Pilot1113
Topic Author
Posts: 2276
Joined: Thu Aug 05, 1999 1:42 pm

Receiving Hdtv Signals

Tue Jan 14, 2003 11:43 am

I have both an HDTV-ready TV and digital cable, what more do I need (if I need anything more) to receive HDTV signals?

Thanks!

- Neil Harrison
 
Hurricane
Posts: 1355
Joined: Fri Feb 01, 2002 11:39 am

RE: Receiving Hdtv Signals

Tue Jan 14, 2003 12:07 pm

Should be getting it now if you have the digital cable box, as that also acts as the HD converter box.

Only primetime shows on major networks are shown in HD, I've noticed. Other shows will come in the old analog signal.

Try watching a major network tomorrow night at primetime, and it should be in HDTV. If not, call your cable man.
 
Pilot1113
Topic Author
Posts: 2276
Joined: Thu Aug 05, 1999 1:42 pm

RE: Receiving Hdtv Signals

Tue Jan 14, 2003 12:09 pm

>>Should be getting it now if you have the digital cable box, as that also acts as the HD converter box.<<

That's what I thought! Thanks!

- Neil Harrison
 
FlyVirgin744
Posts: 1282
Joined: Tue Jul 27, 1999 8:35 am

RE: Receiving Hdtv Signals

Tue Jan 14, 2003 2:38 pm

And ofcourse an antenna, but thats a given.

What equipment do you have?

I don't pick up crap here in Gainesville. All I get are the three directv stations.

Check channels and stations:
http://www.antennaweb.org/aw/address.asp.
Sometimes I go about in pity for myself and all the while a great wind carries me across the sky.
 
corocks
Posts: 1123
Joined: Thu Feb 01, 2001 8:57 am

RE: Receiving Hdtv Signals

Tue Jan 14, 2003 3:28 pm

>>Should be getting it now if you have the digital cable box, as that also acts as the HD converter box.<<

this is not correct, not in Houston anyway. For TimeWarner cable, you must have the digital cable box, plus another $5 a month for a HD box.

You can also get via satellite and antenna as mentioned before. With those options you normally have to buy your own HD converter which is pretty expensive.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: PacificBeach88, Scorpio and 29 guests