Sponsor Message:
Non Aviation Forum
My Starred Topics | Profile | New Topic | Forum Index | Help | Search 
Anyone Here Hanglide?  
User currently offlineFlyBoeing From United States of America, joined May 2000, 866 posts, RR: 2
Posted (12 years 11 months 1 week 2 days 8 hours ago) and read 647 times:

I heard about that guy who crashed a powered paraglider into the torch on the Statue of Liberty and I went to

http://www.poweredparagliders.com to learn about the sport. I decided that I would definitely learn how to paraglide when I got older and got a job and my parents couldn't control me.

But then I thought that it would be kind of unethical to learn how to use the powered equipment before I got into the natural flying. So I figured I'd learn how to hanglide first then learn how to powered paraglide.

My question is, has anyone here done it? I've gone around the Internet and found out that you need about $6,000 worth in lessons and equipment to get started. How fast do you need to be able to run? Is it easy to catch thermals and ridge lift?

Top Of Page
Forum Index

This topic is archived and can not be replied to any more.

Printer friendly format

Similar topics:More similar topics...
Anyone Here From Thailand? posted Sun Apr 26 2009 16:40:02 by B744
Anyone Here Play Irish Traditional Music? posted Thu Mar 12 2009 14:49:51 by LHMARK
Has Anyone Here Ran A Marathon? posted Fri Mar 6 2009 05:05:53 by B742
Is Anyone Here Not Dependent On Credit? posted Wed Mar 4 2009 13:01:12 by Cumulus
Anyone Here Watch GSN? posted Thu Jan 1 2009 15:04:15 by 1337Delta764
Anyone Here Have A Jeep Liberty? posted Mon Dec 1 2008 08:43:05 by Mke717spotter
Anyone Here Believe In Karma? posted Tue Oct 7 2008 08:55:03 by SpeedBirdA380
Anyone Here Have The Sprint Instinct? posted Sun Aug 3 2008 14:39:15 by AirTran737
Anyone Here Liked Mr. Bean? posted Sat Jul 19 2008 15:33:01 by Blackbird
Anyone Here Read "The Good Earth" By Pearl Buck? posted Fri Mar 14 2008 08:05:19 by Mke717spotter