Sponsor Message:
Civil Aviation Forum
My Starred Topics | Profile | New Topic | Forum Index | Help | Search 
Why Not More Winglets?  
User currently offlineJetSet777 From United States of America, joined Dec 2006, 33 posts, RR: 0
Posted (7 years 4 months 6 days 19 hours ago) and read 2636 times:

Is this cost of adding winglets to 737's really more expensive than the expense of the fuel for airlines without winglets ? If not, why dont more airlines opt to have them added to their fleet?


Engines Turn Or People Swim
1 replies: All unread, jump to last
 
User currently offlineHPLASOps From , joined Dec 1969, posts, RR:
Reply 1, posted (7 years 4 months 6 days 18 hours ago) and read 2612 times:

I would venture it has a lot to do with the age of the aircraft. If it's an older a/c, getting near retirement, then the savings on fuel might not be recovered in enough time to justify the cost of putting them on. That would be my educated guess.

Top Of Page
Forum Index

This topic is archived and can not be replied to any more.

Printer friendly format

Similar topics:More similar topics...
Coloured Wings, Why Not More? posted Wed Nov 29 2006 22:00:21 by DHHornet
US-Russia; Why Not More US Airlines? posted Tue Nov 28 2006 13:49:15 by Ualcsr
Why Not More Widebodies @ EWR? posted Sat Jul 29 2006 02:27:44 by B727fan
SAS: Why Not More Q400? posted Fri Jul 14 2006 12:41:01 by CRJ900
Q 400 And ATR 72 Why Not More Orders In The US? posted Sat Apr 22 2006 22:15:15 by Cumulonimbus
Why Not More All-black Liveries? posted Mon Mar 20 2006 11:21:20 by Gearup380
Why Not More Services OZ/ZQN Winter Especially? posted Wed Jan 25 2006 01:52:47 by Simpilicity
Why Not More Russian Airliners Flying? posted Mon Jan 16 2006 14:05:15 by Wingscrubber
Why Not More Female Pilots? posted Fri May 27 2005 07:09:22 by FlyHoss
Why Not More EI Codeshares? posted Mon Mar 7 2005 20:33:48 by EIRules