EWRvirgin
Topic Author
Posts: 348
Joined: Tue May 15, 2001 11:38 am

Attention All Cable Guys...

Mon Jun 16, 2003 11:02 am

If I split my coaxial cable that's connected to my cable modem to a couple of TVs in the house with a decent splitter, will that slow or degrade my internet connection in any way?

Regards
 
777YYC
Posts: 702
Joined: Wed May 03, 2000 10:46 am

RE: Attention All Cable Guys...

Mon Jun 16, 2003 11:09 am

I have mine split and it doesn't seem to have any effect.
 
PPGMD
Posts: 2398
Joined: Sun Sep 30, 2001 5:39 am

RE: Attention All Cable Guys...

Mon Jun 16, 2003 6:01 pm

The fact is that most cables are already split to provide the jacks in the room. The key is to use a high quality splitter.
At worst, you screw up and die.
 
av8rphx
Posts: 683
Joined: Tue Mar 11, 2003 8:10 am

RE: Attention All Cable Guys...

Tue Jun 17, 2003 4:58 am

Splitting it between one more device (tv) and you should be fine,anything else you may run into signal degredation. To work around this you could always go out and buy a RF Amplifier which will boost the signal for the cable modem.
 
MaxPowers
Posts: 453
Joined: Sun Dec 31, 2000 11:25 am

RE: Attention All Cable Guys...

Tue Jun 17, 2003 8:23 am

Here's the thing...

Your TV reception and internet connection will go down or stay the same depending on how many times it was spliced before it reaches where you want to splice it.

Furthermore, the cable line placement is decided when you got it installed. If there is enough strength then they keep your previous setup. If it isn't then they would have to have a dedicated line.

Follow?

Max.
 
EWRvirgin
Topic Author
Posts: 348
Joined: Tue May 15, 2001 11:38 am

RE: Attention All Cable Guys...

Tue Jun 17, 2003 8:51 am

Well, its not spliced to any other room or location unless you mean out on the telephone pole. That I don't know about.

By splitting the signal, do I get into issues with impedance and such and is this why the signal would degrade?
 
MaxPowers
Posts: 453
Joined: Sun Dec 31, 2000 11:25 am

RE: Attention All Cable Guys...

Tue Jun 17, 2003 11:54 am

Okay, that's good that it's going from the outside and straight to your room where you want to make such a splice.

As for the reception loss, it's sorta like taking a photocopy and making a copy of the copy. You loose quality because it's not direct from the original source.

If you experience signal loss for the tv...then try to buy a signal amplifier. They are pricey at 100 bucks or so, but depending on the certain situation, they are great. Make sure you keep the receipt because sometimes once in a while it doesn't work that great.


Max

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: aerlingus747, Bongodog1964 and 28 guests