Duff44
Topic Author
Posts: 1561
Joined: Fri Apr 21, 2006 11:48 am

Computer Problem...

Tue Oct 02, 2007 7:09 am

I'm having a problem, mostly when I first start the computer

When I hit the power switch, something in my PC clicks and it wont start... just a black screen and the monitor never comes out of its energy save mode. It's kind of a thud-like hollow click... I can't describe it any other way.

I hit the power switch on the back of the power supply, wait about a minute, turn it back on, and try to start the computer again... everything works fine.

This is an intermittent problem, and I can't find any common link between the instances.

I'm thinking it might be the power supply or hard drive. Any thoughts?

Thanks in advance

WinXP
Athlon XP 2100+
768MB DDR (512 + 256)
120GB (master) + 200GB (slave)
Radeon 9500
I'll rassle ya for a bowl of bacon!
 
IFEMaster
Posts: 4164
Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2006 5:17 am

RE: Computer Problem...

Tue Oct 02, 2007 7:25 am

Sounds to me like a bad actuator on the HD. Backup your data now.
Delivering Anecdotes of Dubious Relevance Since 1978
 
SBBRTech
Posts: 403
Joined: Sat Jul 28, 2007 2:32 am

RE: Computer Problem...

Tue Oct 02, 2007 7:52 am

By the way you described it´s the power supply for sure. Less likely it´s the videocard. If your motherboard has the option of inboard video, try hooking up the monitor on it and take out the 9500.
"I'm beginning to get the hang of this flying business" - C3PO
 
User avatar
LTU932
Posts: 13075
Joined: Fri Jan 06, 2006 12:34 am

RE: Computer Problem...

Tue Oct 02, 2007 8:01 am

Sounds like the PSU to me. I suggest that, just in case, you back up everything you've got, for the case it shortcircuits (I've had a short happen on a computer once and I lost everything), and get that PSU changed.
 
bablackpilot
Posts: 101
Joined: Sun Apr 09, 2006 3:36 pm

RE: Computer Problem...

Tue Oct 02, 2007 12:08 pm

It's probably the power supply but to test that theroy, disconnect everything from it and just leave it connected to the motherboard. If it does it again then yes it's for sure the power supply. Anyway you look at it, you probably want a new one with at least 400+ watts on it because of all that you are running. Not to metion that since you are running an AMD chip and the they can be power hungry and the two hard drives don't help the matter.
My arrogance is only an issue between you and your self-esteem!"
 
HT
Posts: 5857
Joined: Sat May 07, 2005 6:20 am

RE: Computer Problem...

Tue Oct 02, 2007 12:18 pm

Off-topic:

Quoting Bablackpilot (Reply 4):
at least 400+ watts

A few years back, a 200 Watts Power Supply was more than sufficient.
I still don't understand, why desktop computers need to use more and more power; technlogy should go into the opposite direction, but apparently it is easier (= cheaper) to have CPU's and Videocards sonsuming more and more power for increased potency than cutting back on power needs ... (for notebooks it does work ...)
{end of off-topic}
-HT
Carpe diem ! Life is too short to waste your time ! Keep in mind, that today is the first day of the rest of your life !
 
bablackpilot
Posts: 101
Joined: Sun Apr 09, 2006 3:36 pm

RE: Computer Problem...

Tue Oct 02, 2007 12:28 pm

Quoting HT (Reply 5):
A few years back, a 200 Watts Power Supply was more than sufficient.
I still don't understand, why desktop computers need to use more and more power; technlogy should go into the opposite direction, but apparently it is easier (= cheaper) to have CPU's and Videocards sonsuming more and more power for increased potency than cutting back on power needs ... (for notebooks it does work ...)

HT,

The reason why computers need to use more and more power is because we as consumers are requesting that our computers be faster and faster. Typically things that require an increase in speed tend to require more power.
Remember we have come a long way in the computer industry. 50 years ago a computer the size of a deep freezer had the same processing power as today's scientific calculators......
My arrogance is only an issue between you and your self-esteem!"
 
HT
Posts: 5857
Joined: Sat May 07, 2005 6:20 am

RE: Computer Problem...

Tue Oct 02, 2007 12:46 pm

Quoting Bablackpilot (Reply 6):
The reason why computers need to use more and more power is because we as consumers are requesting that our computers be faster and faster. Typically things that require an increase in speed tend to require more power.
Remember we have come a long way in the computer industry. 50 years ago a computer the size of a deep freezer had the same processing power as today's scientific calculators......

The ratio of "Power need / Calculating capacity" clearly has decreased in the last 15 years when IBM AT was state of the art. However, if you ever had a look inside such a machine, there were numerous IC#s soldered onto the mainboard serving as memory and each of these needed power.

From todays highly integrated IC's one would expect that they can be used without thermal problems, but meanwhile even memory banks need cooling and all that thermal energy produced by CPU, memory, video-CPU, HDDs needs to be removed from the case which in turn requires more or less loud fans.
OTOH, as I wrote earlier, there are notebook computers available that offer quite enormous computing power, but which are built in such a way that they hardly ever need "active" cooling by a fan ...
Stil I think that things are going into the wrong direction with standard-desktop PCs (I am excluding custom-built high-performance machines here), but as long as noone complains nothing will be changed.
-HT
Carpe diem ! Life is too short to waste your time ! Keep in mind, that today is the first day of the rest of your life !
 
Duff44
Topic Author
Posts: 1561
Joined: Fri Apr 21, 2006 11:48 am

RE: Computer Problem...

Wed Oct 03, 2007 6:41 am

Quoting Bablackpilot (Reply 4):
It's probably the power supply but to test that theroy, disconnect everything from it and just leave it connected to the motherboard. If it does it again then yes it's for sure the power supply. Anyway you look at it, you probably want a new one with at least 400+ watts on it because of all that you are running. Not to metion that since you are running an AMD chip and the they can be power hungry and the two hard drives don't help the matter.

And of course when I listen to the power supply to see if that's the cause of the clicking, it doesn't do it at all... like I said, it's intermittent.



 irked 
I'll rassle ya for a bowl of bacon!

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 8 guests