JetService
Topic Author
Posts: 4611
Joined: Mon Feb 21, 2000 1:12 pm

Cable TV Questions

Mon Dec 29, 2003 11:04 am

I'm trying to get a cable signal to all my available coax jacks in the house. I only have 7 jacks and have found where they are all terminated in the basement wall. I've bought splitters and made them all hot. I've been all over the Internet including Comcast's site and first I'm trying to confirm if this is legal. I've heard that you can split cable in the house, but I'm not certain. Does anyone know? This is analog cable, BTW. Second question...the previous owners of my house must've had a satallite dish, because there are a second set of coax jacks. These jacks are in every room, including rooms without cable. Those are terminated outside near the cable feed. I'd like to convert these to cable since they are in more rooms. I figure I can split the cable at the feed just once and the signal would be in the entire satellite coax network. I'm thinking this ISN'T legal, but again, not sure. Anyone know that? And finally, if this is not legal, would I be able to simply run a coax line from a cable jack to a satellite jack? Would that be one way to put the signal in the satellite lines? I'm not sure if it can run 'backwards' like that. Thanks.
"Shaddap you!"
 
Guest

RE: Cable TV Questions

Mon Dec 29, 2003 11:29 am

Sure its legal. What is the cable company going to do? come in and inspect? probably if you told them about it they might want to charge you extra but that is primarily because Time Warner is a bunch of criminals. Just use them and don't worry about it. The other set of jacks might be for sattelite but when my parents switched from the criminals (time warner) to sattelite we used existing wiring. If the plugs/wire are the same it will work for CATV though. Just hook a live CATV line into the sat plugs and it should work. Careful running your signal through too many wires though, the signal with CATV is bad enough as is running it through a million miles of wire can make it worse. If you see ghosting on broadcast channels thats a sign you have too much wiring. Also if running cable internet this can cause reduced bandwidth.
 
ybacpa
Posts: 1080
Joined: Thu Mar 01, 2001 5:39 am

RE: Cable TV Questions

Mon Dec 29, 2003 11:30 am

Generally speaking, you are free to do any wiring inside your home that you wish to do. Consider this, however, each time you split the signal, you degrade the quality of the signal ultimately reaching the TV. If you only have a few TVs, or only a few locations where you regularily plug in a set, its probably best not to make all 7 hot, since it is a rather trivial task to add another splitter in the future (installing the wiring / jacks is the difficult part).

I have a similar hookup in my house (dual coax connections in 8 rooms), but I only have three live (2 TVs & the cable modem). The picture quality is much better being split 3 ways than 8 ways.

As for the second pair, it could be for satellite, or some other source. I used my second pair for my external HDTV antenna, since there are more off the air HDTV channels in my area than available over cable (and I don't have to pay for the feed).

Also, if you are going to split outside the house, make sure you do it after the lightening ground. Again though, its probably best to limit the number of hot connections to those you use on a regular basis.

Hope this helps,
-yb
SkyTeam: The alliance for third rate airlines finally getting their act together!
 
funflyer
Posts: 817
Joined: Sat Aug 09, 2003 4:53 am

RE: Cable TV Questions

Mon Dec 29, 2003 11:48 am

If you spilt it outside your house then they can come and get you, happened at my house once Adelphia<---really shity<. Came and took pictures and tried to get us fined and something like $2,000.00 for stealing cable. Inside you house is different though.
Who cares about status?
 
covert
Posts: 1498
Joined: Sun Oct 21, 2001 1:02 am

RE: Cable TV Questions

Mon Dec 29, 2003 12:29 pm

You purchase the service for the address in which it is installed, meaning inside the building is yours.

covert
none
 
JetService
Topic Author
Posts: 4611
Joined: Mon Feb 21, 2000 1:12 pm

RE: Cable TV Questions

Mon Dec 29, 2003 1:35 pm

I'm not particularly worried that they'll catch me, I just didn't know if I needed to disconnect everything if I ever called them for service. But I have heard what Covert said; once the signal is in your house, you can legally do with it what you want with the exception of paying for Internet only, then pirating the TV signal out of the modem. Anyway, thanks for your input all. I'm keeping an eye on the quality and so far, so good. (And I'll stay away from the outside line  Big grin )
"Shaddap you!"
 
ybacpa
Posts: 1080
Joined: Thu Mar 01, 2001 5:39 am

RE: Cable TV Questions

Tue Dec 30, 2003 12:08 am

JetService,
Comcast blocks any signal you aren't paying for at the street. So if you have Internet only (or limited service, which is actually cheaper with internet access), they filter out the channels you aren't paying for... even if you hook up a TV you'll only receive what you've subscribed to. The only trouble you'll get into with them is if you climb the poll and remove the filter. They do regularily send an auditor around who gets paid by the number of violations he finds (not to mention that you're risking turning yourself into an overcooked McDonalds breakfast sausage by climbing those poles).
SkyTeam: The alliance for third rate airlines finally getting their act together!
 
