flyingbronco05
Posts: 3484
Joined: Fri May 10, 2002 11:43 am

Cable Internet Problem

Sat Jan 01, 2005 12:43 pm

I got high speed internet (cable/broadband) installed in my apartment in late august 2004. I had no problems at all until october when my modem would drop the connection at random times. I called the cable company and they made a few visits out here to tell me nothing was wrong. November came and that's when I had the cable company out here 13 times in a month to fix the dropped connection problem. They have re-wired the apartment 3 times and the last time they were here, they finally told me it was my modem. Luckily, I was able to exchange it and get a new modem. I went from a D-Link to a Motorola. After switching to the motorola modem, the internet was fine for 3 days, then the day before I went home for winter break, it dropped 3 times. When I left, it was working. I got back on thursday and the modem wasn't working. I called the cable company and the guy said the modem dropped off line 62 times in a week period. More cable people are coming out on monday to "fix" it again. Does ANYBODY know what the hell could be happening?!?!

I know how to get the modem to work again, but that's not the point. The point is im pissed off about paying $30 for an internet that rarely works.  Angry

[Edited 2005-01-01 04:45:27]
Never Trust Your Fuel Gauge
 
Newark777
Posts: 8284
Joined: Thu Dec 02, 2004 6:23 am

RE: Cable Internet Problem

Sat Jan 01, 2005 1:13 pm

This happened to me with my cable internet, with the service dropping off at random times. We, too had a bunch of people come out, but no luck. Finally, though, someone took some kind of reading on the cable line coming in, and they said the signal strength was weak on the line leading into the modem, which was being shared by multiple TV's. They re-worked the wires, and now everything works fine, with no drop-offs since they fixed it.  Big thumbs up

Hope everything works out for you.  Smile

Harry
Why grab a Heine when you can grab a Busch?
 
flyingbronco05
Posts: 3484
Joined: Fri May 10, 2002 11:43 am

RE: Cable Internet Problem

Sat Jan 01, 2005 1:15 pm

Yeah when the cable people come here, they take readings on all the wires and they are all fine. It is only a problem when no cable guy is here. Figures, huh?  Confused
Never Trust Your Fuel Gauge
 
whitehatter
Posts: 5180
Joined: Sat Jun 12, 2004 6:52 am

RE: Cable Internet Problem

Sat Jan 01, 2005 2:41 pm

Is your modem USB powered or does it have a separate power supply?

This has been a major problem with DSL modems in particular. Some computer boards just can't manage the power and occasionally the connection gets dropped
Lead me not into temptation, I can find my own way there...
 
flyingbronco05
Posts: 3484
Joined: Fri May 10, 2002 11:43 am

RE: Cable Internet Problem

Sat Jan 01, 2005 10:33 pm

I don't have a DSL connection. My cable modem is plugged into my ethernet connection.
Never Trust Your Fuel Gauge
 
whitehatter
Posts: 5180
Joined: Sat Jun 12, 2004 6:52 am

RE: Cable Internet Problem

Sat Jan 01, 2005 10:57 pm

I never said you had DSL. I mentioned DSL as that's where the majority of these issues have shown up.

I was explaining one particular source of problems with broadband equipment in general, whether cable or DSL. If your modem isn't powered by the computer then it isn't that. It has been something which many engineers have failed to address and therefore haven't got to the source of the problem.

A change from a USB connection to Ethernet/external power solved it for many users.

Go and have a good read of http://www.broadbandreports.com as there will be many tips there which could help you.
Lead me not into temptation, I can find my own way there...
 
gigneil
Posts: 14133
Joined: Fri Nov 08, 2002 10:25 am

RE: Cable Internet Problem

Sat Jan 01, 2005 11:22 pm

Cable is a notoriously unreliable transport for data. The connection is very tenuous, and drops are pretty common.

I'd complain. A lot.

N
 
flyingbronco05
Posts: 3484
Joined: Fri May 10, 2002 11:43 am

RE: Cable Internet Problem

Sat Jan 01, 2005 11:38 pm

I call literally 4 times a week and for my december bill (for the problems in november) they were only authorized to give me $3 off my bill. There are no other cable companies where I am so im screwed. If it keeps occurring after monday, I'm gonna scream and demand free internet service or something like that. My gf has the same modem and lives across the hall and she hasn't lost her connection yet and I lose it a few times daily.
Never Trust Your Fuel Gauge
 
gigneil
Posts: 14133
Joined: Fri Nov 08, 2002 10:25 am

RE: Cable Internet Problem

Sat Jan 01, 2005 11:48 pm

Where do you live, boss?

