norcal
Posts: 1507
Joined: Sun Mar 20, 2005 1:44 am

Do I Need A Power Converter?

Mon Feb 27, 2006 3:07 am

I am going to Europe in a few months and I was wondering if I need a power converter for my digital camera and my iPod? My digital camera charger says that it is rated from 100-240 volts and I have no idea what voltage an iPod charger uses.
 
BR076
Posts: 1032
Joined: Mon May 02, 2005 4:10 am

RE: Do I Need A Power Converter?

Mon Feb 27, 2006 3:26 am

Europe uses 220 Volts, so you are safe without a converter. these days all electronice equipment can handle most voltages.
ú
 
User avatar
KaiGywer
Crew
Posts: 11182
Joined: Sun Oct 26, 2003 9:59 am

RE: Do I Need A Power Converter?

Mon Feb 27, 2006 3:32 am

Most likely the chargers accept 110-240V, but the plug is different. So you won't need a power converter, just a plug converter, which is really cheap.
“Once you have tasted flight, you will forever walk the earth with your eyes turned skyward, for there you have been, an
 
Go3Team
Posts: 3156
Joined: Sun Mar 14, 2004 1:19 am

RE: Do I Need A Power Converter?

Mon Feb 27, 2006 4:12 am

If the Ipod charger dosn't indicate voltage input, I would be a little leery about not using an converter with it. With all the crap I take with me overseas, having one helps.
Yay Pudding!
 
A319XFW
Posts: 1519
Joined: Thu Nov 03, 2005 5:41 am

RE: Do I Need A Power Converter?

Mon Feb 27, 2006 4:16 am

Also don't forget that Europe is 50 Hz frequency and the US is 60 Hz frequency.
 
norcal
Posts: 1507
Joined: Sun Mar 20, 2005 1:44 am

RE: Do I Need A Power Converter?

Mon Feb 27, 2006 4:37 am

Quoting A319XFW (Reply 4):
Also don't forget that Europe is 50 Hz frequency and the US is 60 Hz frequency.

Yeah the camera charger says it can do 50-60 Hz so that isn't a problem

thanks for the help
 
eilennaei
Posts: 1003
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2004 8:41 am

RE: Do I Need A Power Converter?

Mon Feb 27, 2006 4:43 am

Quoting BR076 (Reply 1):
Europe uses 220 Volts

This has been officially 230V for years thoughout Europe, including the U.K. The physical plug will vary by the country, however. http://www.yung-li.com.tw/EN/info/ww_specifications.htm

50 or 60 Hz presents no problem for any devices any longer.
 
norcal
Posts: 1507
Joined: Sun Mar 20, 2005 1:44 am

RE: Do I Need A Power Converter?

Mon Feb 27, 2006 5:05 am

Anybody have the stats on the iPod?

Any recommendations on a plug adapter?

[Edited 2006-02-26 21:11:16]
 
Klaus
Posts: 20596
Joined: Wed Jul 11, 2001 7:41 am

RE: Do I Need A Power Converter?

Mon Feb 27, 2006 5:11 am

Apple does. The specs for the power adapter are on their site. But I'm rather certain it will have no problem with either power level.
 
COIAHLGW
Posts: 156
Joined: Thu Dec 18, 2003 10:11 am

RE: Do I Need A Power Converter?

Mon Feb 27, 2006 7:19 am

Expensive.... but will work just about anywhere with anything...

http://www.mobileplanet.com/product.asp?code=117159

I have one, and worked great last year. Even with an ipod adapter. As long as your power adapter says that it works with 240 volts, you will be good.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: DarkSnowyNight, MaverickM11 and 18 guests