PA110
Topic Author

EHarmony.com Sued For Excluding Gays & Lesbians

Fri Jun 01, 2007 9:10 am

See full story here

Linda Carlson, an SF Bay Area resident wanted to use eHarmony but was was unable because they do not cater to gays and lesbians. A lawsuit has now been initiated on her behalf against eHarmony.com for discriminating against gays and lesbians. According to the story, eHarmony's founder, Dr. Neil Clark Warren, is an evangelical Christian with ties to "Focus on the Family", an organization who has tried to defeat every equal rights measure ever proposed in California.

Why would anyone in the gay and lesbian community intentionally want to patronize this business? I am really uncomfortable with this lawsuit. Do I really want eHarmony to offer dating services to gays and lesbians, just to have the gay community's money support people who actively work against us? As a gay man, my personal opinion is: NO ABSOLUTELY NOT.

I'm not a lawyer, so I have no idea if eHarmony is actually breaking any laws, but it just seems to me that this is like suing a company who organizes hiking and mountain biking vacations for not being ADA compliant.

Any thoughts?
It's been swell, but the swelling has gone down.

IFEMaster

RE: EHarmony.com Sued For Excluding Gays & Lesbians

Fri Jun 01, 2007 9:16 am

Quoting PA110 (Thread starter):

Any thoughts?

Yep, privave website, private company, they can do what they like. No different to a.net dolling out lifetime bans. Linda Carlson needs to loosen up.
Delivering Anecdotes of Dubious Relevance Since 1978

AeroWesty

Fri Jun 01, 2007 9:20 am

I'm not a lawyer, so I have no idea if eHarmony is actually breaking any laws, but it just seems to me that this is like suing a company who organizes hiking and mountain biking vacations for not being ADA compliant.

The article implies they are breaking the law, but rather than sue, if I absolutely had to use their service I probably would have had the state go after them, if it's true: