Russophile From , joined Dec 1969, posts, RR: Posted (9 years 4 weeks 1 day 2 hours ago) and read 3401 times:
....virtual airline!
Looks to me that QF is going to have some egg on their face, when it becomes clear that their marketing and branding people have ripped off a trademark and their livery from a virtual airline.
Part of me says that if QF or their contractors, stole the JetStar design, brand, etc, then this is wrong.
But then the other part of me which is disgusted with US trademark laws, says good on QANTAS. Now all we need is a few more trademarks breached where money is actually involved, and then we can make up for the Ugg fiasco.
Gerardo From Spain, joined May 2000, 3480 posts, RR: 34 Reply 7, posted (9 years 4 weeks 1 day 1 hour ago) and read 3033 times:
Looking at the liveries, I find it hard to see a copyright infringement. After comparing the logos and the websites, I find it even harder to find anything backing up the VA's complaints.
Compare the ...
... names (Jetstar International Airlines - Jetstar Airways)
... colors
... logos
... URL's
... and more
It's also funny, that a US based VA (look at th ubs) offers cheap Australian domestic tickets thru Expedia.com.
Sounds to me like a 15 year old brat who sees "muchos dolares", or perhaps he is up for a bit popularity to get more trafic to his website.
But then again, I'm no lawyer ....
Gerardo
[Edited 2004-04-23 14:05:21]
dominguez(dash)online(dot)ch ... Pushing the limits of my equipment
Zweed From Netherlands, joined Apr 2004, 455 posts, RR: 0 Reply 8, posted (9 years 4 weeks 1 day 1 hour ago) and read 3017 times:
Agree with you there Gerardo. Seems to be just another one of those american glory hunters who see lawsuits as a easy way to earn fast and lots of money.
AOMlover From France, joined Jul 2001, 1297 posts, RR: 12 Reply 10, posted (9 years 4 weeks 1 day 1 hour ago) and read 3000 times:
Gerardo, I believe they put the "cheap lc fares throughout Australia" banner on their website because they were fed up of people coming on their website and using their bandwitch, thinking they're at the jetsar airways website.
Gerardo From Spain, joined May 2000, 3480 posts, RR: 34 Reply 11, posted (9 years 4 weeks 1 day ago) and read 2964 times:
I somehow doubt, that they got flooded so heavily with requests for cheap Jetstar flights. Would you type "www.jetstarairlines.com" in your WWW-browser to llok for Jetstar? Did the Jetstar marketing team really forget to communicate their - BTW, much easier - URL? When have you first heared of this VA?
Nope, I'm still for the "brat smelling cheap $$$"-version...
Gerardo
dominguez(dash)online(dot)ch ... Pushing the limits of my equipment
Dexter From Austria, joined Jul 2000, 261 posts, RR: 1 Reply 12, posted (9 years 4 weeks 1 day ago) and read 2962 times:
Hehe, yeah I'm sure the VA does want to get some €€€, but then again they DID register the trade mark first, so they do have a right to defend themselves.
The livery is totally different IMO. And that star is different. Of course if you call your airline "JetStar", you have no choice but put a star somewhere on the fuselage.
Not sure if that really was a poor job on Qantas' behalf. Their Jetstar will operate domestic Australian routes, so it shouldn't be a problem for a virtual airline from the U.S.
Akumas From Australia, joined Jan 2004, 434 posts, RR: 2 Reply 13, posted (9 years 4 weeks 1 day ago) and read 2897 times:
Gerardo I made the observation that Jetstar International Airlines where getting flooded with employment companies, rent-a-car companies and consumers. These people thought that it was a website for Jetstar Airways, the new Australian low-cost-carrier. AOMlover cleared that up well.
Personally, I'm on Jetstars side. If you Euro's and American's realized how little competition we have here, you would shriek. We only have 1 national low-cost-carrier, DJ and 'soon to be (?)' JQ. (A.net still haven't entered Jetstar into the database..Wth is Jamaica Express?). So, every airline here is valued.
I think Virtual Airlines are a good idea, and not all of them are run by 15 year olds.
Oh and just for fun - put your mouse over here; JQ
Wedgetail737 From United States of America, joined Aug 2003, 5526 posts, RR: 5 Reply 14, posted (9 years 4 weeks 23 hours ago) and read 2820 times:
How does U.S. Trademark laws affect Australia???? Since Jestar is wholly owned in Australia, I don't think U.S. trademark laws apply. It's just like saying Air Asia has to meet U.S. FAA regulations when they don't even fly to the U.S.
VectorVictor From United States of America, joined Feb 2005, 0 posts, RR: 0 Reply 15, posted (9 years 4 weeks 23 hours ago) and read 2818 times:
Qantas will prevail.
But who is ripping off whom? Perhaps Continental Airlines would like to have talk with this vitural airline nerd about the star on his airplanes. It's straight off the Texas International logo which is now part of Continental.
StarFlyer From Germany, joined Sep 2002, 987 posts, RR: 1 Reply 16, posted (9 years 4 weeks 22 hours ago) and read 2635 times:
The virtual airline has no case here, unless they trademark is registered in the same classes as QF's JetStar, which I doubt, as registration in each class costs a signficant (for a virtual airline) amount of money.
Russophile From , joined Dec 1969, posts, RR: Reply 18, posted (9 years 4 weeks 22 hours ago) and read 2537 times:
Starflyer, you can see from the trademark registrations, that both trademarks are registered in the air transportation category. It's iffy -- I think it would all come down to when the trademark was first registered, and by whom.
LTBEWR From United States of America, joined Jan 2004, 12329 posts, RR: 12 Reply 19, posted (9 years 4 weeks 20 hours ago) and read 2464 times:
During the Internet boom, there were many people whom created and registered website names that included the names of major corporations to get rich by getting paid off to relenquish the registration of the name. Others would add anti- or other prefixes/suffuxes to names to look for a buyout. For example, someone might register AntiUnitedAirlines .com or register a company name with different country or other dot codes, like .uk or .tv. The same thing happens with trademarks too.
I suspect this is what happened here, where someone took an idea/trademark/logs they thought would be used someday, registered it, and hope when someone wanted to use the name, would come to them and pay them off - hopefully with big bucks.
There are better protections now to prevent people who register active internet address names, giving priority to companies already active. Many companies maintain extensive registerations of their business names/trademarks or variations of them (including the company/trade name with boycott-, anti-, -sucks) to cover any possible abuses or misuse, even if the possible use isn't directly involved with their business. US Copyright and Trademark law also allows people who want to register a name or use of a name to have it subject to publication to allow for public comment or for a company with a like or similar name to object to the granting of the name. I have assisted in the filing of objections to companies using similar names of a client for a product.