Sponsor Message:
Civil Aviation Forum
My Starred Topics | Profile | New Topic | Forum Index | Help | Search 
EU Emissions Tax On Air Travel?  
User currently offlineVV701 From United Kingdom, joined Aug 2005, 7737 posts, RR: 17
Posted (9 years 1 month 6 days 12 hours ago) and read 5023 times:

The Sunday Telegraph reports that the British government plan to use the last month of their so far ineffective UK presidency to promote an extra tax on all air passengers to 'help offset the damage to the environment caused by the pollutants produced during flight'.

The article says that the government's position is supported by BA and easyJet but opposed by Ryanair.

Full details at http://news.telegraph.co.uk/money/ma...xml=/money/2005/11/13/cntrav13.xml

I do not know whether this tax if implemented will be at the level that BA passengers are currently invited to voluntarily contribute to charity - see ba.com.

Top Of Page
Forum Index

This topic is archived and can not be replied to any more.

Printer friendly format

Similar topics:More similar topics...
Norway - New Tax On Air Travel Coming posted Wed Mar 1 2006 14:50:22 by Dstc47
EU Cracks Down On Air Fare Ads posted Mon Jul 17 2006 20:07:55 by EHHO
Real Estate Impact On Air Travel? posted Tue May 23 2006 20:30:08 by Lightsaber
EU Proposes Tax On Aviation Fuel posted Mon Feb 14 2005 07:14:39 by Scotron11
Future Oil Shortage Effect On Air Travel posted Tue Jan 13 2004 09:35:12 by Mjszanto
EU Approve/order Tax On Jet Fuel! posted Mon Jul 10 2006 16:26:58 by CHRISBA777ER
Air Travel Tax To Eliminate Poverty posted Sun Jul 3 2005 03:41:37 by Hawker
EU Ministers Agree Tax On Flying posted Mon May 16 2005 05:49:08 by Schipholjfk
EU Ponders New Tax On Flying posted Sat May 14 2005 18:56:45 by Joni
Advice On Air Madrid And Travel Plans To Barcelona posted Mon Jan 3 2005 19:14:53 by CM767