Flyingbronco05 From United States of America, joined May 2002, 3838 posts, RR: 3 Posted (9 years 3 months 1 week 4 days 20 hours ago) and read 3127 times:
JBLUA320 From United States of America, joined May 2002, 3160 posts, RR: 21 Reply 1, posted (9 years 3 months 1 week 4 days 20 hours ago) and read 3083 times:
To the websites credit, users of the site are posting the pictures, not the site itself, and the site clearly states to let them know of problems of this nauture- so I feel the site has done nothing wrong!
Photopilot From Cuba, joined Jul 2002, 2439 posts, RR: 20 Reply 2, posted (9 years 3 months 1 week 4 days 20 hours ago) and read 3071 times:
The website also posts this notice on the bottom of all pages. Anybody care to explain the "Fair Use" clause that is quoted.
"All pages on this website are displayed under, US Copyright Law, 'Title 17.Chapter 1 Sec. 107.' Fair Use; sections 106 and 106A." If there are any copyrighted, offensive or incorrect information or material on this site please let us know so we can remove it!
I have one photo on the 1st page that is mine and it has only EVER been show on one website and that is the Aviation Week & Space Technology website showcasing photos from the Year 2000 Photo contest issue. Without a doubt that is where my photos was taken from.
The only thing that concerns me is the oblique commercial nature of the site, though the aviation photos seem to be a reader submitted "showcase" of aviation photos from many different sources, though taken without giving any attribute to the source or the photographer.
KC7MMI From United States of America, joined Oct 2003, 854 posts, RR: 4 Reply 3, posted (9 years 3 months 1 week 4 days 18 hours ago) and read 3041 times:
Steve, did you email the webmaster or owner of the site? I think you should do that if you haven't already.
-Benjamin
Cancidas From Poland, joined Jul 2003, 4112 posts, RR: 13 Reply 4, posted (9 years 3 months 1 week 4 days 17 hours ago) and read 3034 times:
i think we need to set up an official airliners.net security department to investigate and "deal with" offenders off the copyrights. anyone with me? i volunteer for any position.
"...cannot the kingdom of salvation take me home."
Photopilot From Cuba, joined Jul 2002, 2439 posts, RR: 20 Reply 6, posted (9 years 3 months 1 week 4 days 16 hours ago) and read 3016 times:
Yes gentlemen, I did write to the site administrator and here is a copy of the email that I sent to them. I'm either going to get rich (doubtfull) or they are going to remove my photo (hopefully)
Dear Sir:
The following photo is being used WITHOUT MY PERMISSION on your website.
This photo is COPYRIGHT and you are hereby notified that continued use or
display of this photo is ILLEGAL.
Kindly remove this photo within 24 hours to prevent legal action.
My display rate for this photo to be used on your website (or affiliated
websites noted below) is $500.00 US Dollars per DAY for any day (24 hour
period) or portion of a complete day. Failure to remove this photo within 24
hours of the date stamp of this email notification, signifies your complete
agreement with the daily display fee and agreement to pay this fee to the
copyright holder.
Link to Photo Copyright Violation Subject on your Website(s).
http://www.najaco.com/aviation/photos/pictures/sail.jpg
I look forward to your payment of the Daily Display Fee or the removal of my
photo from your website.
Yours Truly
Stephen Liard
Toronto, Canada
Copyright Holder.
And then I got the following Auto Response back from their system. But the nice thing is that it proves they received it.
From: "Amer Khashoggi"
Thank you for your email. We really appreciate you writing us.
Najaco Team
Aviator100 From Netherlands, joined Dec 2000, 245 posts, RR: 0 Reply 8, posted (9 years 3 months 1 week 4 days 3 hours ago) and read 2926 times:
AIRLINERS.NET CREW DATABASE EDITOR
"If there are any copyrighted, offensive or incorrect information or material on this site please let us know so we can remove it!"
