dc-10 levo
Posts: 3376
Joined: Mon Nov 19, 2001 3:22 am

Networking Two Computers

Sun Jan 26, 2003 10:40 pm

 Smile Hi everyone!  Smile

Last week we had NTL Broadband put in. My dad has the modem downstairs, and the man from NTL said that if we bought a 'router' I could go on it upstairs aswell.
Routers are £69.99, and then I have a buy 2 network cards right? (One for my dad's PC and one for mine?!?)

I saw this product at Argos today and wondered if this was all I needed:

http://www.argos.co.uk/webapp/commerce/command/ExecMacro/ols_prod_detl.d2w/report?prrfnbr=6761518&prmenbr=6970&type=big&thisMode=ols&cgrfnbr=775309

If I get two of these, could I go on broadband with only one modem?

Thanks for your help!

DC-10
 
jwenting
Posts: 9973
Joined: Mon Apr 23, 2001 10:12 pm

RE: Networking Two Computers

Sun Jan 26, 2003 10:51 pm

Quite likely you can. But do your computers have the required slots to put in those network cards? Seems they only have PCMCIA cards...

Best way might be to get an ADSL router from NTL (I think you're talking ADSL here?) which is basically an ADSL modem with built-in router.
For cable similar systems are available.
I wish I were flying
 
JetService
Posts: 4611
Joined: Mon Feb 21, 2000 1:12 pm

RE: Networking Two Computers

Mon Jan 27, 2003 12:49 am

I don't know about PCs, but on Macs, you can buy one modem and put it on an Airport (wireless router). Then you can put multiple Macs on this with local airport cards. All are networked together as a LAN and all can use the broadband simultaniously.
"Shaddap you!"
 
jwenting
Posts: 9973
Joined: Mon Apr 23, 2001 10:12 pm

RE: Networking Two Computers

Mon Jan 27, 2003 3:07 am

Same can be done with PCs too, but not with this thing it seems. It's a wireless network supporting only custom PCMCIA cards.
I wish I were flying
 
victech
Posts: 541
Joined: Sun Jun 11, 2000 9:46 am

RE: Networking Two Computers

Mon Jan 27, 2003 3:31 am

What I would recommend is that you buy a Netgear or Linksys wireless router (like the Netgear MR314 or the Linksys BEFW11S4) or any other 802.11b compliant wireless router (not just an access point). That way, you can use any 802.11b compliant wireless device on your network and you're not locked in to any one vendor's cards (if for example, you wanted to wirelessly network a printer, you could do that with 802.11b equipment).
 
sccutler
Posts: 5578
Joined: Thu Jan 27, 2000 12:16 pm

RE: Networking Two Computers

Mon Jan 27, 2003 3:46 am

I strongly urge that you visit http://www.dslreports.com, at which site you will find a limitless reserve of information, and knowledgeable experts will volunteer their advice and experience.

That said, assuming that you have a DSL account, you should be able to buy one of the above-mentioned broadband routers, which will allow you to route the IP traffic to several computers at once; it works very well.

I also agree that, if you can part with a little bit extra cash (and it really is very little more!), you should get a router with an 802.11b wireless access point built in, and you can share all over the house (and, if you do not turn on the security functions, all over the block, too!).

I'd avoid products from SMC (personal experience here...) whose product support is spotty at best.

Best of luck...
...three miles from BRONS, clear for the ILS one five approach...
 
Ralgha
Posts: 1589
Joined: Tue Nov 09, 1999 6:20 pm

RE: Networking Two Computers

Mon Jan 27, 2003 4:10 am

Buy a Linksys wireless router, and two wireless PCI cards. Plug the router into your modem, the cards into your compters, and you're set.  Big thumbs up
09 F9 11 02 9D 74 E3 5B D8 41 56 C5 63 56 88 C0

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: phatfarmlines and 4 guests