Sponsor Message:
Civil Aviation Forum
My Starred Topics | Profile | New Topic | Forum Index | Help | Search 
Analyst: Airline Mergers Are Bad Idea  
User currently offlineBigGSFO From United States of America, joined Jun 2005, 2932 posts, RR: 6
Posted (9 years 3 weeks 5 days 18 hours ago) and read 2225 times:

I know some of the most spirited discussions on A.net are merger speculations however one analyst feels they are a bad idea, which I tend to agree.

http://yahoo.reuters.com/financeQuot...05-09-26_15-25-56_n20381319_newsml

IMO the most successful merging of operations are when assets are acquired not the entire airline. Very few airline mergers I think yielded the intended success, some notable exceptions being CO/People Express at Newark and DL at SLC. AA's TW merger has left STL a shell of it's former self and gave them very few intenational authorities that are in use today. And of course their merger with QQ and Aircal has been adressed ad naseum.

Thoughts?

Top Of Page
Forum Index

This topic is archived and can not be replied to any more.

Printer friendly format

Similar topics:More similar topics...
All One Aircraft? Good Idea? Bad Idea? posted Wed Jun 28 2006 10:32:27 by DreamsUnited
Longterm Carparks Near Airports - Bad Idea? posted Mon Apr 17 2006 21:39:29 by DIJKKIJK
Airline Workers Are Left At Gate posted Tue Mar 21 2006 16:07:42 by Dtwclipper
Booking Alitalia For Fall - Good Or Bad Idea? posted Tue Mar 14 2006 19:11:34 by Crazyro
UAL's Tilton Predicts Airline Mergers. posted Fri Jan 20 2006 03:56:57 by Tu154
Is This A Good Or Bad Idea? posted Fri Nov 11 2005 20:56:22 by SQNo1
Forbes: "Airline Mergers To Watch". posted Tue Aug 16 2005 20:50:20 by STT757
Airline Mergers posted Wed Aug 3 2005 06:14:42 by COERJ145
U.S. Airline Mergers posted Sun Apr 10 2005 04:54:46 by IAHTowTeam
Sky Airline : How Are They Doing? posted Tue Mar 22 2005 17:48:47 by Alberchico