Denver, right?

N
 
flyingbronco05
Posts: 3484
Joined: Fri May 10, 2002 11:43 am

RE: Cable Internet Problem

Sun Jan 02, 2005 12:10 am

If you mean me, then I live in Kalamazoo, MI
Never Trust Your Fuel Gauge
 
gigneil
Posts: 14133
Joined: Fri Nov 08, 2002 10:25 am

RE: Cable Internet Problem

Sun Jan 02, 2005 12:22 am

Bronco makes me think Denver.

You can't get DSL where you live?

Kalamazoo is a fairly urban area. Who is your cable provider?

N
 
quebecair727
Posts: 318
Joined: Mon Apr 16, 2001 8:16 pm

RE: Cable Internet Problem

Sun Jan 02, 2005 12:33 am

I experienced the same thing last summer. The problem was the exterior cable running from the big splitter box on the street right to my home. Actually, all those cables were damaged by squirrels. For some reason, squirrels love to chew the cables. The result is that the shield inside the cable gets cut making the center copper wire vulnurable to interference.

The cable company sent a full team to change all the wires running from the street box to all houses in the neigbourhood. Since then, no more problem.
 
flyingbronco05
Posts: 3484
Joined: Fri May 10, 2002 11:43 am

RE: Cable Internet Problem

Sun Jan 02, 2005 5:14 am

We have Charter Communications.

We can get SBC Yahoo! DSL, but it's actually more money with the phone line and internet service.
Never Trust Your Fuel Gauge
 
nwajetset
Posts: 137
Joined: Wed Dec 01, 2004 3:35 am

RE: Cable Internet Problem

Sun Jan 02, 2005 12:17 pm

I'm in Michigan too, this happens at least daily. When it does, I pull the power plug out from the back of the modem, wait a minute or two, and reconnect it. The modem resets itself and it almost always works on the first try. Make sure all lights on modem are lit. This is how you know it's back online. If this doesn't work, disconnect/unscrew the cable itself and do the same. I have never had this not work within 2 tries. Good Luck!
 
CaptOveur
Posts: 6064
Joined: Thu May 06, 2004 3:13 am

RE: Cable Internet Problem

Sun Jan 02, 2005 1:48 pm

I had the EXACT same problem a few months ago. I even went through a few cable guys coming out and looking at the problem and got a new modem, through all this the problem persisted.

Finally, I had a competent cable guy come out, he did some poking around outside and found one of the outside wires had been badly abused and had the conductor broken. He replaced the wire, the internet started working again and the picture on the TV got a thousand times better (but it is still shitty, because it is cable).

If they piss you off enough get a DSL with the phone company and get satellite TV, that is what my parents did and the DSL is every bit as good as my cable.
Things were better when it was two guys in a dorm room.
 
flyingbronco05
Posts: 3484
Joined: Fri May 10, 2002 11:43 am

RE: Cable Internet Problem

Sun Jan 02, 2005 11:06 pm

When it does, I pull the power plug out from the back of the modem, wait a minute or two, and reconnect it. The modem resets itself and it almost always works on the first try. Make sure all lights on modem are lit. This is how you know it's back online. If this doesn't work, disconnect/unscrew the cable itself and do the same.

Reseting the modem does NOTHING. I have to unplug the modem, then go into the living room and unscrew all the cables coming from the cable jack, screw them back in, then plug my modem in.
Never Trust Your Fuel Gauge
 
air2gxs
Posts: 1443
Joined: Mon Jun 18, 2001 1:29 pm

RE: Cable Internet Problem

Mon Jan 03, 2005 12:39 am

I had the same problem. The cable guy checked the drop to the house and found that I was receiveing a low strength signal. He ran a new cable, with a thicker, heavy duty insulator. Haven't had the problem since.

As a note, when he checked at the modem, the signal was marginal. When he checked at the drop, he found it was way out of tolerance. Apparently the powered splitter/amp I have installed in the house raised the signal to a level which the modem could use occasionally.

