Propilot83 From United States of America, joined Jan 2001, 604 posts, RR: 0 Posted (5 years 10 months 2 weeks 2 days 10 hours ago) and read 1848 times:
For those of you still using your cell phone without a bluetooth or headset, and for those still texting while driving, well guess what, there's good news, the penalty and fine for these offenses have been increased from $20 to $100+. If you live in Rancho Cucamonga, California, your first time offense is $180, my sister lives in Riverside County, and her fine was $100. I am so glad that they increased the fine. Obviously a $20 fine wouldnt get motorists to stop using their cell phones while driving, well the state legislators decided to raise the fine big time and so they did. So if you get caught on a cell phone talking or texting while driving, your fine will be anywhere from $100 + upwards depending on what county you live in. And if I catch you on a cell phone talking or texting and driving slow in the fast lane or not paying attention, then I will give you the horn and the.......
DFW13L From , joined Dec 1969, posts, RR:
Reply 1, posted (5 years 10 months 2 weeks 1 day 6 hours ago) and read 1660 times:
Wow, that's a lot of money! I don't view talking on a handheld cell phone as dangerous, but texting is. Anything that takes your view off the road for more than about 2 seconds can be dangerous.
Keep in mind California is bankrupt and trying to pay for 8 nannies to watch octuplets and other important uses of everyone's money, so they need to bankrupt people who are texting to help out with their irresponsible budget issues.