2H4
Topic Author
Posts: 7960
Joined: Tue Oct 19, 2004 11:11 pm

Flashblock Add-On For Firefox

Sun Feb 04, 2007 10:28 am



So, I've got Flashblock installed for Firefox. It works great most of the time, but for some reason, it's letting Yahoo Flash banners through:

http://i15.tinypic.com/40f58bs.jpg


When I right-click on the banner, it doesn't give me the option to remove or block the Flash:



Question #1: Is there anything I can do to ensure NO flash gets through? I've got the most recent update for Flashblock, and I've got Adblock Plus installed.

Question #2: On most Flash ads, the banners are blocked, and look like this:

http://i19.tinypic.com/4hu7jf8.jpg


Is there any add-on that disables every Flash banner of a specified size at a given site, including the option to even play the Flash?

Thanks in advance for any help or advice.


2H4


Intentionally Left Blank
 
AeroWesty
Posts: 19551
Joined: Sat Oct 30, 2004 7:37 am

RE: Flashblock Add-On For Firefox

Sun Feb 04, 2007 6:20 pm

Quoting 2H4 (Thread starter):
Question #1: Is there anything I can do to ensure NO flash gets through? I've got the most recent update for Flashblock, and I've got Adblock Plus installed.

On a Mac, you could simply go to the Internet Plug-ins folder and remove the Flash plug-ins. Is there something similar on the PC you could do? Then you wouldn't even need Flashblock, I would think.
International Homo of Mystery
 
kaddyuk
Posts: 3697
Joined: Thu Nov 08, 2001 1:04 am

RE: Flashblock Add-On For Firefox

Sun Feb 04, 2007 6:25 pm

Quoting AeroWesty (Reply 1):
On a Mac, you could simply go to the Internet Plug-ins folder and remove the Flash plug-ins. Is there something similar on the PC you could do? Then you wouldn't even need Flashblock, I would think.

Alot of websites have flash navigation bars...
Whoever said "laughter is the best medicine" never had Gonorrhea
 
NoUFO
Posts: 7397
Joined: Tue Apr 17, 2001 7:40 am

RE: Flashblock Add-On For Firefox

Sun Feb 04, 2007 6:33 pm

Quoting AeroWesty (Reply 1):
On a Mac, you could simply go to the Internet Plug-ins folder and remove the Flash plug-ins. Is there something similar on the PC you could do? Then you wouldn't even need Flashblock, I would think.

Same goes for the PC.
Then again you can neither watch YouTube videos nor beautiful websites like this:
http://www.ashesandsnow.org/ (Enhanced / Explore)
or this
http://www.lifethroughtime.com/ (start the journey)

And there are a lot more.

Quoting 2H4 (Thread starter):
It works great most of the time, but for some reason, it's letting Yahoo Flash banners through:

Hm, are you sure it wasn't an animated GIF or a Flash movie that already was in your browser cache?
I support the right to arm bears
 
AeroWesty
Posts: 19551
Joined: Sat Oct 30, 2004 7:37 am

RE: Flashblock Add-On For Firefox

Sun Feb 04, 2007 6:40 pm

Quoting Kaddyuk (Reply 2):
Alot of websites have flash navigation bars



Quoting NoUFO (Reply 3):
Then again you can neither watch YouTube videos nor beautiful websites like this:

Ah, I was taking him literally for blocking all flash. Nevermind.
International Homo of Mystery
 
hawaiian717
Posts: 3139
Joined: Tue May 18, 1999 2:46 am

RE: Flashblock Add-On For Firefox

Mon Feb 05, 2007 2:28 am

I found the Flashblock extension to be more trouble than its worth. Instead, I use AdBlock Plus to get rid of all the advertising. Thus, the remaining Flash content is usually ok and it was more trouble to have to click to start it.
 
JeffSFO
Posts: 806
Joined: Wed Dec 29, 2004 2:55 pm

RE: Flashblock Add-On For Firefox

Mon Feb 05, 2007 3:00 am

Quoting 2H4 (Thread starter):
Question #1: Is there anything I can do to ensure NO flash gets through? I've got the most recent update for Flashblock, and I've got Adblock Plus installed.

Have you updated or even added any Adblock Plus subscriptions?

http://adblockplus.org/en/subscriptions

I use Yahoo Mail frequently and never see any adds.

Otherwise, the only other option I know of to nuke all Flash content is to use PrefBar:

http://prefbar.mozdev.org/

Your FF browser will behave as if Flash isn't installed on your browser; just deselect the Flash check box in Prefbar and hit refresh or start a new browser session. Then, if you want to visit a Flash site like the ones mentioned above, you can always reselect the Flash check box, restart your browser and you're good to go. Also, by hitting F8 on your keyboard, you can make the PrefBar tool bar disappear or reappear. Comes in very handy sometimes.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Baidu [Spider], coolian2, E2, seat64k and 28 guests