airbusA346
Posts: 7284
Joined: Fri Dec 10, 2004 7:05 am

Is It Possible To Make Your Desktop Snow?

Thu Dec 23, 2004 11:04 pm

Is it possible to make your computer desktop snow like the Airliners.net Home Page
Like this http://www.airliners.net/index.snow1.main or http://www.airliners.net/index.snow2.main.

Maybe Johan can help to.

Tom (airbusA346)  Smile  Big thumbs up
Happy Crimbo Ya All
Tom Walker '086' First Officer of a A318/A319 for Air Lambert - Hours Flown: 17 hour 05 minutes (last updated 24/12/05).
 
bravo7e7
Posts: 1162
Joined: Sun Jul 18, 2004 1:43 am

RE: Is It Possible To Make Your Desktop Snow?

Thu Dec 23, 2004 11:13 pm

I am sure that there is something you can download for it, but I don't know any websites for it.
 
airbusA346
Posts: 7284
Joined: Fri Dec 10, 2004 7:05 am

RE: Is It Possible To Make Your Desktop Snow?

Fri Dec 24, 2004 12:33 am

Does anybody know how to make my desktop snow like the A.net Homepage
I want it to snow on my desktop and the snow collects on my Taskbar, icons and my plane which is my desktop background picture.

airbusA346 (airbusA346)
Tom Walker '086' First Officer of a A318/A319 for Air Lambert - Hours Flown: 17 hour 05 minutes (last updated 24/12/05).
 
jfkaua
Posts: 972
Joined: Tue Aug 31, 2004 7:42 am

RE: Is It Possible To Make Your Desktop Snow?

Fri Dec 24, 2004 2:33 am

no i don't believe that there is a program that will do that... there are screensavers that accumulate snow...
 
Mikey711MN
Posts: 1229
Joined: Fri Nov 07, 2003 4:19 am

RE: Is It Possible To Make Your Desktop Snow?

Fri Dec 24, 2004 2:44 am

Yes, it's possible if you use a Windows-based OS on your machine. Upon selecting your background, you can enable a feature called "Active Desktop" that will allow you to, amongst other things, use web pages as your desktop background. If you're privy to HTML coding, this means that you can create a locally stored copy of a webpage, i.e. save an HTML file to your machine, and link to it in the URL of the page to be displayed in the background. This file that you would create would need to include an "img" tag to display your background image and the Javascript code that creates the snow imagery.

Hope that helps...feel free to ask questions throughout the process (although I'm leaving soon for the holiday, but I'll check periodically).

-Mike
I plan on living forever. So far, so good...
 
theCoz
Posts: 3933
Joined: Mon Aug 16, 2004 11:06 am

RE: Is It Possible To Make Your Desktop Snow?

Fri Dec 24, 2004 3:38 am

I haven't looked at the source code of the home page, but I can bet that the snow is nothing more than an included javaScript file. As Mikey was saying, all you would have to do is take this file, include it with a local web page on your system, turn on active desktop, and set your desktop to display it.
 
theCoz
Posts: 3933
Joined: Mon Aug 16, 2004 11:06 am

RE: Is It Possible To Make Your Desktop Snow?

Fri Dec 24, 2004 3:43 am

<script SRC="http://www.chromosphere.com/snow.js"></script>

It's snowing! woo hoo! I made it snow!  Laugh out loud
 
theCoz
Posts: 3933
Joined: Mon Aug 16, 2004 11:06 am

RE: Is It Possible To Make Your Desktop Snow?

Fri Dec 24, 2004 3:45 am

D'ah! it isn't working now  Sad

anyway, just copy that code and save it in notepad with a .htm extension and just set your desktop to use that page.
 
theCoz
Posts: 3933
Joined: Mon Aug 16, 2004 11:06 am

RE: Is It Possible To Make Your Desktop Snow?

Fri Dec 24, 2004 3:51 am

Let's try this:

 
theCoz
Posts: 3933
Joined: Mon Aug 16, 2004 11:06 am

RE: Is It Possible To Make Your Desktop Snow?

Fri Dec 24, 2004 3:54 am

hhm..that sorta worked.

Just set your desktop to this page:

http://www.chromosphere.com/snow.htm

It should work.
 
airbusA346
Posts: 7284
Joined: Fri Dec 10, 2004 7:05 am

RE: Is It Possible To Make Your Desktop Snow?

Fri Dec 24, 2004 5:34 am

Mikey711MN,
Can you tell me in step by step instructions
Like this,
1. first do this
2. Then do this
3. and so on

I use Microsoft Windows XP Home Edition SP2 (Service Pack 2)
Can you tell me were all these buttons are, I might be a computer wizz, but I don't know a thing about HTML or JavaScript.

Tom (airbusA346)
Tom Walker '086' First Officer of a A318/A319 for Air Lambert - Hours Flown: 17 hour 05 minutes (last updated 24/12/05).
 
Mikey711MN
Posts: 1229
Joined: Fri Nov 07, 2003 4:19 am

RE: Is It Possible To Make Your Desktop Snow?

Fri Dec 24, 2004 5:54 am

I'll give it a shot, Tom...

