Douglas DC-9
Topic Author

Why Is Diesel So Expensive?

Thu Feb 10, 2005 2:35 pm

Why is DIESEL so expensive? I'm an owner/operator trucker and these fuel bills are killing me! Here in Wisconsin it's currently $2.07 for diesel and $1.98 for regular! And that 2.07 REALLY adds up when you've got 350 gallons of diesel in your two fuel tanks and get 2-4 miles to a gallon (on a good day)! Why is it so expensive? It is cheaper to make, and the demand for it is less then gasoline, so why the high prices?

Thanks Much,
DC-9-32

Springbok747

RE: Why Is Diesel So Expensive?

Thu Feb 10, 2005 3:47 pm

It is cheaper to make, and the demand for it is less then gasoline.

Uh...I thought diesel is in more demand than petrol. I'm assuming this because most of the trucks and other heavy equipment are diesel vehicles, and they have huge tanks...so diesel is being used up faster than petrol.
אני תומך בישראל

Dash8King

Thu Feb 10, 2005 3:57 pm

Not sure but in Canada it is cheaper.

dogfighter2111

Thu Feb 10, 2005 4:01 pm

Across here, depending on where you go, you can get it a lot cheaper than Petrol although a car doesn't use as much Diesel as it would Petrol.

Dog

UTA_flyinghigh

Thu Feb 10, 2005 5:04 pm

It is actually more expensive to refine diesel than regular unleaded.
It pollutes more too, so IMHO it should even be more expensive !

UTA
Fly to live, live to fly - Air France/KLM Flying Blue Platinum, BMI Diamond Club Gold, Emirates Skywards

Kay

Thu Feb 10, 2005 5:30 pm

Didn't know Diesel was more expensive in the US??

It sure is the opposite in Europe. Kind of discourages you of liking cars and wanting to buy one. Unless they find a way to make Diesel engines rev happily to 8000, and not sound like a Beetle on idle (the first beetle).

Fuel is sooooooooooooo expensive in Europe!!!! :'(((

Kay

rindt

Thu Feb 10, 2005 5:37 pm

And here I was thinking he was gonna talk about Diesel Jeans. LOL.