threefourthree
Posts: 149
Joined: Tue Nov 06, 2007 8:23 pm

Horse Racing Question

Tue Jan 01, 2008 1:13 pm

I was just watching the news and they had the highlights of the Perth Cup, a horse racing tournament, and a few of them fell and there was one horse still racing without its jockey.

If that horse were to win, what would happen??
 
Gman94
Posts: 1167
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 2:56 am

RE: Horse Racing Question

Tue Jan 01, 2008 1:17 pm

If a horse has no jockey then it is out of the race. Only horses that have a completed the course and have a jockey on board are classified in the final places.
British Airways - The Way To Fly
 
NIKV69
Posts: 10889
Joined: Wed Jan 28, 2004 4:27 am

RE: Horse Racing Question

Tue Jan 01, 2008 7:23 pm



Quoting Gman94 (Reply 1):
If a horse has no jockey then it is out of the race. Only horses that have a completed the course and have a jockey on board are classified in the final places

Spot on. The NYRA rules are the same. Jockey must be in the irons when the horse hits the wire. If the horse throws his rider and hte outriders can't catch him and he wins the 2nd place finisher is placed first.NYRA also has an automatic stewards inquiry but it is usually cut and dry and the hrose that has thrown the rider is usually caught and doesn't effect the race.
Hey that guy with the private jet can bail us out! Why? HE CAN AFFORD IT!

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Tvilum and 29 guests