BDKLEZ
Topic Author

History Lessons In US Schools.

Wed Apr 05, 2006 6:56 am

I was speaking to someone a while back who used to be a teacher in Florida and I was amazed when she told me that the only history taught in her school was that of the USA and none other.

Now, in my school, I studied Irish history, Russian history, British history, European history and the history of medecine, all of which have left me in a rather informed position regarding certain world events, because as I know the history behind something, then I'm in a better position to understand current events and how they could possibly have come about whether or not they are morally justifiable or otherwise.

Is this true of all US schools, or is this just in Florida, or is it up to the individual school/county?

I'd be intrigued to find out becuase personally, I don't have a lot of time for folks who comment on issues in the present but at the same time have no comprehension of the past and how things have developed into what they have done.

wave 
Trespassers will be shot; survivors will be shot again!

AirPacific747

RE: History Lessons In US Schools.

Wed Apr 05, 2006 7:01 am

Quoting BDKLEZ (Thread starter):
I was speaking to someone a while back who used to be a teacher in Florida and I was amazed when she told me that the only history taught in her school was that of the USA and none other.

I think most countries focus on their own history, and yes I have been taught about Europe's history too, but we skipped world war 1 since denmark wasn't involved in it. The only reason why I know something about world war 1 was because I have been studying on a canadian highschool

Dougloid

Wed Apr 05, 2006 7:03 am

I would check that person. It sounds to me like they were (pick one)

a) pulling your leg
b) talking out their ass
c) a Florida cracker
d) member of the Knownothing party