rampguy
Posts: 68
Joined: Tue Apr 04, 2006 11:35 pm

Air Force 2 Lands In Columbus, IN.

Sat Oct 21, 2006 8:04 am

VP Cheney visited Camp Atterbury, IN. today. Now, you would think that Air Force 2 would've landed in IND, but to my surprise the B757 landed in Columbus, IN. (I don't know the 3-letter code) I knew there was an airport in Columbus, but didn't realize the runway was big and long enough to hand the B757.
 
BatonOps
Posts: 621
Joined: Sun Jun 25, 2006 12:00 am

RE: Air Force 2 Lands In Columbus, IN.

Sat Oct 21, 2006 8:18 am

In 2004 the 757 went into LNS (Lancaster, PA) and at that time the runway was only 5400ft. The trip it was AF1.
 
filejw
Posts: 312
Joined: Mon Sep 18, 2000 2:58 am

RE: Air Force 2 Lands In Columbus, IN.

Sat Oct 21, 2006 8:26 am

5000 ft is ok if your landing wt is low.
 
RL757PVD
Posts: 2530
Joined: Fri Dec 03, 1999 2:47 am

RE: Air Force 2 Lands In Columbus, IN.

Sat Oct 21, 2006 11:21 am

Cheney likes small airports.... half the reason Stuttgart Arkansas (SGT) got an ILS is because Cheney goes duck hunting there alot...
Experience is what you get when what you thought would work out didn't!
 
twal1011727
Posts: 449
Joined: Thu Mar 23, 2006 5:36 am

RE: Air Force 2 Lands In Columbus, IN.

Sat Oct 21, 2006 7:31 pm

Three letter city code is CLU or KBAK(not entirely sure about it.)
If KBAK the runways are 05/23 6400X150 and 14/21 5000X100
The airport is 22.5NM south of the Shelbyville Vortac //SHB//

KD
 
ANCFlyer
Posts: 21391
Joined: Mon Nov 15, 2004 3:51 pm

RE: Air Force 2 Lands In Columbus, IN.

Sat Oct 21, 2006 7:52 pm

Quoting RampGuy (Thread starter):
(I don't know the 3-letter code)

BAK


Here's something that'll come in handy for you, RampGuy, in the future: http://www.airnav.com/airports/

BAK has a 6400X150 foot runway, plenty of room. DCA afterall isn't much longer.
FOR THOSE THAT FOUGHT FOR IT, FREEDOM HAS A FLAVOR THE PROTECTED WILL NEVER KNOW OR UNDERSTAND
 
User avatar
Aaron747
Posts: 8539
Joined: Thu Aug 07, 2003 2:07 am

RE: Air Force 2 Lands In Columbus, IN.

Sat Oct 21, 2006 10:02 pm

Technically it's not called AF2 either, the aircraft is a C-32.
If you need someone to blame / throw a rock in the air / you'll hit someone guilty
 
Tiger119
Posts: 1593
Joined: Wed Sep 10, 2003 1:52 pm

RE: Air Force 2 Lands In Columbus, IN.

Sun Oct 22, 2006 12:17 am

Quoting ANCFlyer (Reply 5):
BAK has a 6400X150 foot runway,

- A Mr Obvious statement, but BAK is only about 12 miles from Camp Atterbury whereas IND is about 37 miles (by ground convaence). All the convoy had to do was drive straight up US 31 and turn into the base. And IND is a busier airport and having that C-32 fly into IND would have caused more congestion and commotion. Flying into BAK was much more "low keyed" and much easier for the feds and local law enforcement to get him in and out. He was not here very long and there was very little media attention placed on the story here.

David
Flying is the second greatest thrill known to mankind, landing is the first!
 
SCEagle
Posts: 128
Joined: Thu Oct 27, 2005 2:05 am

RE: Air Force 2 Lands In Columbus, IN.

Sun Oct 22, 2006 2:41 am

Quoting RL757PVD (Reply 3):
half the reason Stuttgart Arkansas (SGT) got an ILS is because Cheney goes duck hunting there alot...

And the other half?

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: ssteve and 10 guests