Joni
Topic Author

Ecosystem Collapse By 2050? -BBC

Tue Oct 24, 2006 4:24 pm

This is nothing that isn't yet known and hasn't been known for a long time, however still precious little is being done about it as planners still look at growth rates in economies as something to maximize.

http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/science/nature/6077798.stm

Luckily I don't have children, and by 2050 I'll be over 70 years old, with any luck too demented to even notice. Pity about the others, though.

captaink

RE: Ecosystem Collapse By 2050? -BBC

Tue Oct 24, 2006 5:00 pm

It is scary stuff man. I mean what are we doing to our planet? I am studying Environmental Science, and it is sad to see how we have ignored our planet over the years.
There is something special about planes....

ANCFlyer

Tue Oct 24, 2006 5:27 pm

Quoting Joni (Thread starter):

Thread title is a Misnomer . . . . while the article is aired by the BBC, it's written by the World Wildlife Federation.

So, it's immediately biased, heavily so. So put it in perspective. I'd also recommend the thread title be changed, as this is giving the onus to the BBC when in fact, they aren't responsible.

That said:

Some good points.

Our consumables are disappearing at an alarming rate. We NEED an immediate alternate fuel source that can displace crude oil. However, since the oil industry has every major country begging for more and is in the pockets of many world leaders, that is going to be a damned hard thing to accomplish.

We need skylights to let in sunlight so we can turn off lights, we need better insulation so we can turn down the thermostats, we need solar panels to heat our hot water, we need to recycle our waste.

I do think 2050 is a bit silly, over ambitious, but hey, the World Wildlife Federation is known for it's alarmist uber-environmental, almost Green Peace like, rhetoric anyway.
FOR THOSE THAT FOUGHT FOR IT, FREEDOM HAS A FLAVOR THE PROTECTED WILL NEVER KNOW OR UNDERSTAND

SInGAPORE_AIR