Sponsor Message:
Non Aviation Forum
My Starred Topics | Profile | New Topic | Forum Index | Help | Search 
Geography Of The Cape Of Good Hope...  
User currently offlineUSAFHummer From United States of America, joined May 2000, 10685 posts, RR: 53
Posted (11 years 5 months 2 weeks 16 hours ago) and read 1084 times:

Hello...

I recently saw a picture of the sign in South Africa that denotes the Cape of Good Hope...it says something like:

"Cape of Good Hope: The Southwesternmost point of mainland Africa"

Now...according to numerous maps I have, the Cape is neither the southernmost point (that goes to Cape Agulhas in South Africa), nor the westernmost point (this appears to be Cape Verde, Senegal (no not the islands, the actual cape that the islands are named for), so I have to ask...how does "southwest" get defined here, owing to the unusual shape of Africa...this seems to me like a giant misnomer...anyone want to shed some light on this or comment?

Thanks,
Greg


Chief A.net college football stadium self-pic guru
Top Of Page
Forum Index

This topic is archived and can not be replied to any more.

Printer friendly format

Similar topics:More similar topics...
Out Of All The Times I Have A Good Chat Discussion posted Wed Aug 2 2006 05:52:50 by Touchdown777
Second Named Storm Of The Season: Barry! posted Sat Jun 2 2007 08:43:26 by KFLLCFII
Norway Most Peaceful Nation Of The World posted Thu May 31 2007 21:43:00 by OV735
Loser Of The Week posted Wed May 30 2007 02:10:45 by BristolFlyer
100 Years Of The Duke posted Thu May 24 2007 05:06:57 by Allstarflyer
A.net In The Map Of The Internet posted Wed May 23 2007 05:47:34 by Bagpiper
Luckiest Guy Of The Day Lives In Australia posted Sun May 20 2007 23:38:14 by Arniepie
That Really Hot French Singer Of The 80's posted Sat May 19 2007 19:04:53 by FCA767
Future Of The Oil Industry? posted Mon May 14 2007 23:47:27 by Mike89406
The # Of Posts Thread! posted Sat Apr 14 2007 03:40:24 by WestJetYQQ