Confuscius
Topic Author

What To Do When The Big One Hits?

Thu Jul 19, 2007 3:44 am

I'm new to the bay area and I live a couple of miles from the Hayward Fault. I haven't experienced a fairly big earthquake. What should I do when a large magnitude earthqauke occurs?

Should I go into the basement and cover up with a mattress when I know it's coming. Or if there's no basement, go to an interior bathoom without windows, get in the bathtub and cover up with mattress.

Or just run out the door?
Ain't I a stinker?

desertjets

RE: What To Do When The Big One Hits?

Thu Jul 19, 2007 3:49 am

Stop drop and roll will not save you in hell. --- seen on a church marque in rural Virginia

AsstChiefMark

Thu Jul 19, 2007 3:50 am

Stand in an interior doorway. An archway is best. As soon as the quake is over and if it's safe to do so, turn off the gas and water main valves. Some homes are equipped with automatic valves.

http://www.abag.ca.gov/bayarea/eqmaps/eqmaps.html

http://www.data.scec.org/recenteqs.html

[Edited 2007-07-18 20:53:57]
Red tail...Red tail...Red tail...Red tail...Red tail...Red tail...Red tail...Red tail...Damned MSP...Red tail...Red tail

ManuCH
Crew

Thu Jul 19, 2007 3:52 am

Try asking AsstChiefMark, he's from Wisconsin and knows how to deal with earthquakes  duck   Silly
Never trust a statistic you didn't fake yourself

Kieron747

Thu Jul 19, 2007 3:54 am

Quoting Confuscius (Thread starter):

Well I don't know what I'll do when "the big one hits".. You mean when I lose my virginity right?

Signed,

AirPacific747
Airliners.Net - The Jam Rag Of The Web.

Confuscius
Topic Author

Thu Jul 19, 2007 3:57 am

Try asking AsstChiefMark, he's from Wisconsin and knows how to deal with earthquakes

I'm sure when the big cheesehead thingie falls, it creates a fairly large tremor.

Ain't I a stinker?

AeroWesty

Thu Jul 19, 2007 3:58 am