When describing my problem to him, he asked if my digital cable was a problem. I mentioned to him that occasionally I could not get anything on the on-demand side of the digital system. He went right outside and tested the drop to the house. It was bad.
 
nwajetset
Posts: 137
Joined: Wed Dec 01, 2004 3:35 am

RE: Cable Internet Problem

Mon Jan 03, 2005 3:10 pm

Bronco,
Now don't get frustrated and yell sweetie, I'm just trying to help you. Do tell, why are you running all over the house plugging and unscrewing? There is a power outlet right in the back of your modem. no? I don't mean unplug it from the wall, pull it out of the back of the modem. Follow? One end is plugged into the wall, at the other end of this cord is ? Voila! There should be three (holes, outlets) on the backside of your modem. One is the cable port, one is for the power, and the other is for your USB connection. Instead of unscrewing your cable from the wall, do it there. And lastly, after rereading your post, you can have every cable guy in KZoo stop by, but your problem is the spiltter. I guarantee you need a direct cable line. When you split your line, is isn't powerful enough to pull an internet modem.
 
flyingbronco05
Posts: 3484
Joined: Fri May 10, 2002 11:43 am

RE: Cable Internet Problem

Mon Jan 03, 2005 11:48 pm

I have tried just unplugging the modem from the back, and that does not help. The ONLY thing that resets the modem is to unplug it from the wall then unscrew the cables from the living room.

I would like to think the Cable guys are smart enough to know its not the splitter. They test all the cables in here and my modem and they are all ok.

I still believe the problem is outside.

They should be here soon so I'll update you all.
Never Trust Your Fuel Gauge
 
ybacpa
Posts: 1080
Joined: Thu Mar 01, 2001 5:39 am

RE: Cable Internet Problem

Mon Jan 03, 2005 11:58 pm

Flyingbronco05,

This might sound a little odd, but does it seem to happen about the same time you have weather there, particularily wind or snow? It could be the line from your house to the telephone pole is stretching, weakening the signal. This is particularily a problem if your cable line is more than a few years old. Ultimately, the only fix is to replace the wire. I had this problem when I moved into my current house, and, even though the cable company told me what the problem was on the first visit, they insisted on adjusting the tension in the wire every few months. Finally they did just replace the whole run (it only took about 20 minutes to do... why they didn't just do that in the first place I'll never know); I haven't had a single problem since then.

Good luck,
-yb

PS- also check if you have branches or vines on the wire, or animals running across it.
SkyTeam: The alliance for third rate airlines finally getting their act together!
 
CaptOveur
Posts: 6064
Joined: Thu May 06, 2004 3:13 am

RE: Cable Internet Problem

Tue Jan 04, 2005 2:56 am

Do you have gold plated connectors on your CATV wires?

If yes, get rid of them. The cable guys say they are a magnent for electronic noise and could account for some of your probable low signal problems. They attract more problems than you would expect. Also, get rid of push on connectors and go for screw on connectors, they reduce noise as well.
Things were better when it was two guys in a dorm room.
 
flyingbronco05
Posts: 3484
Joined: Fri May 10, 2002 11:43 am

RE: Cable Internet Problem

Tue Jan 04, 2005 5:06 am

The cable guys came and discovered the problem. Seems the only wire they never "fixed" the last 3 times they replaced the cables was the one having the problems. Something was wrong with the connecter and it was touching other wires, basically grounding out the connection.

FB05
Never Trust Your Fuel Gauge
 
flyingbronco05
Posts: 3484
Joined: Fri May 10, 2002 11:43 am

RE: Cable Internet Problem

Sat Jan 15, 2005 10:51 pm

Hey I'm back. As you know from the post reply above, the company "fixed" my internet. It was perfect for exactly 6 days, then dropped off line 5 times in an hour on Wednesday and 19 times in a 24 hour period. I called them and they came out yesterday (Friday) and "fixed" it again. Well this morning when I woke up, my internet was down again! Angry

So lets recap:

They have re-wired our apartment 4 times now.
Replaced all the splitters 3 times.
Replaced 4 cable connectors 3 times (all different ones)
Replaced the wall jack.
3 modems have been involved.

