LOT767-300ER
Topic Author
Posts: 8526
Joined: Mon Jan 01, 2001 12:57 pm

Unlocking Motorola V600

Tue Jan 25, 2005 10:53 am

Just a quick question here.

Does anyone know how to/or can unlock a V600 for free? I know its possible to do it for a fee on several UK websites and I even found a place near my house but I really dont feel like paying (And im going to have to anyways most likely) Pisses me off that ATT wont unlock its phone for Cingular when they are owned by them now (I realize they would unlock it for everyone else too)

Any help would be appreciated
 
TUNisia
Posts: 1515
Joined: Thu Aug 19, 2004 3:24 am

RE: Unlocking Motorola V600

Tue Jan 25, 2005 11:35 am

e-mail: simunlockcode@cingular.com
Someday the sun will shine down on me in some faraway place - Mahalia Jackson
 
LOT767-300ER
Topic Author
Posts: 8526
Joined: Mon Jan 01, 2001 12:57 pm

RE: Unlocking Motorola V600

Tue Jan 25, 2005 11:52 am

Question is, will they do it or do i have to beg and pay them to do it because its a ATT Wireless phone

Wouldnt you have to mail ATT because its their phone with the IMEI?

BTW I dunno if i should give a shot to those Ebay software programs too

[Edited 2005-01-25 03:58:51]
 
mNeo
Posts: 718
Joined: Fri Mar 26, 2004 8:12 am

RE: Unlocking Motorola V600

Tue Jan 25, 2005 12:06 pm

Welcome to the V600 family. I have tried Alot of ways to unlock my ATT v600 but all of them have to pay for it. I havent tried with cingular yet, but ATT wanted $20 to unlock.
Powered by Maina
 
Newark777
Posts: 8284
Joined: Thu Dec 02, 2004 6:23 am

RE: Unlocking Motorola V600

Tue Jan 25, 2005 12:08 pm

What are you guys talking about with "unlocking" your phone?

Harry
Why grab a Heine when you can grab a Busch?
 
LOT767-300ER
Topic Author
Posts: 8526
Joined: Mon Jan 01, 2001 12:57 pm

RE: Unlocking Motorola V600

Tue Jan 25, 2005 1:16 pm

Harry,

Many US carriers put a lock on their phones IMEI number which they issue which restricts the phone use to that netork. IE if i have an ATT Phone i can only use it on the ATT Network. However, an unlocked phone (Most Cingular phones come unlocked unlike ATT and Tmobile) can be used on any network just by switching the SIM Card (also internationally)

MNeo: Where did you go/call to get it done for $20 at ATT? I just went to an ATT store and they wouldnt do it for me.
 
emiratesa345
Posts: 2043
Joined: Thu Jun 05, 2003 10:11 am

RE: Unlocking Motorola V600

Tue Jan 25, 2005 1:20 pm

"...but ATT wanted $20 to unlock."

I have an idea.

Stop being such a cheapass, and pay the $20. There. Problem solved.

Mark  Laugh out loud
You and I were meant to fly, Air Canada!
 
LOT767-300ER
Topic Author
Posts: 8526
Joined: Mon Jan 01, 2001 12:57 pm

RE: Unlocking Motorola V600

Tue Jan 25, 2005 1:47 pm

I dont think you can through ATT, and if you can someone tell me how.
 
TUNisia
Posts: 1515
Joined: Thu Aug 19, 2004 3:24 am

RE: Unlocking Motorola V600

Tue Jan 25, 2005 1:58 pm

Newark, this is for GSM phones so that you can use another providers SIM card.

LOT, just e-mail cingular at that address with your IMEI # and you should be all set. T-Mobile is the only US carrier that officially unlocks their phones for customers, but I've heard that if you e-mail cingular at that address you will get a response.
Someday the sun will shine down on me in some faraway place - Mahalia Jackson
 
LOT767-300ER
Topic Author
Posts: 8526
Joined: Mon Jan 01, 2001 12:57 pm

RE: Unlocking Motorola V600

Tue Jan 25, 2005 2:12 pm

TUNisia:

Yep, i emailed cingular with the IMEI# Im also going to a cellular store see if they will do it tomorrow through my Polish connections  Laugh out loud

So ive read that T-Mobile is generous enough to do that
 
LOT767-300ER
Topic Author
Posts: 8526
Joined: Mon Jan 01, 2001 12:57 pm

RE: Unlocking Motorola V600

Wed Jan 26, 2005 4:11 am

Just a small followup..

I unlocked it at Alliance Communications here in Arlington Hts, IL for $15. Some indian guy did it in like 10 mins.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Baidu [Spider], csturdiv, meecrob and 20 guests