  1. Right-click on the Desktop and select "Properties" from the Popup Menu
  2. Click the Desktop tab from the Display Properties window, and click the "Customize Desktop" button near the lower left corner
  3. From the Desktop Items window, click the Web tab
  4. To the right of the Web Pages list, click the "New" button
  5. In the New Desktop Item window, add http://www.chromosphere.com/snow.htm to the URL textbox, and then click OK
  6. In the Add Item to Active Desktop(TM) confirmation window, just click OK
  7. The Active Desktop will "synchronize" that webpage and insert it onto your desktop after clicking OK in the Desktop Items and Display Properties windows, respectively in order
  8. Mouse-over to the upper-right of the newly-placed Active Desktop item, and upon the Title Bar popping up, click on the Maximize button (third one from the right)
  9. Since the snow doesn't automatically fill the screen, from the Start Menu, go to Settings and then Display to, again, open up the Display Properties window
  10. Follow steps 2 and 3 again, and then click on the Lock Desktop Items checkbox in the Desktop Items window
  11. Click OK to return to the Display Properties window, but then click Apply first (to "expand" the snow) and click OK afterwards.


That's how I did it. Let me know if that works.

Merry Christmas!
-Mike
I plan on living forever. So far, so good...
 
dan2002
Posts: 2024
Joined: Tue Dec 17, 2002 7:11 am

RE: Is It Possible To Make Your Desktop Snow?

Fri Dec 24, 2004 6:00 am

Mike, yea it works for me, and it doesnt slow my computer down too much either.

-Dan
A guy asks 'What's Punk?'. I kick over a trash can and its punk. He knocks over a trash can and its trendy.
 
airbusA346
Posts: 7284
Joined: Fri Dec 10, 2004 7:05 am

RE: Is It Possible To Make Your Desktop Snow?

Fri Dec 24, 2004 6:27 am

Mike is their away of putting a picture in the background, because I had this picture in the background

View Large View Medium
Click here for bigger photo!

Photo © Tim de Groot - AirTeamImages



Also is their away of making snow collect on icons, the Start Menu, the Taskbar and windows which are open.

Can you Help

Tom (airbusA346)
Tom Walker '086' First Officer of a A318/A319 for Air Lambert - Hours Flown: 17 hour 05 minutes (last updated 24/12/05).
 
Go3Team
Posts: 3156
Joined: Sun Mar 14, 2004 1:19 am

RE: Is It Possible To Make Your Desktop Snow?

Fri Dec 24, 2004 7:11 am

Tom: try this page: (using the directions above) http://www.image-hosting.us/snow/snow.php

As for the snow collecting on the icons, I think that would be way to processor intensive, and wouldn't be worth the trouble, Although it would be pretty neat.
Yay Pudding!
 
theCoz
Posts: 3933
Joined: Mon Aug 16, 2004 11:06 am

RE: Is It Possible To Make Your Desktop Snow?

Fri Dec 24, 2004 10:35 am

Go3Team, did you do that? That was f-ing cool!  Big thumbs up
 
Go3Team
Posts: 3156
Joined: Sun Mar 14, 2004 1:19 am

RE: Is It Possible To Make Your Desktop Snow?

Fri Dec 24, 2004 12:12 pm

Yes. Any picture can be used, with the credit for the picture in question certainly going to Tim de Groot. If anyone wants the html let me know, or I can set up the snow for any picture you want.

Lightning Example
Different Snow


[Edited 2004-12-24 04:27:26]
Yay Pudding!
 
airbusA346
Posts: 7284
Joined: Fri Dec 10, 2004 7:05 am

RE: Is It Possible To Make Your Desktop Snow?

Fri Dec 24, 2004 10:48 pm

Go3Team, the image does not fill the whole screen. Can you help.

Tom (airbusA346)
Tom Walker '086' First Officer of a A318/A319 for Air Lambert - Hours Flown: 17 hour 05 minutes (last updated 24/12/05).
 
Go3Team
Posts: 3156
Joined: Sun Mar 14, 2004 1:19 am

RE: Is It Possible To Make Your Desktop Snow?

Fri Dec 24, 2004 11:37 pm

What size is your desktop set to? Right click on your desktop, go to settings, and tell me what your screen resolution is set at.
Yay Pudding!
 
airbusA346
Posts: 7284
Joined: Fri Dec 10, 2004 7:05 am

RE: Is It Possible To Make Your Desktop Snow?

Sat Dec 25, 2004 12:34 am

It is set to 1024 by 768 pixels

Tom (airbusA346)
Tom Walker '086' First Officer of a A318/A319 for Air Lambert - Hours Flown: 17 hour 05 minutes (last updated 24/12/05).
 
Newark777
Posts: 8284
Joined: Thu Dec 02, 2004 6:23 am

RE: Is It Possible To Make Your Desktop Snow?

Sat Dec 25, 2004 12:47 am

How do you set the snow on the pictures? I would like to know how to do it to some of my own pictures.

Harry
Why grab a Heine when you can grab a Busch?
 
Go3Team
Posts: 3156
Joined: Sun Mar 14, 2004 1:19 am

RE: Is It Possible To Make Your Desktop Snow?

Sat Dec 25, 2004 2:28 am

I've tried changing some settings, but I can't get the snow to fill the screen. Maybe someone else can help.
Yay Pudding!
 
Mikey711MN
Posts: 1229
Joined: Fri Nov 07, 2003 4:19 am

RE: Is It Possible To Make Your Desktop Snow?

Tue Dec 28, 2004 3:16 am

Hey, Go, have you tried to just use an img tag within the body, which then itself has sizing properties, instead of applying the image as the background setting in the body tag? Give that a shot and see what happens. (in this way, you could set your width and height to 100%, thus being resolution independent)

-Mike
I plan on living forever. So far, so good...

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot], voeKL and 11 guests