Dazed767
Topic Author
Posts: 4967
Joined: Tue May 18, 1999 11:55 am

Different CPU And Monitor

Sat Apr 06, 2002 11:10 am

I have a compaq right now, I just need a faster CPU....I found a great dell I'm thinking about buying (but I don't need a monitor). Would there be a conflict by having a compaq monitor and a dell cpu? Stupid question I know. Thanks.
 
Hole_Courtney
Posts: 549
Joined: Wed Jun 09, 1999 12:51 am

RE: Different CPU And Monitor

Sat Apr 06, 2002 11:14 am

Absolutely not! Your monitor will work just fine.

live forever and stay beautiful,
hole_courtney
"[He] knew everything about literature, except how to enjoy it." - Yossarian, Catch 22
 
BH346
Posts: 3164
Joined: Mon Jan 31, 2000 5:50 am

RE: Different CPU And Monitor

Sat Apr 06, 2002 11:18 am

I use a Gateway monitor with a HP CPU and it's just fine.
Northwest Airlines - Some People Just Know How to Fly
 
Dazed767
Topic Author
Posts: 4967
Joined: Tue May 18, 1999 11:55 am

RE: Different CPU And Monitor

Sat Apr 06, 2002 11:20 am

Awsome...thanks for the quick reply.
 
L-188
Posts: 29874
Joined: Wed Jul 07, 1999 11:27 am

RE: Different CPU And Monitor

Sat Apr 06, 2002 7:46 pm

Shouldn't be a problem.

If you go into a computer lab at the college I go to. There will be twenty different brands of computers and not one of them has a monitor(Also 20 different) and not one of them matches the machine for brands.

The pissy thing is that if you go into the admin building they all have matched computers and 19 inch flatscreens. It's really nice to know where my tech fee is going.
OBAMA-WORST PRESIDENT EVER....Even SKOORB would be better.
 
Arsenal@LHR
Posts: 7510
Joined: Tue Mar 20, 2001 2:55 am

RE: Different CPU And Monitor

Sat Apr 06, 2002 11:13 pm

It doesn't really matter that you have a different to CPU to a monitor. 99% of monitors should work with any modern CPU's, also most PC peripherals like monitors are PNP (Plug and Play) which automatically detects your hardware settings and installs the correct drivers so that you don't have to worry about things like installation or setting it up etc.

I have a AMD Athlon 450 mgz processor using a Sony Multiscan 110ES monitor, no problems whatsoever.

Best regards
Arsenal@LHR
In Arsene we trust!!
 
User avatar
juanchito
Posts: 1053
Joined: Sat Nov 11, 2000 2:35 am

RE: Different CPU And Monitor

Sat Apr 06, 2002 11:20 pm

you won't have any problem with that, you can use any monitor, exept for the really old ones.


Juanchito
Fotografos de Aviacion de Guatemala. Spotter.
https://www.facebook.com/Fot%C3%B3grafo ... 661476921/
 
Joona
Posts: 1214
Joined: Sun May 06, 2001 2:02 am

RE: Different CPU And Monitor

Sun Apr 07, 2002 3:51 am

CPU is a Counting Processor Unit. Generally there are two CPU manufactures; AMD and Intel.

Dell and HP are computer manufacturers, e.g. they build computers.

The CPU model, nor the computer you have, have no effect on monitor.

Joona
1740 days idle. Beat that.
 
cosync
Posts: 635
Joined: Sat Nov 17, 2001 7:53 pm

RE: Different CPU And Monitor

Sun Apr 07, 2002 4:48 pm

do any of u guys even know what a CPU is?heheh
Its not the whole box with the power button and cd drive. it a little black thing about the sise of ur fingernail inside the computer surrounded by black coolant area. And i understand that what ur assking is if u can use say an ADI monitor with a hewlet packard computer.
then yes u can.  Smile
cheers cosync.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 32 guests