United Airline
Topic Author

Big Cruise Ships VS Small Cruise Ships

Wed Feb 20, 2008 6:08 pm

I was on Oceania Insignia in January/February 2008 at Argentina, Uruguay, Falkland Islands and Chile. It was great apart from a few terrible waves and the ship rocked terribly.

I understand that all ships have stablizers. But will a big ship rock less than a small one? I mean will a big ship be more stable than a small/smaller one.

BR715-A1-30

RE: Big Cruise Ships VS Small Cruise Ships

Wed Feb 20, 2008 6:12 pm

Well, think of it like this... Will you be more stable on a large cruiseliner, or a small fisherman's pleasurecraft?
Puhdiddle

Daleaholic

Wed Feb 20, 2008 6:16 pm

Quoting United Airline (Thread starter):
But will a big ship rock less than a small one? I mean will a big ship be more stable than a small/smaller one.

I'm no expert but... those waves which hit your cruise ship... imagine them hittin something smaller?  Wink

There's your answer. Bigger isn't always better, but in this case, I'd say it is! Big grin
Religion is an illusion of childhood... Outgrown under proper education.

United Airline
Topic Author

Wed Feb 20, 2008 6:20 pm

I thought a stablizer play a more important role. How does it work?

ANCFlyer

Wed Feb 20, 2008 6:26 pm

You have two of the same thread running . . .

I'll post same info in both because eventually one will disappear . . .

http://www.passengershipsociety.com/cruiselinks.htm

Here is an excellent website for info on Cruise Ships . . .

I have found I prefer the mid-size or small ships. I've been cruising since I was 5 years old . . . Matson Lines Mariposa, Canadian National Princess Patricia (the original Princess Cruise),

Quoting United Airline (Thread starter):
I was on Oceania Insignia at Argentina, Uruguay, Falkland Islands, Chile earlier and the ship rocked quite a lot a few times.