User avatar
OA260
Topic Author
Posts: 21117
Joined: Thu Nov 30, 2006 8:50 pm

Computer Experts Is This Base Unit Any Good?

Thu Mar 19, 2009 6:13 pm

Just seen this offer and want to know if its any good?

PACKARD BELL IM2216 Refurbished PC Base Unit

* Intel® Celeron® Dual-Core E1200
* (1.60GHz, 800MHz FSB, 512KB Cache)
* Genuine Windows Vista® Home Premium
* 1GB DDR2 667MHz memory
* 320GB SATA hard drive (7200rpm)

http://www.pcworld.co.uk/martprd/sto...ull&sku=623406&category_oid=-28485


I just want something for home for basic surfing the net. Nothing fancy or special. Would this do the job?

I already have my Eeepc for travelling but my current laptop is on its last legs and there is no point getting another laptop for home use.
 
Goldenshield
Posts: 5008
Joined: Sun Jan 14, 2001 3:45 pm

RE: Computer Experts Is This Base Unit Any Good?

Thu Mar 19, 2009 6:31 pm

I didn't know Packard Hell even existed anymore. XD

For surfing the net, older and lighter games, and video watching that's more than enough machine.
Two all beef patties, special sauce, lettuce, cheese, pickles, onions on a sesame seed bun.
 
Cadet57
Posts: 7174
Joined: Mon Jul 25, 2005 2:02 am

RE: Computer Experts Is This Base Unit Any Good?

Thu Mar 19, 2009 6:41 pm



Quoting OA260 (Thread starter):
I just want something for home for basic surfing the net. Nothing fancy or special. Would this do the job?

Agree with Goldenshield, for your purposes, it'll be plenty of computer. And yeah, no Idea Packard Bell was still in business. Can you get Digital computers too?  Wink
Doors open, right hand side, next stop is Springfield.
 
max550
Posts: 714
Joined: Tue Nov 13, 2007 9:46 pm

RE: Computer Experts Is This Base Unit Any Good?

Thu Mar 19, 2009 7:26 pm



Quoting Cadet57 (Reply 2):
And yeah, no Idea Packard Bell was still in business.

Packard Bell pulled out of the US market in 2000, they still exist in Europe
 
VonRichtofen
Posts: 4262
Joined: Sun Nov 05, 2000 3:10 am

RE: Computer Experts Is This Base Unit Any Good?

Thu Mar 19, 2009 7:38 pm

My only concern is that the hardware specs are a bit weak to run Vista Premium. Might want to slap another RAM stick in there.
 
User avatar
OA260
Topic Author
Posts: 21117
Joined: Thu Nov 30, 2006 8:50 pm

RE: Computer Experts Is This Base Unit Any Good?

Thu Mar 19, 2009 8:05 pm

Thanks for the replies so far. Ideally what system would you recommend under EUR400?? That would be my max I would want to spend at the moment for a base unit.

I was looking at the DELL Optiplex also which was EUR399
 
PhilGil
Posts: 228
Joined: Mon Jan 31, 2005 7:21 am

RE: Computer Experts Is This Base Unit Any Good?

Thu Mar 19, 2009 8:12 pm



Quoting VonRichtofen (Reply 4):
My only concern is that the hardware specs are a bit weak to run Vista Premium.

I concur. If you turn off all the Vista effects it might run OK, but you'll be happier with 2GB of RAM.

My very first PC was a Packard Bell purchased in 1994.
 
Fly2HMO
Posts: 7207
Joined: Sat Jan 24, 2004 12:14 pm

RE: Computer Experts Is This Base Unit Any Good?

Thu Mar 19, 2009 8:26 pm



Quoting PhilGil (Reply 6):
I concur. If you turn off all the Vista effects it might run OK, but you'll be happier with 2GB of RAM.

Agreed. Vista is a RAMwhore. Also, Intel makes good chips and I prefer them over AMD by far, but I've never liked their Celeron line, their caches are always tiny and it creates a bottleneck. Then again, I'm a speed freak. But yes, for just surfing the interwebs it should suffice.

Quoting Goldenshield (Reply 1):
video watching that's more than enough machine.

I wouldn't use it for HD though.
 
