American_4275
Topic Author
Posts: 1001
Joined: Sat Aug 07, 1999 1:11 am

Divx Movies

Sun Nov 25, 2001 3:05 am

I know the topic of viewing them has been discussed but I have a different problem. I downloaded a movie and then installed a codec and after i installed the codec I was able to view the movie. However, I just downloaded another movie and all I can hear is the sound (which is what was happening to the first movie, prior to me installing the Codec). What do I do?

American_4275
 
American_4275
Topic Author
Posts: 1001
Joined: Sat Aug 07, 1999 1:11 am

RE: Divx Movies

Sun Nov 25, 2001 3:32 am

Someone?
 
Aussiemite
Posts: 846
Joined: Sat Jun 24, 2000 12:04 am

RE: Divx Movies

Sun Nov 25, 2001 12:13 pm

time for a newer codec
 
watewate
Posts: 2216
Joined: Sun Nov 12, 2000 6:00 am

RE: Divx Movies

Sun Nov 25, 2001 2:34 pm

Different release groups have different codecs. Go search on respective newsgroups for 'codec' and you'll get a return.
 
Joona
Posts: 1214
Joined: Sun May 06, 2001 2:02 am

RE: Divx Movies

Sun Nov 25, 2001 8:20 pm

Go to www.divx.com and download divx_3.11alpha.zip

That is all you need. You don't need any different codecs etc.

Joona
1740 days idle. Beat that.
 
American_4275
Topic Author
Posts: 1001
Joined: Sat Aug 07, 1999 1:11 am

In Response To Joona

Sun Nov 25, 2001 10:58 pm

Yeah that's the codec i downloaded for the first movie, but it didn't work for the second. I finally found a bundle at cnet.com that has both a codec and player and it worked.  Big thumbs up

American_4275


P.S. The filename is DivX411Bundle.exe
 
VgnAtl747
Posts: 1333
Joined: Fri Apr 06, 2001 3:59 am

RE: Divx Movies

Mon Nov 26, 2001 12:43 am

You will also need the latest version of Windows Media Player available free at http://www.microsoft.com. With that and the codec's, it should work fine.

FYI, the reason you only hear the audio is because the decompressor doesn't exist on your computer, so it is unable to render the viseo. Downloading the laterst version of Windows Media Player will fix this problem.
You might have to reinstall the codec's after installation of WMP though.
Work Hard. Fly Right. Continental Airlines

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: akiss20, DfwRevolution, Exabot [Bot], jpetekyxmd80, MrHMSH and 31 guests