Kunoichi
Topic Author
Posts: 743
Joined: Wed Jan 24, 2007 2:22 pm

PC To TV Again - So What Cable Do I Need?

Fri Nov 02, 2007 4:11 pm

Well, my dad came home with a nice 42 inch plasma tv yesterday, and had also bought a PC to TV (s-video and sound to scart) cable.

Problem is; it doesn't work. And I'm pulling my hair out, because I have no idea what's wrong. I tried playing around with the graphic card settings on my computer as well (as it's an NVIDIA GeForce Go 6150 and it states everywhere on the internet that you have to "turn the signal on" manually or something of the like), but every single walk-through guide I could find on the internet didn't help - either the options it stated weren't there, or it didn't work. I'm running Vista.

Now, it says in the TV manual that you can hook the computer up to the TV with a D-SUB to the computer's RGB output terminal (and a sound cable), but once again I'm at a loss - all of the cables I've been able to find don't look right, and what on earth does this RGB plug look like? I honestly have no idea.  cry 

The TV is a Medion MD30201, and the computer is a HP Pavillion dv6000. Graphic card is listed above (GeForce Go 6150) Is anyone able to look the specifics up and tell me exactly which cable(s) I need, preferrably with a picture and/or a link to a shop where I can buy it to make it completely idiot proof (well... as close as we get, really)? I'll be forever grateful!  sigh 
"Do you speak fluent Canadian?"
 
User avatar
WildcatYXU
Posts: 2607
Joined: Sat May 06, 2006 2:05 pm

RE: PC To TV Again - So What Cable Do I Need?

Fri Nov 02, 2007 4:37 pm

Plasma TV's usually come with VGA ports (at least here). Check for that first.
The computer's RGB terminal is the old style analog VGA output.
310, 319, 320, 321, 333, 343, 345, 346, 732, 735, 73G, 738, 744, 752, 762, 763, 77L, 77W, 788, AT4, AT7, BEH, CR2, CRA, CR9, DH1, DH3, DH4, E75, E90, E95, F28, F50, F100, Saab 340, YAK40
 
Kunoichi
Topic Author
Posts: 743
Joined: Wed Jan 24, 2007 2:22 pm

RE: PC To TV Again - So What Cable Do I Need?

Fri Nov 02, 2007 5:06 pm

Quoting WildcatYXU (Reply 1):
Plasma TV's usually come with VGA ports (at least here). Check for that first.
The computer's RGB terminal is the old style analog VGA output.

Thanks so much - I consulted a cable store (who replied like 10 seconds later... wow) who said the same as you, and managed to find one. I should have it this tuesday. Hope it works.  Smile

At least the PC to TV cable isn't all wasted - it works on my brother's TV Big grin
"Do you speak fluent Canadian?"

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: coolian2 and 8 guests