User avatar
LTU932
Posts: 13075
Joined: Fri Jan 06, 2006 12:34 am

RE: Computer Experts Is This Base Unit Any Good?

Thu Mar 19, 2009 8:28 pm

Get 2 GB for Vista and rather change the celeron for a Core2Duo and you'll be fine. The rest of the specs are OK.
 
User avatar
OA260
Topic Author
Posts: 21117
Joined: Thu Nov 30, 2006 8:50 pm

RE: Computer Experts Is This Base Unit Any Good?

Thu Mar 19, 2009 9:43 pm



Quoting LTU932 (Reply 8):
Get 2 GB for Vista and rather change the celeron for a Core2Duo and you'll be fine.

Thanks , I think they do another one with 2GB for not too much more so will take another look. Will also see about the Core2Duo also.

Quoting FLY2HMO (Reply 7):
Then again, I'm a speed freak

What would be your choice of base unit for speedfreaks then?? Just curious as to what people think are the best .
 
MD-90
Posts: 7835
Joined: Mon Jan 17, 2000 12:45 pm

RE: Computer Experts Is This Base Unit Any Good?

Thu Mar 19, 2009 10:39 pm



Quoting OA260 (Reply 5):
Thanks for the replies so far. Ideally what system would you recommend under EUR400?? That would be my max I would want to spend at the moment for a base unit.

I was looking at the DELL Optiplex also which was EUR399

Are computers more expensive in Europe due just to VAT or are they more expensive in general?
 
Fly2HMO
Posts: 7207
Joined: Sat Jan 24, 2004 12:14 pm

RE: Computer Experts Is This Base Unit Any Good?

Fri Mar 20, 2009 4:00 am



Quoting OA260 (Reply 9):
What would be your choice of base unit for speedfreaks then??

Well I'm currently saving up for a new PC to build, but it's really hard to choose because I need two things: Plenty of power right of the bat and 2) loads of expandability so it won't be obsolete within weeks. I'm gonna use it for everything, so I need plenty of power for my games too.

I'm shooting for a 2.4ghz Core i7 with 6gb of RAM and 2x 1.5TB HDDs and an ATI HD4870x2.

Eventually I want to bump that system up to 16gb of RAM, get an extreme edition Core i7 once they get cheaper and overclock it, and two of those ATI HD4870x2s. So I'd have quad GPUs.  cloudnine 
 
User avatar
OA260
Topic Author
Posts: 21117
Joined: Thu Nov 30, 2006 8:50 pm

RE: Computer Experts Is This Base Unit Any Good?

Fri Mar 20, 2009 10:07 am



Quoting MD-90 (Reply 10):
Are computers more expensive in Europe due just to VAT or are they more expensive in general?

Not sure , they have come down in price recently , dont know how much they are in the USA.

Quoting FLY2HMO (Reply 11):
I'm shooting for a 2.4ghz Core i7 with 6gb of RAM and 2x 1.5TB HDDs and an ATI HD4870x2.

Oh ok I dont think I need that lol..
 
imiakhtar
Posts: 611
Joined: Sun Apr 02, 2006 3:35 am

RE: Computer Experts Is This Base Unit Any Good?

Fri Mar 20, 2009 11:24 am



Quoting OA260 (Reply 9):
What would be your choice of base unit for speedfreaks then?? Just curious as to what people think are the best .

The Intel Q6600 Core 2 is very good (and fast!). It'll cost you around £350 for a base pc though. A processor like this and Vista would run very smoothly:

http://www.pcworld.co.uk/martprd/pro...e+PCs/PACKARD+BELL/IXTR2613/274919

Quoting OA260 (Thread starter):
I just want something for home for basic surfing the net. Nothing fancy or special. Would this do the job?

If that's too much, something along these lines would be perfect:

1. https://www.pcworld.co.uk/martprd/product/seo/Clearance/Clearance+PCs/COMPAQ/SR5605UK/474082

2. http://www.pcworld.co.uk/martprd/sto...ull&sku=439248&category_oid=-28485

These would be fine with Vista too. As mentioned, as a minimum you want 2 GB RAM minimum.

