SXDFC
Topic Author
Posts: 1664
Joined: Sun Dec 09, 2007 6:07 pm

Windows Vista Question

Sat Dec 27, 2008 11:48 pm

Hey Guys:

I currently have a computer that was built in 2005 and I bought it in 2006, and it says on the bottom that it was designed for Windows XP. I however would like to know if it is still possible to install Windows Vista and have it working properly on this computer. My computer is a HP Pavilion a1330n,the one pictured below..




Thanks for your help!
ALL views, opinions expressed are mine ONLY and are NOT representative of those shared by Southwest Airlines Co.
 
srbmod
Posts: 15446
Joined: Tue Mar 20, 2001 1:32 pm

RE: Windows Vista Question

Sun Dec 28, 2008 12:23 am

If you really want to upgrade to Vista (It's not a bad OS IMHO, but your mileage may vary), your best bet would be to download the Vista Upgrade Advisor from Microsoft. It will run some tests on your computer and let you know what version(s) of Vista will work on your computer. My old computer, which was made in 2003, was Vista Premium Ready according to the upgrade advisor, mainly because over the nearly five years I had it, I had upgraded the RAM and the video card.

http://www.microsoft.com/windows/win...ows-vista/get/upgrade-advisor.aspx

Looking at the basics for your computer, you'll definitely need a lot more than 1 GB of RAM. When I bought my current computer last February, I made sure I got a computer with as much memory as I could because I had read about it being slow on computers with a gig of RAM. I'm running with 3GB of RAM on an AMD Athlon 64 X2 dual core 5000+ (2.6 GHz) and it pretty much runs very smoothly. So if it's possible to add an additional gig of RAM, do it.
 
afterburner
Posts: 1002
Joined: Mon Jun 13, 2005 11:38 am

RE: Windows Vista Question

Sun Dec 28, 2008 12:36 am

Why do you want to upgrade to Vista? If you want to upgrade to Vista, your computer should have at least 2 GB of RAM.
 
Phoenix9
Posts: 2042
Joined: Tue Aug 28, 2007 8:25 pm

RE: Windows Vista Question

Sun Dec 28, 2008 12:39 am

As others have said...u need more ram and performance on vista will be quite low. If I may ask...why would you want to use Vista over XP in terms of functionality. If it is just the cosmetic changes that you desire e.g. AERO....it is not really worth it.
Life only makes sense when you look at it backwards.
 
SXDFC
Topic Author
Posts: 1664
Joined: Sun Dec 09, 2007 6:07 pm

RE: Windows Vista Question

Sun Dec 28, 2008 12:47 am



Quoting Phoenix9 (Reply 3):
If it is just the cosmetic changes that you desire

That is one of the reasons actually I thought it would be actually better then XP, but more and more people are urging me NOT to do it. I also heard it is better with regards to spy ware,etc. I am smart with most things with Computers,but this is an area where I wanted to ask another opinion on, and I am glad I did otherwise I think I would have spent 200+ dollars on Vista.


Not to hijack my own thread, but does anyone know of a reliable source to download music from that wont give you a virus, as Lime wire seems to give computers Viruses correct?
ALL views, opinions expressed are mine ONLY and are NOT representative of those shared by Southwest Airlines Co.
 
hawaiian717
Posts: 3139
Joined: Tue May 18, 1999 2:46 am

RE: Windows Vista Question

Sun Dec 28, 2008 1:33 am



Quoting SXDFC (Reply 4):
Not to hijack my own thread, but does anyone know of a reliable source to download music from that wont give you a virus, as Lime wire seems to give computers Viruses correct?

I use iTunes, but Amazon.com has an online music store and there are several others as well (Napster, Rhapsody, etc). The peer to peer software is more likely to end up causing problems and most of the content is illegally shared.
 
Phoenix9
Posts: 2042
Joined: Tue Aug 28, 2007 8:25 pm

RE: Windows Vista Question

Sun Dec 28, 2008 1:45 am



Quoting SXDFC (Reply 4):
That is one of the reasons actually

Well in that case even 2GB RAM won't give you the best experience. If you want the full Aero effects and all that then you should be looking to change your video card that is DirectX 10 compatible and 128/256 MB VRAM. All in all...you'd be better off buying a new computer. As for the malware/spyware...it might be a bit better but you have to have other applications dedicated for such purposes...e.g. AVG Antivirus, Spybot Search and Destroy etc.

