Cadet57
Topic Author
Posts: 7174
Joined: Mon Jul 25, 2005 2:02 am

Chevrolet Instrument Cluster Question

Fri Feb 23, 2007 2:50 am

On ebay there is a instrument cluster for a 1996 lumina, same car as me. This panel has a tachometer which my cluster lacks. If I buy it, will the tach work when I install it? I emailed the seller but he never got back to me. I dont want to waste the money if it wont work. Also, will I be able to turn the Odometer back to the mileage my car has (this one is higher)?
Doors open, right hand side, next stop is Springfield.
 
Superfly
Posts: 37735
Joined: Thu May 11, 2000 8:01 am

RE: Chevrolet Instrument Cluster Question

Fri Feb 23, 2007 3:04 am

That is a tricky situation when it comes to General Motors.
If it were a Ford or Chrysler, a simple swap would be easy and yes it would work.
A friend of mine tried doing the same thing you're talking about with his 1990 Buick LeSabre. He wanted to install a 1990 Park Avenue instrument cluster in his car for the same reason as you do. It did not work so he had to put his original back on.
Good luck trying to get a straight answer about this from your local GM service center. They'd recommend you buy a new Hummer.
You will not be able to turn back the odometer yourself on any car. Take it to a shop and have that done before you install it.
Bring back the Concorde
 
A332
Posts: 1421
Joined: Wed Feb 02, 2005 3:58 am

RE: Chevrolet Instrument Cluster Question

Fri Feb 23, 2007 4:45 am

If both vehicles are the same year and same model... the tachometer should be wired in the factory harness and it should be a simple install.

Question though... is it really worth the hassle for a 96 Lumina?

Ever removed the speedo cable from the back of a cluster before? I have a couple of times and it is NOT a fun job!
Bad spellers of the world... UNTIE!
 
Cadet57
Topic Author
Posts: 7174
Joined: Mon Jul 25, 2005 2:02 am

RE: Chevrolet Instrument Cluster Question

Fri Feb 23, 2007 4:52 am

Quoting A332 (Reply 2):
Question though... is it really worth the hassle for a 96 Lumina?

Well, the front of the dash is already coming out for some stereo work, plus its only 40 bucks. If my dad tells me its hard i'll say f it. He's the car guy not me. But he wasnt sure if it would work.
Doors open, right hand side, next stop is Springfield.
 
desertjets
Posts: 7575
Joined: Fri Feb 18, 2000 3:12 pm

RE: Chevrolet Instrument Cluster Question

Fri Feb 23, 2007 5:09 am

I'd suggest going to the library and checking out a Haynes or Chilton service manual for the car.... or the GM one if they have it. It should have the info and diagrams to show you if it is possible.

Barring that, find a parts guy at a nearby Chevy dealer that is friendly and helpful.
Stop drop and roll will not save you in hell. --- seen on a church marque in rural Virginia
 
Superfly
Posts: 37735
Joined: Thu May 11, 2000 8:01 am

RE: Chevrolet Instrument Cluster Question

Fri Feb 23, 2007 5:31 am

Quoting A332 (Reply 2):
Ever removed the speedo cable from the back of a cluster before? I have a couple of times and it is NOT a fun job!

You can say that again.
My friend did the same thing, thinking that the wiring harness would all be the same. Well everything plugged in correctly, snapped in perfectly and fit perfectly. The lights all came on but only the speedometer worked. None of the gauges for the oil, temp, alt or tach worked.
General Motors can be a pain n the ass when it come to this kind of stuff.
Bring back the Concorde
 
KFLLCFII
Posts: 3179
Joined: Sat Sep 11, 2004 7:08 am

RE: Chevrolet Instrument Cluster Question

Fri Feb 23, 2007 8:41 am

If there wasn't a dedicated tachometer lead wire factory-installed from (any of) your car's ignition coil(s) or ignition system, then chances are you simply couldn't plug the tach in and go; The installation at that point would become far more tricky, as you'd have to run your own lead from the tachometer sending input to the proper location within the factory ignition system, according to prescribed procedures.

But I'd have to agree with DesertJets...a Haynes or Chilton service manual for your particular year/make/model is an invaluable tool to have when you start getting into do-it-yourself projects for the car. If you're lucky, it may even have a note within the wiring diagrams section regarding differences in the schematic between cars with factory-installed tachs, and those without. If your library doesn't have it, they're available at your local Discount/Advance Auto Parts, Pep Boys, etc.

Good luck.
"About the only way to look at it, just a pity you are not POTUS KFLLCFII, seems as if we would all be better off."
 
LOT767-300ER
Posts: 8526
Joined: Mon Jan 01, 2001 12:57 pm

RE: Chevrolet Instrument Cluster Question

Fri Feb 23, 2007 1:19 pm

I say buy a better car, with a tach.  Silly
 
AA787823
Posts: 696
Joined: Wed Nov 08, 2006 11:27 pm

RE: Chevrolet Instrument Cluster Question

Sat Feb 24, 2007 2:16 am

I doubt the tach would work, if there is no sending unit on the engine, I doubt it is pre wired into the wiring harness that is on the back of the instrument cluster. It is not worth the hassel for a 96 Lumina that is likely worth less than $1000.00
F.U.R.P.....Families Under Reduced Pay
 
User avatar
falstaff
Posts: 5577
Joined: Sun Jun 25, 2006 6:17 am

RE: Chevrolet Instrument Cluster Question

Sat Feb 24, 2007 4:03 am

Quoting AA787823 (Reply 8):
I doubt the tach would work, if there is no sending unit on the engine, I doubt it is pre wired into the wiring harness that is on the back of the instrument cluster

I would bet there is. Remeber guys the PCM is getting a signal for rpm which is generated from the Crankshaft Position Sensor and or the cranksharft position sensor. You don't need an additional pickup on the engine's ignition because it is already there to operate the DIS system. The question is; Is there are wire in the harness from the PCM to the cluster. You will need a wiring diagram for that car. I used to have have a 96 Lumina. Good car. I put 101,000 on it and sold it to my buddy, Paul and he has 148,000 on it.

1996 an newer models have all kinds of stuff in the harness. OBDII cars monitor lots of stuff.

After reviewing the the wiring diagram for this car the wires for the tachometer are D8 which is white and C1 which is pink. If you IM me in the next hour and a half I can fax you the diagram. I could also mail it to you. If your harness has those wires it should work. I will be out of the shop all next week and I am, cutting out early today. If you want me to mail them to you I can do that anytime.
My mug slaketh over on Falstaff N503

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 11 guests