mt99

Any Almodovar Fans?

Sat Oct 11, 2003 4:16 am

I saw "All about my Mother" the other day, and talk about one F*up movie! I rented yesterday "Women on the verge of a nervous breakdown " and i was good too.

Its so refresing to see movies that they dont take themselves seriuosly once in a while.

I dont think many directors/writers can get by with dialogue like:

"First i was a trucker, then i put on my boobs and i became a whore"
Step into my office, baby

mirrodie

RE: Any Almodovar Fans?

Sat Oct 11, 2003 12:36 pm

saw a few... but can;t recall their names. AmoresPerro

and hte other was about two young guys exploring with an older woman.

Was considering viewing Like Water for Chocolate this weekend but deferred.
Forum moderator 2001-2010; He's a pedantic, pontificating, pretentious bastard, a belligerent old fart, a worthless st

Aeri28

Sun Oct 12, 2003 6:54 am

I like his older ones better. "Women on the verge' in the late 80's was the film that seemed to put him on the map (at least in this country). But his older films have a much more raw edge to them. "Matador", "Law of Desire", "What Hve I done to deserve this" are all great films. (cant remember the spanish names however..). That is n't saying that his newer films are not good. They are. Just a different edge I'd say. His latest, "Talk to Her" , was very good but a subject matter some might find bizarre.

Alessandro

Mon Oct 13, 2003 7:39 am

High heels is good film by him...
From New Yorqatar to Califarbia...

jimbobjoe

Mon Oct 13, 2003 1:32 pm

Oustanding films....I think that Women on the verge is his best for many reasons (check out the colors in that film.) He seems to do really well when he doesn't take himself so seriously (like Women on the verge or What have I done to deserve this...) but High Heels is excellent (and probably my favorite.)

All about my mother is way too depressing for me.