DeltaRules From United States of America, joined Sep 2001, 4189 posts, RR: 8 Posted (12 years 11 months 3 weeks 3 days 16 hours ago) and read 3139 times:
I'm going to be driving with my mom & brother to Daytona twice this summer (one full trip driving, another driving down & flying back). Since my dad will be meeting us there, I need to do part of the driving. I know I can drive in Ohio & West Virginia on my Learner's Permit, but don't know about the rest of the states.
If anybody from VA, NC, SC, GA or FL can tell me what the laws are regarding people driving on permits from these states (basically can you or can't you?)or could give me a link, I'd appreciate it.
Jcxp15 From United States of America, joined Jun 2001, 997 posts, RR: 4
Reply 2, posted (12 years 11 months 3 weeks 3 days 15 hours ago) and read 3136 times:
I think as long as you meet all the requirements for the state that you're driving in you're good (i.e. you cannot drive in New York State at 15, even if you have a permit, and you cannot drive in NYC until you're 18, unless you've taken driver's ed, then it's 17)...
Hartsfieldboy From United States of America, joined Sep 2001, 552 posts, RR: 1
Reply 5, posted (12 years 11 months 3 weeks 1 day 17 hours ago) and read 3080 times:
DeltaRules : All states recognize each other's license requirements. That means if you can drive in Ohio at 15 with a learners, then you can drive in NY even if they only allow driving there at 18. It's based on the "full faith and credit" clause of the Constitution in which states honor each others laws. It's the same principle as all states recognizing a marriage in made in another state.
Jcxp15: Not true. That's like saying a fully licensed driver that is 16 in one state isn't allowed to drive in NY. That does not happen.
DeltaRules From United States of America, joined Sep 2001, 4189 posts, RR: 8
Reply 6, posted (12 years 11 months 3 weeks 1 day 17 hours ago) and read 3080 times:
Ok, thanks for the replies.
Hartsfieldboy- They told us in our Driver's Ed class, that PA didn't allow any permit driving from anyone but their own residents, so that's why I was asking. I also E-mailed North Carolina & they said you had to be 16.
Does anyone know about Virginia or Georgia? I haven't found anything on those states, either.