Sponsor Message:
Civil Aviation Forum
My Starred Topics | Profile | New Topic | Forum Index | Help | Search 
Self Repairing Composite Wings?  
User currently offlineIkramerica From United States of America, joined May 2005, 21474 posts, RR: 60
Posted (6 years 10 months 19 hours ago) and read 1311 times:

RPI thinks they can create such a system that would easily be adapted to planes like the 787 and A350 in the future.

http://www.news.com/8301-10784_3-978...art=rss&subj=news&tag=2547-1_3-0-5

Self diagnosing and in some cases, self repair (at least until a permanent fix can be executed). I wonder if such techniques can also be used to detect delamination? And would lightning strikes destroy the grid?


Of all the things to worry about... the Wookie has no pants.
Top Of Page
Forum Index

This topic is archived and can not be replied to any more.

Printer friendly format

Similar topics:More similar topics...
Fed Ex A Pape That Got A Low Grade, Proved It Self posted Sun Sep 23 2007 23:07:00 by 747400sp
Blame Everyone But Self.. Pax Mentality posted Fri Sep 21 2007 06:19:48 by Bridogger6
Confirmed: Composite Frame On A350 XWB posted Thu Sep 20 2007 11:53:57 by Keesje
WSJ: Airbus Switches To Composite Frames posted Sat Sep 15 2007 06:37:48 by Calags
SkyEurope Vs Smart Wings posted Thu Sep 6 2007 01:58:26 by Miafll
CRJ1000 Wings + Engines On CRJ900? posted Sun Sep 2 2007 17:45:04 by CRJ900
Q:Commercial Airplanes With Painted Wings? posted Tue Aug 7 2007 21:25:04 by USADreamliner
SQ 777s Clipped Wings At Changi posted Sun Aug 5 2007 11:20:22 by GneissGuy
Who Started Self Check-ins? posted Fri Jul 27 2007 13:58:13 by WDBRR
T.I. Video With "Wings Of Justice II" 737 posted Sat Jul 7 2007 18:51:03 by VictorKilo