netjetandy
Posts: 15
Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2008 11:56 pm

Air Force One At O'hare V. Midway

Fri Feb 13, 2009 11:52 pm

So Obama made his first trip to chicago today for the weekend. During the campaign he always flew in and out of Midway which I believe is also closest for him but interestingly enough AF1 today flew into Ohare. Why Ohare v. Midway? I can't imagine the bottlneck something like that could create at an airport like Ohare.

There is also a 60 MILE temp flight restriction over his house!
http://www.upi.com/Top_News/2009/02/...ace_restricted/UPI-44251234544641/

Can't the guy just go to Camp David for the weekend? LOL
 
DescendVia
Posts: 141
Joined: Sun Jan 18, 2009 4:26 am

RE: Air Force One At O'hare V. Midway

Fri Feb 13, 2009 11:57 pm

A 747 cannot fit into MDW....... plus when he went to HNL, he went with UA out of ORD. Lastly when he went to DC about a week before the 20th, he went in the 757 (many think it was AF1 since the AF1 show on nat geo had this trip) and I don't think it was out of MDW either.
 
WestWing
Posts: 1133
Joined: Thu Feb 03, 2005 2:01 am

RE: Air Force One At O'hare V. Midway

Fri Feb 13, 2009 11:58 pm



Quoting NetJetAndy (Thread starter):
Why Ohare v. Midway?

Because a 6000 foot runway is too short for a VC-25A?
The best time to plant a tree is 40 years ago. The second best time is today.
 
jetskipper
Posts: 316
Joined: Tue Jun 12, 2001 1:50 am

RE: Air Force One At O'hare V. Midway

Sat Feb 14, 2009 12:03 am

I don't think that it's a runway issue. A lightly loaded 747 (as it would be from DC) could easily land at MDW. I think for it's more an issue of taxiway and ramp space, they just don't have much extra room on the field.
 
elbandgeek
Posts: 391
Joined: Wed Jun 25, 2008 8:26 pm

RE: Air Force One At O'hare V. Midway

Sat Feb 14, 2009 12:07 am

With only a handful of people on board, AF1 isn't anywhere near close to fully loaded by 747 standards, so weight-wise it might theoretically [key word] be able to land at MDW, but there's also the issue of noise restrictions. I'm sure if they really wanted to they could get an exemption but it's not worth doing so.
Personally, with the hassle it is getting from ORD to the south side normally, and only adding to that with all the security.....they would have been better off either
A) Landing at GYY
or
B) Switching to a C-32 to go into MDW
 
sphealey
Posts: 286
Joined: Tue May 31, 2005 12:39 am

RE: Air Force One At O'hare V. Midway

Sat Feb 14, 2009 12:14 am



Quoting ElBandGeek (Reply 4):
Personally, with the hassle it is getting from ORD to the south side normally, and only adding to that with all the security.....they would have been better off either
A) Landing at GYY
or
B) Switching to a C-32 to go into MDW

Heck, if he is coming in during rush hour it would be faster to get to Hyde Park driving from CMI than from O'Hare!

sPh
 
User avatar
AmricanShamrok
Posts: 1800
Joined: Fri May 09, 2008 2:03 pm

RE: Air Force One At O'hare V. Midway

Sat Feb 14, 2009 12:15 am

If he landed at ORD could they close down the Kennedy and use the motorcade or would that be a no no?
 
netjetandy
Posts: 15
Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2008 11:56 pm

RE: Air Force One At O'hare V. Midway

Sat Feb 14, 2009 12:34 am

I knew the runway was small but didn't realize it was only 6000 ft?

I just read that after landing at Ohare

"The family then boarded Marine One, where they were taken to Burnham Park. The motorcade was awaiting and successfully transported the family to their final destination- home."

Not sure how far Burnham Park is from his home but I'm sure the rush hour commuters appreciated that!
 
NWAESC
Posts: 859
Joined: Thu Aug 30, 2007 1:02 pm

RE: Air Force One At O'hare V. Midway

Sat Feb 14, 2009 12:48 am



Quoting Jetskipper (Reply 3):
they just don't have much extra room on the field.

Not only that, but I think the security/logistics involved would be a nightmare for the secret service...
"Nothing ever happens here, " I said. "I just wait."

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 12 guests