Quoting FLY2HMO (Reply 11):
I'm shooting for a 2.4ghz Core i7 with 6gb of RAM and 2x 1.5TB HDDs and an ATI HD4870x2.

 Wow! Very nice! I'm still running an AMD Athlon on a Socket A from 2004  Wink

Regards
Whatever happened to Leon Trotsky?
 
Fly2HMO
Posts: 7207
Joined: Sat Jan 24, 2004 12:14 pm

RE: Computer Experts Is This Base Unit Any Good?

Fri Mar 20, 2009 7:00 pm



Quoting OA260 (Reply 12):
Oh ok I dont think I need that lol..

Not to mention the fact you'd probably need your own nuclear plant to run that thing Big grin

Quoting Imiakhtar (Reply 13):
Very nice! I'm still running an AMD Athlon on a Socket A from 2004

I have 5 y/o computer too. I call it the FrankenDell Big grin It was a Dell 4300 but I eventually just swapped everything over the years. The only thing that's stock is the C drive and the CPU. I'm now up to 4gb RAM (the max), have an ATI HD3850 on it (the fastest and probably last card for AGP) and 3x HDDs. I got a new case, new 550W PSU, new fans, new mobo, it's pretty much a whole new machine. But I've reached the point where I can't upgrade this old gal anymore.  Sad The last thing I could possibly upgrade is the CPU. I've been thinking about upgrading to a P4 3.4GHz extreme edition CPU (Have a 3Ghz P4 HT now), they are pretty cheap nowadays (~$100usd) yet I wonder if the cost is justified for just getting 400mhz more than what I already have.

But my next dream rig is gonna run me $1600. Which is cheap considering I'm building it myself. If I were to buy it with Dell or any other major company a similar system would cost over $3000.

Now if I could find $1600 I'd be set...
 
fatmirjusufi
Posts: 1708
Joined: Sat Jan 03, 2009 1:28 pm

RE: Computer Experts Is This Base Unit Any Good?

Fri Mar 20, 2009 7:10 pm



Quoting OA260 (Thread starter):
* Intel® Celeron® Dual-Core E1200

Get something faster. I have a Core2Duo E8400 @ 3.0GHz, FSB 1333MHz. Works fantastic.

Quoting OA260 (Thread starter):
* 1GB DDR2 667MHz memory

I prefer going with at least 2GB DDR2 @ 800MHz.

Quoting OA260 (Thread starter):
* 320GB SATA hard drive (7200rpm)

HDD is fine.  Wink

Advice
Don't use Vista! Big grin

Fatmir
DO FLIGHTS. NOT FIGHTS.
 
User avatar
OA260
Topic Author
Posts: 21117
Joined: Thu Nov 30, 2006 8:50 pm

RE: Computer Experts Is This Base Unit Any Good?

Fri Mar 20, 2009 7:23 pm



Quoting Imiakhtar (Reply 13):
The Intel Q6600 Core 2 is very good (and fast!). It'll cost you around £350 for a base pc though. A processor like this and Vista would run very smoothly:

Hi thanks that sure looks a better option for me and within budget so might just go for it.

Quoting FatmirJusufi (Reply 15):
I prefer going with at least 2GB DDR2 @ 800MHz.

Thanks was starting to think about that also. Whilst I dont need super mega systems I would like something that would process webpages and youtube videos / MSN with good speed.
 
fatmirjusufi
Posts: 1708
Joined: Sat Jan 03, 2009 1:28 pm

RE: Computer Experts Is This Base Unit Any Good?

Fri Mar 20, 2009 7:35 pm



Quoting OA260 (Reply 16):
Whilst I dont need super mega systems I would like something that would process webpages and youtube videos / MSN with good speed.

If you're purchasing this PC only for random using, 1GB is enough. I built-up my PC special for FS, so I needed faster CPU and more RAM.

Fatmir
DO FLIGHTS. NOT FIGHTS.
 
User avatar
OA260
Topic Author
Posts: 21117
Joined: Thu Nov 30, 2006 8:50 pm

RE: Computer Experts Is This Base Unit Any Good?

Fri Mar 20, 2009 8:39 pm



Quoting FatmirJusufi (Reply 17):
If you're purchasing this PC only for random using, 1GB is enough. I built-up my PC special for FS, so I needed faster CPU and more RAM.