HELP! I'm sick of this! What can I do?!  Angry

[Edited 2005-01-15 14:53:59]
Never Trust Your Fuel Gauge
 
air2gxs
Posts: 1443
Joined: Mon Jun 18, 2001 1:29 pm

RE: Cable Internet Problem

Sat Jan 15, 2005 10:54 pm

They need to look at the drop (feed to the apartment building).
 
flyingbronco05
Posts: 3484
Joined: Fri May 10, 2002 11:43 am

RE: Cable Internet Problem

Sat Jan 15, 2005 10:59 pm

I keep asking if it's something from the outside and they always say their numbers are ok. This is really pissing me off  Angry


Can anybody here read modem logs?

[Edited 2005-01-15 15:01:40]
Never Trust Your Fuel Gauge
 
yokohama1970
Posts: 196
Joined: Tue Jul 13, 2004 3:50 pm

RE: Cable Internet Problem

Sun Jan 16, 2005 8:58 am

You have seen the Overhead or Underground Coaxial Drop Cable replaced? You have seen the Splitter, all fittings & "house-wrap" Coaxial Cable replaced? Are your cable lines "home-run" or "loop-through?" Home-run is a continuous cable run from the splitter to the cable tv or HSI jack (A-B). A loop-through uses multiple splitters & is not a continuous run.

If all the cables, fittings, splitter, wallplates & modem have been replaced, then it has to be the Network. I suspect a bad Line Extender, bad tap or tap port, "suck-out", hardline fitting or perhaps a bad section of Feeder/Hardline. Especially, if you never had a problem & then whammo!

As a Field Tech/Service Tech, if I replaced all drop cables, fittings, the splitter, wallplates & HSI Modem, then I would turn it over to Network Ops. I was a Cable TV Field Tech for Time Warner Cable in Monroeville, PA (now Adelphia) for 2 years. I moved to Phoenix, AZ & was a Cox Field Tech/Service Tech for almost 6 years. I am now a LAN Technician/PC Tech.

Do you have Digital Cable? If not, do you have Analog Cable? If so, when you there is an HSI outage, does you cable TV reception go bad? Especially Digital Cable, does it "tile?"

My concern is that the Charter Field/Service Tech is not asking one of their Network Ops/Maintenance Line Techs for help or referring/turning over the Service Call. I always made sure to replace everything from pole or ped to tv/modem. If there was no solution, I would call one of the Network/Maint. Techs & ask for help. It was always easier to show the Maintenance Techs the repairs I made, where I took readings & what signal levels I documented.

Best of luck & hope I didn't confuse you to much? You should have some info, so that you may actively verify that the correct action is being taken by Charter.

Tom

http://stuffo.howstuffworks.com/cable-tv.htm
Thank You Derek! Good Luck with the LA Dodgers
 
yokohama1970
Posts: 196
Joined: Tue Jul 13, 2004 3:50 pm

RE: Cable Internet Problem

Sun Jan 16, 2005 9:10 am

Thank You Derek! Good Luck with the LA Dodgers
 
flyingbronco05
Posts: 3484
Joined: Fri May 10, 2002 11:43 am

RE: Cable Internet Problem

Sun Jan 16, 2005 11:27 am

Yokohama1970

I have a loop through. I have seen the cables in the apartment, along with the jack and splitters get replaced. I have never witnessed myself them taking measurements outside.

My modem keeps logging "T3 TIMEOUTS." What are those?
Never Trust Your Fuel Gauge
 
yokohama1970
Posts: 196
Joined: Tue Jul 13, 2004 3:50 pm

RE: Cable Internet Problem

Sun Jan 16, 2005 8:30 pm

Is your apartment a large Multiple Dwelling Unit (Dozen + units), townhome/duplex or split-level large house? I am trying to determine where the cable would enter the dwelling & if Cable TV taps, amplifiers & Line Extenders might be on site. I still suspect Network Distibution, "bad tap port", Line Extender, Loose hard line fitting, "scored" center conductor, etc...

Most 750mhz Cable systems have a Forward Data Carrier=FDC (Downstream) & a Return Data Carrier=RDC (Upstream). Those are the specific frequencies that the Field/Service Tech should be reading with their Signal Level Meter (SLM). In the Cox Phoenix system, I would read FDC 75.500 MHz & document the signal level. Next I would read the RDC 16.000 MHz & document the signal level. There are 4 main spots to check SLM's. Input cable to Set-Top Box/Analog Cable in or Modem input, output of each Splitter port/Ground Block, input to Splitter/Ground Block & Tap port(s) in Ped or Pole.

