JetService
Topic Author
Posts: 4611
Joined: Mon Feb 21, 2000 1:12 pm

Power Adapters

Thu Dec 02, 2004 12:01 am

I have a Power adapter that plugs into a Canon Dig. Camcorder. But I don't have the half that goes from the box to the wall outlet. I found one that fits, but not sure if I can use it. I'm afraid to try it and end up cooking something. Anyone know if I can use this safely? The Canon adapter has the following specs:

Input-100V-240V 50/60Hz
Output DC 8.4V ===1.5A

The adapter to the plug I want to use has this...
Input-100V-240V 47-63Hz
Output +5V====4.0A

Is it safe to use?
"Shaddap you!"
 
UTA_flyinghigh
Posts: 6304
Joined: Wed Oct 03, 2001 8:46 pm

RE: Power Adapters

Thu Dec 02, 2004 12:04 am

NO WAY ! Do NOT do this as the power/voltage outputs are not the same !
If you do your camcorder will say Rhaa !

UTA
Fly to live, live to fly - Air France/KLM Flying Blue Platinum, BMI Diamond Club Gold, Emirates Skywards
 
User avatar
sebolino
Posts: 3495
Joined: Tue May 29, 2001 11:26 pm

RE: Power Adapters

Thu Dec 02, 2004 12:07 am

I don't understand exactlty what you want to do, but if your camcorder needs 8.4 V, and that you give him 5V, it won't burn anything. But it won't work.
 
UTA_flyinghigh
Posts: 6304
Joined: Wed Oct 03, 2001 8:46 pm

RE: Power Adapters

Thu Dec 02, 2004 12:15 am

Sebolino, look at the power rating :
4.0 amps instead of 1.5 amps. That can fry equipment  Sad

UTA
Fly to live, live to fly - Air France/KLM Flying Blue Platinum, BMI Diamond Club Gold, Emirates Skywards
 
JetService
Topic Author
Posts: 4611
Joined: Mon Feb 21, 2000 1:12 pm

RE: Power Adapters

Thu Dec 02, 2004 12:19 am

Let me explain better, I have the camcorders original adapter which is the first one listed above. I'm only missing the larger cord that goes from the wall to the box. I need to know if those are different. I don't want to use the other box with the different rating, only its larger cord for the correct box. Does that make sense?

Thank for your replies.

(And what does Rhaa mean?)
"Shaddap you!"
 
UTA_flyinghigh
Posts: 6304
Joined: Wed Oct 03, 2001 8:46 pm

RE: Power Adapters

Thu Dec 02, 2004 12:25 am

As long as the original transformer is used (or one with equivalent ratings) any power cord will do. Rhaa !

UTA
Fly to live, live to fly - Air France/KLM Flying Blue Platinum, BMI Diamond Club Gold, Emirates Skywards
 
User avatar
sebolino
Posts: 3495
Joined: Tue May 29, 2001 11:26 pm

RE: Power Adapters

Thu Dec 02, 2004 12:26 am

OK, I see.

It sounds safe if the cord can stand a higher current.


Flying_high: The current indication is a maximum current in output of the adaptor.
 
UTA_flyinghigh
Posts: 6304
Joined: Wed Oct 03, 2001 8:46 pm

RE: Power Adapters

Thu Dec 02, 2004 12:32 am

True Sebolino. I need some vacances.

UTA
Fly to live, live to fly - Air France/KLM Flying Blue Platinum, BMI Diamond Club Gold, Emirates Skywards
 
JetService
Topic Author
Posts: 4611
Joined: Mon Feb 21, 2000 1:12 pm

RE: Power Adapters

Thu Dec 02, 2004 12:39 am

Thanks fellas!!!! That saves me a LOT of trouble.
"Shaddap you!"
 
mt99
Posts: 6166
Joined: Wed May 26, 1999 5:41 am

RE: Power Adapters

Thu Dec 02, 2004 5:35 am

It will probably fry it.

You need to understand that it is POWER (not current, not voltage) that makes things go

POWER = VOLTAGE x CURRENT

The cam will SUCK (you dont "push" power, you "suck" power) as much power as it needs:

If the voltage is too low it will suck more current (melting stuff).

If the voltage is too high it will suck less current (not melting stuff, but flashovers could occur in the electronics)

---

Ok read the previous responsed.. the cord will prob be OK... Still let this be a lesson for you crazy kids regarding DC power - Courtesy of Dr. Ohm  Wink/being sarcastic




[Edited 2004-12-01 21:38:09]
Step into my office, baby

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 30 guests