wardialer
Posts: 1148
Joined: Fri Sep 14, 2001 1:08 pm

Internet Problems In Hungary With My PC

Mon Sep 27, 2004 3:31 pm

Ok, heres the problem, the provider called Matav in Hungary (Europe) gave me this access number below

06 51 622 622

On the Internet Setup page in Windows 2000 (My Dial-up Networking), I selected from the menu Hungary (36) which is the country code, but what should I put under the Area Code and then what would be the actual number??

I tried it already as 0651 as the Area Code and the actual number as 622622 and still could not connect. The phone line gave me like an announcement that I could not connect.

The modem works fine which is an external one.

Is anyone familiar with the Hungarian access numbers??
 
iakobos
Posts: 3255
Joined: Wed Aug 06, 2003 6:22 pm

RE: Internet Problems In Hungary With My PC

Mon Sep 27, 2004 4:18 pm

Did you try without the 0 (which is only required for local/domestic calls) ?
 
707CMF
Posts: 4698
Joined: Thu Mar 14, 2002 5:39 pm

RE: Internet Problems In Hungary With My PC

Mon Sep 27, 2004 4:19 pm

I concur - remove the 0.

Cheers,

707
 
UTA_flyinghigh
Posts: 6304
Joined: Wed Oct 03, 2001 8:46 pm

RE: Internet Problems In Hungary With My PC

Mon Sep 27, 2004 4:26 pm

Or pay your ISP bill in time.

Signed,
707cmf
Fly to live, live to fly - Air France/KLM Flying Blue Platinum, BMI Diamond Club Gold, Emirates Skywards
 
707CMF
Posts: 4698
Joined: Thu Mar 14, 2002 5:39 pm

RE: Internet Problems In Hungary With My PC

Mon Sep 27, 2004 4:41 pm

I sent the check yesterday.... barely 3 weeks late (1week after the second notice).

I indeed really should have a direct debit for that...

cheers,

707
 
andz
Posts: 7628
Joined: Mon Feb 16, 2004 7:49 pm

RE: Internet Problems In Hungary With My PC

Tue Sep 28, 2004 12:20 am

If you are in Hungary then the country code is not needed. If you are in a hotel check the dial out digit required (usually 0) when I was in Budapest last year I also had a local dial up number and it worked.

When I travel out of South Africa I use AT&T Global network client to get local dial ups and have never had problems, I am in Helsinki now and having no problems connecting to a local number so it is probably just the number setting. If you have to dial a digit for an outside line try the digit, comma, and a space then the number to give the modem time to get the dial tone, I have seen this cure a "number unobtainable" before. (eg: 0, 622622)
After Monday and Tuesday even the calendar says WTF...
 
wardialer
Posts: 1148
Joined: Fri Sep 14, 2001 1:08 pm

RE: Internet Problems In Hungary With My PC

Tue Sep 28, 2004 12:33 am

I amnot in Hungary right now, I just came back. But the PC is located in the home and not in a hotel.

Nextime I will try it without the 0.

Thanks

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: 817Dreamliiner, Aesma, LittleFokker and 25 guests

Popular Searches On Airliners.net

Top Photos of Last:   24 Hours  •  48 Hours  •  7 Days  •  30 Days  •  180 Days  •  365 Days  •  All Time

Military Aircraft Every type from fighters to helicopters from air forces around the globe

Classic Airliners Props and jets from the good old days

Flight Decks Views from inside the cockpit

Aircraft Cabins Passenger cabin shots showing seat arrangements as well as cargo aircraft interior

Cargo Aircraft Pictures of great freighter aircraft

Government Aircraft Aircraft flying government officials

Helicopters Our large helicopter section. Both military and civil versions

Blimps / Airships Everything from the Goodyear blimp to the Zeppelin

Night Photos Beautiful shots taken while the sun is below the horizon

Accidents Accident, incident and crash related photos

Air to Air Photos taken by airborne photographers of airborne aircraft

Special Paint Schemes Aircraft painted in beautiful and original liveries

Airport Overviews Airport overviews from the air or ground

Tails and Winglets Tail and Winglet closeups with beautiful airline logos