Dougloid
Topic Author
Posts: 7248
Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2005 2:44 am

Adobe Photoshop Question

Tue May 09, 2006 6:44 am

I went to an auction and bought a box of stuff which included an unopened Adobe Photoshop 4.0 upgrade. I figured because it was for W95 I could use it, but I found out I needed a serial number.

I went to a website that promised it and they tried to mug my computer with five or six trojan horses, a redirect to a porno site and over 100 spyware archives. AVG Free was on the job so I dodged that bullet.

Is there any way I can get a serial number to load it, principled or otherwise?
If you believe in coincidence, you haven't looked close enough-Joe Leaphorn
 
airwave
Posts: 1105
Joined: Tue Mar 21, 2006 3:42 am

RE: Adobe Photoshop Question

Tue May 09, 2006 7:43 am

Well, if it is, as you said, a Photoshop 4.0 upgrade, you would need the core program of 3.0 or so for it to be at all useful; upgrades generally don't work standalone.

Of course, if it is the full 4.0 program, then you should be alright. As far as obtaining the serial goes, perhaps dropping a line to Adobe explaining the situation (legitimately purchased at auction, &c) will get you the numbers you need. It's worth a shot at least.

Airwave  eyebrow 
When you do things right, people won't be sure you've done anything at all.
 
NoUFO
Posts: 7397
Joined: Tue Apr 17, 2001 7:40 am

RE: Adobe Photoshop Question

Tue May 09, 2006 8:19 am

Quoting Dougloid (Thread starter):
but I found out I needed a serial number.

You'll find the serial number on the box as well as on the registration card you can send back to Adobe (if you are so keen on giving your address away). It should start with PWW40 or similar.

But as said before, you need to install Photoshop 3.0 first.

Quoting Dougloid (Thread starter):
I went to a website that promised it and they tried to mug my computer with five or six trojan horses

Doesn't come as surprise. What do you expect from criminals?  Silly

Quoting Airwave (Reply 1):
Of course, if it is the full 4.0 program, then you should be alright. As far as obtaining the serial goes, perhaps dropping a line to Adobe explaining the situation (legitimately purchased at auction, &c) will get you the numbers you need.

No chance, really. All those "I lost my serial #, please help" mails go right into the trash can.
I support the right to arm bears
 
Dougloid
Topic Author
Posts: 7248
Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2005 2:44 am

RE: Adobe Photoshop Question

Tue May 09, 2006 8:59 am

Well the disk says Installation disk. I guess they need the serial number from the predecessor item...oh well, off to ebay.

By the way, AVG Free did an excellent job.
If you believe in coincidence, you haven't looked close enough-Joe Leaphorn
 
airwave
Posts: 1105
Joined: Tue Mar 21, 2006 3:42 am

RE: Adobe Photoshop Question

Tue May 09, 2006 9:53 am

Quoting NoUFO (Reply 2):
No chance, really. All those "I lost my serial #, please help" mails go right into the trash can.

Ehh...it was worth a shot, lol...or not.  Silly

Quoting Dougloid (Reply 3):
AVG Free did an excellent job.

I have it too and I love it. Combine it with Zone Alarm and Spy Sweeper and one or two others and I don't think anything gets through or sticks around for long.

Airwave  eyebrow 
When you do things right, people won't be sure you've done anything at all.
 
syncmaster
Posts: 1926
Joined: Mon Jul 15, 2002 9:55 am

RE: Adobe Photoshop Question

Tue May 09, 2006 10:33 am

You do realize that the current version of Photoshop is CS2 (9), right?
 
Dougloid
Topic Author
Posts: 7248
Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2005 2:44 am

RE: Adobe Photoshop Question

Tue May 09, 2006 1:03 pm

Quoting Syncmaster (Reply 5):
You do realize that the current version of Photoshop is CS2 (9), right?

Yeah, I do but this is sort of a "computing on the cheap" project. It's an IBM 2174 Aptiva that I tinker with and try to do everything on the cheap. It's sort of a Zen thing.

The hard drive is a 120gb number that came out of a dead TiVo receiver. The DVD/RW drive that is going to go in also came from a TiVo receiver. So far I've scrounged about $180 worth of parts from the TiVo.

The SIMMs were bought on the used market for $6 each and I ended up with 384 mb of ram for $24. Microsoft gives you a nice for free memory module checking utility. The 833 MHZ Athlon came off Fleabay for $30.

See, if you stay about three steps behind the technology curve you can have a lot of fun computing on the cheap.

I'm only out six bucks anyway.
If you believe in coincidence, you haven't looked close enough-Joe Leaphorn

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: airtechy, atcsundevil, Baidu [Spider] and 12 guests