AverageUser
Topic Author

Your Auto Driving Skills On Ice And Snow

Wed Jan 30, 2008 5:51 pm

Please check the choice(s) that best describes your car driving skills on icy roads if any.

x The only ice I ever see is when or if I clean the far back of the fridge
x my insurance has been cancelled already so I really can't tell
x my partner actually does the all the difficult driving for me
x my wheels has like P,N,D,1,2 so there's no need for asking
x I have a preference for a certain lane on downhill roads
x I spinned once and I'll never try again
x I'm an excellent driver
x I have a team of mechanics work for me so go away

Fly747

RE: Your Auto Driving Skills On Ice And Snow

Wed Jan 30, 2008 5:58 pm

Quoting AverageUser (Thread starter):

devil 

....as most people think of themselves.

Ivan

desertjets

Wed Jan 30, 2008 6:06 pm

One day while coming home from work a light snow began just dusting the road with its icy goodness. I was driving down a road with a steep hill (that I knew better than to drive on) and about a 1/3 of the way down began to lose control. Bumped my right front against the curbed and regained control for a second but I always panicked slammed on the brakes and locked up (No ABS) and spun, hitting my left rear wheel on the curb at the bottom of the hill. All told I broke a wheel and hub/strut assembly.

For the next winter I made sure I had winter tires (Nokian WRs -- figured the Finns know a thing or two about driving in snow and ice) on my car and was more careful about where/when I drove when the roads were less than ideal. Then I moved someplace warmer.
Stop drop and roll will not save you in hell. --- seen on a church marque in rural Virginia

AsstChiefMark

Wed Jan 30, 2008 6:08 pm

I slid in the ditch twice: 1976 and 2000. Other than that, no weather troubles related to driving. There have been several times where the car has been snowed in under 4 feet of snow the driveway. Those are times when you don't even try the drive anywhere.