If any of those frequencies were out of range, then I would troubleshoot from each Cable Outlet & the HSI Data Jack. I would replace all Jumper Cables, Cat5 Cables, Wallplates/barrel splices, Splitter(s)/Ground Block, "house-wrap" Coaxial Cable runs, Overhead or Underground Drop Cable & all Cable Fittings.

A good Service/Field Tech has updated system maps & can verify acceptable system levels for each LE, AMP & Node. These CATV Blueprint system maps show every piece of the Network Distribution for the entire CATV system. Of course, they are broken down in Map Grids. I believe these may now be on a hard drive, which may be on the Field Techs' laptop. Don't quote me on this, though, I left Cox 3+ years ago. In retrospect, I should have stayed. However, the long work hours & fixed work schedule made it impossible for me to Get IT certified (A+, Network+ & CCNA).

As for the "T3 TIMEOUTS", I would need to know your specific Brand, Make & Model of the Cable Modem. Typically a modem "timeout" occurs when the Modem is unable to establish connectivity with the FDC & RDC.


Sorry to be so long, but you should have all the info possible. You are getting shafted!

I would say switch to DSL, but there is the distance issue & cost! For similar Broadband speed, it would be very expensive. The base DSL price is reasonable, but the taxes are outrages! You can thank Uncle Sam, States & Local for that one. Besides, you must have Basic or Local Calling Plan Landline to have DSL. Make sure to factor in that cost. I don't have a Landline, just SprintPCS. I had a Landline with Qwest for 6 months & never used it! Didn't stop the telemarketers from leaving me messages, though.

Tom

http://computer.howstuffworks.com/cable-modem1.htm
Thank You Derek! Good Luck with the LA Dodgers
 
air2gxs
Posts: 1443
Joined: Mon Jun 18, 2001 1:29 pm

RE: Cable Internet Problem

Sun Jan 16, 2005 9:15 pm

Do this (warning: may be illegal or against cable company rules):

Buy a length of good quality cable. Start where the cable enters your apartment. Disconnect there and run directly to your computer (you are making a "home-run" through your apartment). Problem solved? Tell the cable company what fixed your problem. Not solved? Move to the input to the building. This may present a problem because you probably share a common feed. Find the feed to your apartment and plug in. Fixed or not? Tell the cable company. Your next stop would be the drop if you have overhead, but that would require ladders and is most definetly against the rules.

And before anyone says it, this is the cable company's job, but apparently you're not having any satisfaction.
 
flyingbronco05
Posts: 3484
Joined: Fri May 10, 2002 11:43 am

RE: Cable Internet Problem

Sun Jan 16, 2005 11:36 pm

Yokohama1970

I'm an apartment complex. 8 apartments per building, and there are 6 buildings, not attached to each other. I am on the top floor. The cable "box system" is behind my apartment by the street.

I have a Motorola SURFboard5100 modem.

Here are a few logs..........

2005-01-16 09:20:45 3-Critical 0x04E33B3C Unicast Ranging Received Abort Response - Re- initializing MAC

2005-01-16 09:20:23 3-Critical 0x04E33948 No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out

2005-01-16 09:20:10 3-Critical 0x04E33B3C Unicast Ranging Received Abort Response - Re- initializing MAC

2005-01-16 09:18:50 3-Critical 0x04E33948 No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out

It repeats that 100 times, all for today, the 16th

Other than that, I have no idea what you were saying Laugh out loud
Never Trust Your Fuel Gauge
 
yokohama1970
Posts: 196
Joined: Tue Jul 13, 2004 3:50 pm

RE: Cable Internet Problem

Mon Jan 17, 2005 5:46 pm

Sorry about that! I got carried away. I would copy/paste your 5100 Modem Log & e-mail it to Charter Tech-Support. Follow up the e-mail with a phone call to Charter Tech Support. Have them take a look at your Modem Log with you on the line. I found a forum with others who have been through the same Broadband hell as you.

Try http://support2.charter.com/support/asp/start.asp & click on the "Contact Us" link & send the e-mail with Modem Log to Tech Support. I suppose you are calling the High Speed Data @ 1-800-545-8926. Make sure you are firm about speaking with a Tech Support Rep.

Also try http://dslrcs.clanspace.com/forum/remark,8730728~mode=flat to see that you are not alone. Good luck!

Tom
Thank You Derek! Good Luck with the LA Dodgers

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: lewis, pu, WarRI1 and 37 guests