This is a real joke! These Najaco people try to turn the tables! But that's just not legal. Every photo on their site is copyright material. As long as they have not received permission to use the pictures after they have specifically asked it from the copyright holders, they are not allowed to publish them. You can't publish copyrighted material and sit and wait until the owner reacts.
Photopilot From Cuba, joined Jul 2002, 2439 posts, RR: 20 Reply 9, posted (9 years 3 months 1 week 2 days 8 hours ago) and read 2800 times:
Yiippee!!!
The stolen photos (most of them) have been removed.
I know for an absolute fact that the photo of mine that was stolen was taken from the McGraw Hill / Aviation Week & Space Technology website (the only place worldwide where it is displayed in the un-cropped form) and the Joe Pries photo that started this thread was also from the AWST site. Many of the photos were from AWST's site.
So not only did I send a note to the offending website (noted in a prior post to this thread) but I have also written to McGraw Hill / AWST and asked them what they were prepared to do to protect the copyright that I had licensed to them.
Bingo.... the photos are removed from the idiot's site.
But a BIG, HUGE, WOW and WUNDERBAR Thank You to Flyingbronco for pointing out the offending site to us.
Continental From United States of America, joined Jun 2000, 5476 posts, RR: 21 Reply 10, posted (9 years 3 months 1 week 2 days 8 hours ago) and read 2781 times:
No offense, but you guys go nuts over this. You tell him straight up front remove em' on you'll sue? That's rather mean, I think we need to recheck what we do... I mean comeon, what are you gaining off these photos anyway?
Photopilot From Cuba, joined Jul 2002, 2439 posts, RR: 20 Reply 11, posted (9 years 3 months 1 week 2 days 2 hours ago) and read 2735 times:
Continental, you're young and therefore see the world from a somewhat idealistic viewpoint. So let's enlighten you.
First off, these images were STOLEN from the photographers and were being used on a commercial website. Perhaps if I broke into your home and stole some of your property you might understand. But from your attitude it would appear that you would simply say.."There there, that's ok, it's not that big a deal". Well it doesn't work that way.
And then you go on to say.... "I think we need to recheck what we do... I mean comeon, what are you gaining off these photos anyway?
Well let me tell you. Several of these images have sold (cumulative total) for OVER $5000.00 USD and individual sales of $2500.00 USD for a single image, single use. So excuse me... what am I gaining. Well it's called rent, car payment, food etc. It's called making a living. Something you will have to do in a few years when you finish school. Then perhaps you will understand.
Until then, we need to vigorously chase these image thieves and take whatever actions are necessary to protect our intellectual and photographic rights.
As a side note. When people politely ASK in advance for permission to use an image (whether paid or complimentary use) it is my discretion that makes this decision. And for you info, I freely let other National Gliding Associations use my photos without charge to promote the sport I love so dearly. But that is my decision to pursue, and not the right of a thief to TAKE!!!
Continental From United States of America, joined Jun 2000, 5476 posts, RR: 21 Reply 12, posted (9 years 2 months 3 weeks 5 days 2 hours ago) and read 2537 times:
Joe got $2500 of that photo!?!? If he did get $2500 off that, what does the najaco site having anything to do with any transactions?
What I'm getting at, is that is it really imperative that we must send such harsh messages right off the bat, and tell them that you'll sue?????
Jaspike From United Kingdom, joined Feb 2008, 1 posts, RR: 2 Reply 13, posted (9 years 2 months 3 weeks 5 days 2 hours ago) and read 2523 times:
i think we need to set up an official airliners.net security department to investigate and "deal with" offenders off the copyrights. anyone with me? i volunteer for any position.
Johan asked me to deal with a case (pilotfriend.com) which has copied photos and aircraft data from Airliners.net. I'm still working on getting this one sorted, but if anyone finds any other sites copying stuff from Airliners.net, let me know and I'll deal with it. I found another site the other day which was copying aircraft info.. that site isn't displaying it anymore