JetService
Topic Author
Posts: 4611
Joined: Mon Feb 21, 2000 1:12 pm

RE: Cable TV Questions

Tue Dec 30, 2003 1:46 am

Ybacpa, I don't want to pirate anything. I'm just trying to split the analog TV signal I'm paying for into multiple jacks. Besides, I have a fear of heights. Big grin
"Shaddap you!"
 
ybacpa
Posts: 1080
Joined: Thu Mar 01, 2001 5:39 am

RE: Cable TV Questions

Tue Dec 30, 2003 4:23 am

Jetservice,
I'm sorry, I wasn't implying that you were. The point was that I don't think you have anything to worry about, unless you are thinking about climbing the pole. Since, like me, it sounds like you prefer to keep your feet close to the planet, I'd say you're in the clear as far as what you want to hook up inside your house.
-yb
SkyTeam: The alliance for third rate airlines finally getting their act together!
 
JetService
Topic Author
Posts: 4611
Joined: Mon Feb 21, 2000 1:12 pm

RE: Cable TV Questions

Tue Dec 30, 2003 4:48 am

Ybacpa, ohhh, I see what you're saying. Thanks. After researching for answers, I see what you mean. It appears the cable cos. have major issues in combating Internet and premium TV theft. Hopefully splitting Discovery Channel into a bedroom is not really a concern of theirs.  Laugh out loud
"Shaddap you!"
 
delta-flyer
Posts: 2631
Joined: Mon Jul 30, 2001 9:47 am

RE: Cable TV Questions

Tue Dec 30, 2003 5:02 am

Jet....On the question of the legality of splitting signals -- when we bought our new house 11 years ago, we had the cable company install an outside splitter and we paid for 4 outlets - a few bucks a month over the cost of basic service. A few years later, they discontinued that practice, and all outlets, whether installed by cable or not, were free (ie - no extra cost over the cost of service). So whatever you do with the signal after it enters your property is your business - except, you are not allowed to install anything that harms the signal upstream of your property.

On the signal strength issue, you can buy signal amplifiers at Radio Shack to boost the signal strength throughout your house to compensate for the degradation caused by multiple splitters and long lines. I had one in my old house, and it worked just great. I think you can get up to a 6 db boost, which is a factor of 2.

Cheers
Pete
"In God we trust, everyone else bring data"
 
ybacpa
Posts: 1080
Joined: Thu Mar 01, 2001 5:39 am

RE: Cable TV Questions

Tue Dec 30, 2003 5:48 am

Delta-flyer & JetService,
An amplifier is definately a good idea if you plan on having that many outlets. One thing to remember is that many amplifiers will degrade a cable modem signal, often to the point that it is not usable. Simple solution, though, is to use a two way splitter right where the cable comes in, run one drop right to your cable modem, and the other right to your amplifier. Or, ask your cable company, they may have a particular model available that doesn't affect the cable modems (but expect to pay more than you would for a video only splitter).

-yb
SkyTeam: The alliance for third rate airlines finally getting their act together!
 
acidradio
Crew
Posts: 1595
Joined: Mon Mar 12, 2001 3:19 pm

RE: Cable TV Questions

Sat Jan 03, 2004 4:34 am

Some cable companies will actually GIVE you amps and install them to ensure that you are using equipment that does not disrupt the rest of the cable network. Never hurts to call and ask.

Use the best quality cable you can find (at least RG6, but if you can splurge for the RG6 Quad-Shield, even better). Also, use quality crimps on cabling that you do in your house as to avoid leaks of signal. If you are worried about the cable company getting mad at you for your own wiring, just use quality materials and do everything right (good crimping technique, no leaking signal, no open ["unterminated"] CATV jacks, etc.) you will be OK. Around here (and I'm sure most everywhere else) the cable companies use Thomas & Betts Snap-n-Seal connectors, which are more expensive but high quality. If you look on eBay, you can find deals on that stuff all the time. I picked up a crimper for like $30 (it was a knockoff, but the real Thomas & Betts tool costs like $100-150) and a coax wire stripper for like $10.

As for two cables running into a room, nowadays that is often a setup for satellite dish, but back in the day a handful of cable systems had two different feeds, especially in areas equally in-between two major cities. Or on the drop from the utility pole to the house, I've noticed that the cable companies have installed double coax so that in the future one of the conductors goes bad they can just wire it over quickly without having to run another drop. Or they can use it to dedicate to a cable modem.

Don't install a cable modem past an amp, that tends to lead to more problems than you started with. If you use a splitter to split off signal for a cable modem, only use one that is good to at least 1000MHz or higher. Often cheaper splitters stop at 950MHz which is OK for analog TV but can be problematic for cable modem and digital cable. Happy cabling...
Ich haben zwei Platzspielen und ein Microphone
 
covert
Posts: 1498
Joined: Sun Oct 21, 2001 1:02 am

RE: Cable TV Questions

Sat Jan 03, 2004 9:25 am

If you ever get a cable modem have them run it directly.

covert
none
 
delta-flyer
Posts: 2631
Joined: Mon Jul 30, 2001 9:47 am

RE: Cable TV Questions

Sat Jan 03, 2004 11:21 am

Good point, Covert ... In our house, the Cable co. installed a special splitter outside, where the signal enters the house, for the cable modem, and ran a separate cable to the computer (actually, to our router). The other branch is further split for the TV's. You should not connect anything to the cable going to the modem.

Pete
"In God we trust, everyone else bring data"

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: coolian2, desertjets, izbtmnhd, OA412 and 8 guests