MissedApproach
Topic Author
Posts: 678
Joined: Thu Oct 14, 2004 10:12 am

F-5 Circuit Breaker...Reset?

Tue Dec 11, 2007 2:34 am

I was visiting the newly expanded military museum at CFB Borden this weekend. They've got an F-5 on display & they've thoughtfully left the canopy open with a short ladder beside the cockpit. I noticed that there are quite a few circuit breakers located behind the seat- actually, behind the canopy hinge. Among others there are left & right inlet ice, which I take to mean intake de-ice.


View Large View Medium
Click here for bigger photo!

Photo © Karl Drage



My question is, how would the pilot reset these breakers if they tripped? For that matter, how would he even know if they tripped? They look pretty inaccessible.
I realize this was a day fighter, but if you stumbled into IMC it would be nice to be able to keep an eye on that stuff.
Can you hear me now?
 
UH60FtRucker
Posts: 3252
Joined: Tue Mar 29, 2005 9:15 am

RE: F-5 Circuit Breaker...Reset?

Tue Dec 11, 2007 5:00 am

It really comes down to a lack of proper space.

In the UH-60 I have the most important circuit breakers accessible to me, but the lesser system circuit breakers are located above and behind me. The designers had to ask themselves, "what systems can the pilots do without... and still be able to survive?" For me, in the digital cockpit of the M model, the MFD will flash a warning of a popped breaker.

I know the F-5 lacked that, but if the pilot encountered a malfunction he would probably diagnose it as either a system failure or a blown fuse. His recourse? Adapt and overcome. That's why you get the extra flight pay! Big grin

-UH60
Your men have to follow your orders. They don't have to go to your funeral.
 
jutes85
Posts: 1854
Joined: Thu Dec 11, 2003 12:50 pm

RE: F-5 Circuit Breaker...Reset?

Tue Dec 11, 2007 5:14 am

In the CF18, there are only 8 CB that are access-able by the pilot, the rest are behind the doors. The last thing we need is the flight crew to push in the CB that keeps on popping.
nothing
 
JohnM
Posts: 379
Joined: Sat Feb 24, 2001 12:35 pm

RE: F-5 Circuit Breaker...Reset?

Tue Dec 11, 2007 11:05 pm

Not to be cruel to the stick wigglers of the planet, but some things on the aircraft are best left alone. At least until maint takes a look at it on the ground.
 
eaglekeeper101
Posts: 269
Joined: Fri Aug 05, 2005 8:14 am

RE: F-5 Circuit Breaker...Reset?

Mon Dec 17, 2007 1:51 pm

Don't forget the possibility that the circuit breakers may have been pulled to fulfill a "safe for maintenance" technical order of some kind. On the F-15s that I work on, we have a number of breakers (left and right fuel flow gauges, left and right air inlet controllers, etc) that must be pulled before electrical or hydraulic power can be applied. If I am correct, my guess is that those breakers are required to be pulled before electrical power can be applied because of the risk of being burned on the inlet ice probes. In the case of a museum exhibit, they may have been pulled by force of habit lol...

Quoting Jutes85 (Reply 2):
In the CF18, there are only 8 CB that are access-able by the pilot, the rest are behind the doors. The last thing we need is the flight crew to push in the CB that keeps on popping.

By all means, keep the zipper-suited fly gods away from CBs!  Big grin
"The earth is but one country, and mankind its citizens." - Bahá'u'lláh

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: fsnuffer, Yahoo [Bot] and 5 guests