FL1TPA
Topic Author
Posts: 225
Joined: Tue May 18, 2004 7:29 am

"Transformers" Air Force One Continuity Error

Tue Jul 03, 2007 3:05 pm

Nitpicking Alert! Nitpicking Alert!

It appears that in the new "Transformers" movie (which simply kicks all kinds of ass) there is a continuity error concerning Air Force One. Granted the movie is about extra-terrestrial mechanical transforming aliens - but putting that aside for a moment - Air Force One changes aircraft types during the film.

In the establishing shot of Air Force One in flight, it is the normal 747 that we're used to seeing whenever it is portrayed on screen:

View Large View Medium
Click here for bigger photo!

Photo © Weimeng



We then see several sequences inside the plane before it is forced to land. Upon landing it it surrounded by police, FBI, NTSB etc. In that shot, it has changed (transformed?) into the classic Kennedy / Johnson era 707 Air Force One:

View Large View Medium
Click here for bigger photo!

Photo © Marc Lehmann



The engines are a dead giveaway. You can only see from mid-wing to the tail onscreen but it is definately a 707. Just thought it deserved a mention. Look for it if you go see the movie.

BTW, I HIGHLY recommend it. The special effects are astounding, excellent story and it's funny too.  twocents 

FL1TPA
"Looks like I picked the wrong week to stop sniffin' glue."
 
Halophila
Posts: 455
Joined: Sun Aug 14, 2005 11:44 am

RE: "Transformers" Air Force One Continuity Error

Tue Jul 03, 2007 3:11 pm

Yeah, I caught that one too... I need to get a life.

Anyway, I concur. GREAT film. It's actually got meat this one.
Flown on 707, 717, 727, 732 733 734 735 73G 738 739 741 742 743 744 74SP 757 753 762 763 772 773 77W D10 DC9 M11 M80 M87
 
9MMAR
Posts: 1728
Joined: Sun Jul 23, 2006 7:18 pm

RE: "Transformers" Air Force One Continuity Error

Tue Jul 03, 2007 3:54 pm

More Transformers discussions in the Non-Aviation Forum. Transformers - The Movie (by Springbok747 Jun 29 2007 in Non Aviation)
 
oldeuropean
Posts: 1686
Joined: Thu May 19, 2005 5:19 pm

RE: "Transformers" Air Force One Continuity Error

Tue Jul 03, 2007 4:50 pm

Didn't you know? Air Force One is also a transformer!

But kidding aside, there are many films, where aircraft types changes during the plot. There are often some idiots with no clue about aircrafts, who search the best looking shots of aircrafts, but don't care about (in their eyes) something so unimportant like aircraft types. But it doesn't matter, because 99.7% of the viewers don't notice the errors.

Axel

[Edited 2007-07-03 10:01:16]
Wer nichts weiss muss alles glauben
 
robsawatsky
Posts: 477
Joined: Thu Dec 18, 2003 7:07 am

RE: "Transformers" Air Force One Continuity Error

Wed Jul 04, 2007 3:12 am

If you've ever watched the "Amazing Race" TV series, they've often showed multiple aircraft types to represent a flight from one location to the next. Often, it even involves footage with airlines or aircraft that don't even fly between the destinations at hand and certainly don't represent the airlines where the tickets were procured; probably for advertizing/product-placement purposes.
 
CruzinAltitude
Posts: 408
Joined: Thu May 06, 2004 5:02 pm

RE: "Transformers" Air Force One Continuity Error

Wed Jul 04, 2007 4:48 am

I'll keep an eye out for it. I'm sure it's pretty obvious to us A.netters but the average person would have no idea that there was a switch. I'm happy that they were at least smart enough to only show the VC-137B from the wings back. That at least minimizes the discrepancy. I've seen many much more blatent errors.
 
SP90
Posts: 351
Joined: Wed May 24, 2006 12:39 am

RE: "Transformers" Air Force One Continuity Error

Thu Jul 05, 2007 3:58 am

I noticed the engines too. Then there was also the main landing gears, only 2 sets instead of the usual 4 on 747s.

Movie was great and everyone had a good laugh.
 
pjflysfast
Posts: 442
Joined: Wed May 31, 2006 11:05 pm

RE: "Transformers" Air Force One Continuity Error

Thu Jul 05, 2007 5:35 am

I saw that too! I can not even go to a movie without spotting something!
 
wingnut135
Posts: 124
Joined: Wed Feb 16, 2005 11:17 am

RE: "Transformers" Air Force One Continuity Error

Thu Jul 05, 2007 12:18 pm

The boom was a dead giveaway, it's a 135E. Most of the movie was filmed at Edwards, so whatever 135E they have painted in that scheme. I particularly enjoyed how Qatar had mountains (you'd understand if you've been there Big grin). I have a few other nit picks, but they don't belong in the aviation forums. It still was a great movie in my opinion.



More at Autoblog Transformers Movie Pics Gallery

Wingnut

[Edit for spelling}

[Edited 2007-07-05 05:27:49]
A good friend will get you out of jail. A real friend will be there with you saying, "Damn that was fun!"
 
KevinSmith
Posts: 626
Joined: Thu Jan 12, 2006 9:08 am

RE: "Transformers" Air Force One Continuity Error

Tue Aug 14, 2007 1:06 am

I caught it as well. Actually if you look closely beneath the tail you will see a refueling boom.
Learning to fly, but I ain't got wings.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google Adsense [Bot] and 24 guests