rossbaku

Airline Jobs And RAF

Mon Jan 23, 2006 2:16 am

Hey guys,

I'm a dilemma. Can someone please clarify the following points to me? I'll firstly explain my background:

I have 8 Standard Grade Qualifications at Credit level 1 in:

Mathematics, English, Physics, Chemistry, Biology, French, Modern Studies and Computing Studies.

I am currently studying 5 Highers in:

Physics, English, Mathematics, Chemistry and Computing Studies.

What I want to know is that if I applied to be a pilot in the RAF flying Hercules etc. would I be siphoned out because my eyesight is not 20/20?

Also, is the minimum age for airlines employing you into any job 19?

Many thanks for help guys!

RossBaku  Silly

saintsman

RE: Airline Jobs And RAF

Mon Jan 23, 2006 4:42 am

I've seen plenty of pilots with glasses (and some who need them).

Don't worry about it. Call you local careers office and make an appointment.

Matt72033

Mon Jan 23, 2006 5:25 am

Quoting Rossbaku (Thread starter):
What I want to know is that if I applied to be a pilot in the RAF flying Hercules etc. would I be siphoned out because my eyesight is not 20/20?

yes most probably!

Quoting Rossbaku (Thread starter):
Also, is the minimum age for airlines employing you into any job 19?

no....not at all!

TheSorcerer

Mon Jan 23, 2006 5:50 am

There was a careers fair at my school a couple of months ago and the recruiter there from the RAF said that they get 1000s of applications each year (applying to be pilots) and only 30-50 people are accepted each year. She said that they're not looking for reason to hire you but looking for reasons not to hire you. It's extremely difficult to get in and your eyesight would most likely be a reason for rejection.
Good luck with your Highers btw, I'm doing my standard grades in May.
Dominic
ALITALIA,All Landings In Torino, All Luggage In Athens ;)

BDKLEZ

Mon Jan 23, 2006 5:58 am