Sponsor Message:
Civil Aviation Forum
My Starred Topics | Profile | New Topic | Forum Index | Help | Search 
Intriguing Question About Overwater Nav  
User currently offlineCedarjet From United Kingdom, joined May 1999, 8188 posts, RR: 54
Posted (14 years 7 months 1 week 1 day 15 hours ago) and read 1033 times:

A friend of mine flew a Piper Aztec in severe clear daylight (in other words not a cloud in sight the whooe way) at FL100 (10,000 ft) from Heraklion (Crete, Greece) to Tel Aviv with no GPS or inertial nav equipment on board. Without using any conventional nav techniques (none of that sextant business), how did he find his way? Specifically, how did he know he was on the airway?

I'm an occasional pilot (right seat) and he put the same question to me. I didn't work it out - he had to tell me. It's incredibly obvious though! The giveaway is the clear daylight weather, but remember the entire way was flown over water, so he wasn't following railway tracks or anything! Answers please!!


fly Saha Air 707s daily from Tehran's downtown Mehrabad to Mashhad, Kish Island and Ahwaz
Top Of Page
Forum Index

This topic is archived and can not be replied to any more.

Printer friendly format

Similar topics:More similar topics...
Question About Airport Code-- Help posted Thu Aug 7 2008 12:10:20 by ELAL772
Question About AA 747SP posted Sat Aug 2 2008 16:23:16 by CodyKDiamond
A Question About Code Shares? posted Tue Jul 29 2008 20:43:44 by Spark
A Question About FCO And ATH (Old) Airports posted Mon Jul 28 2008 07:34:50 by SXDFC
Question About SkyMiles Medallion Membership posted Wed Jul 23 2008 03:28:04 by AA737-823
Question About SCE posted Thu Jul 17 2008 19:37:10 by Sf3SCE
Question About The Performance Of NYC Shuttles posted Wed Jul 16 2008 13:44:10 by B752OS
Question About CLT Gates posted Sun Jul 6 2008 20:48:31 by Adam T.
Question About A 737 BBJ In Calgary posted Sat May 31 2008 15:20:06 by Kevin
Question About Seniority posted Thu May 22 2008 07:37:28 by Chase