Nimish From India, joined Feb 2005, 3395 posts, RR: 11
Reply 3, posted (11 years 3 months 1 week 5 days 11 hours ago) and read 1178 times:
I eat meat, but most of my family and a lot of my friends are vegetarians.
I know most vegetarians would be aghast and sick if they were to hear of meat stock being used in churning out "Vegetarian" dishes. For a lot of veges, it's a deep-seated mental block against eating any form of meat, and for many, it's coupled with religious beliefs as well.
Hence I would recommend not mixing the 2, and even if you do, make sure you mention it while serving the meal, so people have an option. I know some that don't mind if the food has been "contaminated" with meat stock, while I know others who would not touch the food even if it were cooked in a vessel used to earlier cook meat.
Karan69 From India, joined Oct 2004, 2913 posts, RR: 17
Reply 4, posted (11 years 3 months 1 week 5 days 11 hours ago) and read 1173 times:
On the contrary, I am a vegeterian while my family are non-vegeterians.
Since i became one due to personal reasons--i am not against people who eat meat etc.. and i certainly would nt mind if it were cooked in the same stock ------as i am served at so many parties by my meat eating friends.
However living in India, i do know many Gujratis/Jains who wont even shake your hand if you have eaten non-veg that day.
remember at times it is best to keep quiet about things,,,,,if asked and you feel the person to be a "sentimental//ethnic" vegeterian,,eihter make it seperatley or just change the topic
SlamClick From United States of America, joined Nov 2003, 10062 posts, RR: 66
Reply 5, posted (11 years 3 months 1 week 5 days 5 hours ago) and read 1151 times:
Back in the '60s a distant relative of mine owned a dairy farm in northern California. One day a hippie came walking up his driveway and asked if he could buy some "non-violent beef." My relative admitted that he did not know what that meant and the hippie said: "You know, from a cow that has died of natural causes."
Like hoof and mouth?
Happiness is not seeing another trite Ste. Maarten photo all week long.
PROSA From United States of America, joined Oct 2001, 5644 posts, RR: 4
Reply 6, posted (11 years 3 months 1 week 5 days 5 hours ago) and read 1144 times:
Honey is a source of controversy in the vegetarian community. Some vegetarians think it should be taboo as being an animal product, while others point out that extracting it doesn't involve killing any animals.
I suppose similar considerations would arise with respect to wool, but I don't know what vegetarians think about it.
"Let me think about it" = the coward's way of saying "no"
Lemmy From United States of America, joined Dec 2004, 260 posts, RR: 0
Reply 9, posted (11 years 3 months 1 week 3 days 19 hours ago) and read 1089 times:
Quoting SlamClick (reply 5): "You know, from a cow that has died of natural causes."
And then there are fruititarians, who only eat plants that willingly give fruit, and that are not damaged in the process of harvesting. I've head such people exist, but sadly, have never met any.
I was a strict vegetarian for years and it was tough when I couldn't eat something someone had cooked for me. Most people tended to feel bad that I didn't have much to eat at most non-vegetarian meals, and they sometimes felt obligated to go out of their way to make me something special. I always thought that was too bad because, as far as I was concerned, I was the one who decided to restrict my diet ... I certainly didn't expect anyone to go out of their way for me.
So Blackbird1331, I say definitely tell your guests what's in the food, but don't knock yourself out trying to accomodate them.