Seriously...cosmetic enhancements are not really worth it...I got sick of it in a few days and changed it back to windows classic  Wink You can actually download some programs that emulate vista looks on XP without the additional cost of RAM and video card.
Life only makes sense when you look at it backwards.
 
AverageUser
Posts: 1824
Joined: Tue Oct 23, 2007 6:21 pm

RE: Windows Vista Question

Sun Dec 28, 2008 3:05 am

The best money spent on your computer setup I think would be to buy a pair of 1 GB DDR memory modules (the original bus speed is 400 MHz, but bus speed 667 MHz memory is probably the most common & will suit you), which would bring the total RAM to 3 GB. Although your computer will be able to run Vista even in its present configuration all right, I see such an upgrade as pointless. If you are dissatisfied with the video performance in games, the only point upwards is to get a later generation graphics card (PCI express).
Here's the HP documentations, for your computer's motherboard: http://h10025.www1.hp.com/ewfrf/wc/d...=en&dlc=en&cc=us&docname=c00496280
 
Phoenix9
Posts: 2042
Joined: Tue Aug 28, 2007 8:25 pm

RE: Windows Vista Question

Sun Dec 28, 2008 3:45 am

Life only makes sense when you look at it backwards.
 
mham001
Posts: 4287
Joined: Thu Feb 03, 2005 4:52 am

RE: Windows Vista Question

Sun Dec 28, 2008 5:23 am



Quoting Phoenix9 (Reply 6):
As for the malware/spyware...it might be a bit better but you have to have other applications dedicated for such purposes...e.g. AVG Antivirus, Spybot Search and Destroy etc.

Vista is significantly more safe than XP, just by virtue of UAC (User Access Control). Many hate it but it is exactly what makes Apples safer too(besides not being popular enough to attract hacker attention).
Vista forces you out of Admin mode. You can do the same in XP but few do.
 
User avatar
LTU932
Posts: 13075
Joined: Fri Jan 06, 2006 12:34 am

RE: Windows Vista Question

Sun Dec 28, 2008 8:25 pm



Quoting Mham001 (Reply 9):
Vista is significantly more safe than XP, just by virtue of UAC (User Access Control). Many hate it but it is exactly what makes Apples safer too(besides not being popular enough to attract hacker attention).

The thing is that Apple's version of UAC (I don't know the formal name, so I'll call it User Confirmation) is much less invasive than Vista's UAC. In MacOS, you will be asked for your system's admin password if you install something that changes the operating system, and it will ask you if you really want to open an application that you recently installed, with the option to visit the application's website if available. If you don't have access to an admin user, or choose not to open a recently downloaded application after all, it's the same as an abort. Once that application has been launched for the first time, you basically confirm that it's safe and will no longer be prompted for confirmation to open the application.

UAC in Vista basically blocks the application/installation by default, and then you have to unblock it. Plus UAC has a tendency of acting up for even the smallest of things, which in this case is the fundamental problem of UAC. It simply tends to act up for things that don't even require security because they are harmless, plus applications that you have confirmed as safe, will sometimes still trigger UAC, even though the application was confirmed as safe. This makes the user confirmation in MacOS much more convenient and, as said before, non-invasive than Windows Vista's UAC.
 
StarAC17
Posts: 3400
Joined: Thu Aug 07, 2003 11:54 am

RE: Windows Vista Question

Tue Dec 30, 2008 7:55 pm



Quoting LTU932 (Reply 10):
The thing is that Apple's version of UAC (I don't know the formal name, so I'll call it User Confirmation) is much less invasive than Vista's UAC.

It hardly prompts you when using your computer for average daily operations. Its annoying if you have just formatted and are installing a lot of applications and drivers getting everything going, for that you can turn it off and enable it later.

When SP1 came out this past March it really cut down the amount of prompts you get. For example initially when you go into Msconfig and change startup applications the prompt comes up to get into it and then when you reboot to make the changes it prompted you again until you selected "Save these settings"

With SP1 they have taken that out so its far less intrusive.
Engineers Rule The World!!!!!

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: PacificBeach88 and 9 guests