UAL747
Topic Author

How Did You Learn A Foreign Language?

Thu Sep 08, 2005 2:33 am

I've always admired Europeans for their language skills. It's so interesting that there are so many different languages in an area with relative size to the United States. Anyway, to my point, how did you learn your foriegn language skills? Was it by being exposed to a foreign language in daily life, the classroom, or that you just have the interest. I speak 3 languages, well, 2 fluently, (French and English) and I speak fundamental Mandarin Chinese. In fact, I just used my Chinese a minute ago when the Chinese food delivery lady came to my door. We chatted a bit in Mandarin, she is from Taipei.

Back my point, I learned French by studying in school from a young age. I speak French rather fluently. I studied Mandarin in college, and I spent time living in Beijing, studying at Beijing Shou Du Da Xue (Beijing Capital University).

Secondly, I need to brush up on my Mandarin skills. Does anyone have any recommendations? It's rare that you find someone in Oklahoma City who speaks it, unless you go to the Asian district. Often times, and I know this sounds weird, I have conversations with myself in French and Chinese, just to keep the skills up. For instance, I went to Home Depot two days ago and I made myself talk about what I wanted in French. LOL, the reaction to ANY foreign speaker in OK is funny. People look at you when you speak French and ask you where you are from. Sometimes I do it just to make people feel weird. But, seriously, I need to keep my language skills in check. What do you do to stay fluent?

UAL
"Bangkok Tower, United 890 Heavy. Bangkok Tower, United 890 Heavy.....Okay, fine, we'll just turn 190 and Visual Our Way

dtwclipper

RE: How Did You Learn A Foreign Language?

Thu Sep 08, 2005 2:40 am

Quoting UAL747 (Thread starter):