Question posted Fri Feb 6 2009 10:24:28 by FatmirJusufi

Sponsor Message:
Printer friendly format