2GB does sound better though lol... I just found this one also :: GBP 299 New

http://www.argos.co.uk/static/Produc...658|Desktop+computers|12108676.htm

* Intel Pentium Dual Core E2200 processor.

* 2.2GHz processor speed.

* 1MB cache.

* 2GB DDR2 RAM upgradeable to 4GB.


* 320GB SATA hard drive capacity.


* Multiformat dual layer DVD RW optical drive.


* nVidia nForce 630i graphics card.

* Up to 256MB graphics memory.


* 20 in 1 media card reader - compatible with Compact Flash I, Compact Flash II, micro Drive, Smart Media Card, Memory Stick, Memory Stick Duo*, Memory Stick PRO, Memory Stick PRO Duo*, Memory Stick Micro*, Secure Digital, Secure Digital HC, Mini Secure Digital*, Micro Secure Digital*, Multimedia Card, RS Multimedia Card*, Multimedia Card mobile*, Multimedia Card micro*, xD picture Card, xD picture Card M type, xD picture Card H type (* adapter required).

* 8 USB ports.

* 1 Ethernet port.

* 1 FireWire port.

* 2 PCI slots.


* Integrated HD sound card.


* Windows Vista Premium operating system installed.

* Software included: Microsoft Works, Microsoft Office - trial version, Internet Security Suite, DVD burning and playing software.

* Wired USB keyboard and mouse.


* Size (H)37.3, (W)17.5, (D)39.8cm.

* Weight 9.6kg.
 
iowaman
Posts: 3874
Joined: Thu May 20, 2004 2:29 am

RE: Computer Experts Is This Base Unit Any Good?

Fri Mar 20, 2009 8:57 pm

As others have said, make sure you get 2GB of RAM. Once you get a few programs on there it will start to bog down quickly.
 
User avatar
OA260
Topic Author
Posts: 21117
Joined: Thu Nov 30, 2006 8:50 pm

RE: Computer Experts Is This Base Unit Any Good?

Sun Mar 22, 2009 12:52 pm

Thanks I have 70% decided to go with this one ::

http://www.argos.co.uk/static/Produc...658|Desktop+computers|12108676.htm

* The Aspire X3200 desktop PC will provide enough performance to easily handle your daily needs. A sleek black design houses a powerful system configuration and a host of features that will ensure you can enjoy movies, games and music from the comfort of your home.


* AMD Athlon Dual Core 4050E processor.

* 2.1GHz processor speed.

* 1MB cache.

* 2GB DDR2 RAM upgradeable to 4GB.


* 320GB SATA hard drive capacity.


* Multiformat dual layer optical drive.


* nVidia GeForce 8200 graphics card.

* Up to 896MB graphics memory.


* 12 in 1 media card reader - compatible with CompactFlash (Type I and II), CF+ Microdrive, MultiMediaCard (MMC), MMCmobile, Reduced-Size MultiMediaCard (RS-MMC), Secure Digital (SD) Card, miniSD Card, xD-Picture Card, Memory Stick, Memory Stick PRO, Memory Stick Duo, Memory Stick PRO Duo.


* 9 USB ports.

* 1 HDMI port.

* 1 Ethernet ports.

* 1 FireWire ports.

* PCI Express 2.0 x16 slot, PCI Express 2.0 x1 slot PCI slots.


* Embedded high-definition audio with 5.1 channel surround sound support.


* Windows Vista Premium operating system installed.

* Software included: Acer Empowering Technology (eRecovery and eSettings Management), Acer Arcade Live, AcerGamezone, Microsoft Office 2007 Trial with Microsoft Works 8.5, eSobi, McAfee Internet Security Suite 2008, Adobe Reader, CyberLink PowerDVD + PowerDirector3 (Trial), NTI Media Maker.


* Wired keyboard and mouse included.


* Size (H)26.5, (W)10, (D)31.5cm.

* Weight 9kg.


* Monitor:

* 19in widescreen.

* Maximum resolution 1440 x 900 pixels @ 75Hz.

* Brightness 300cd/m2.

* Contrast ratio 2000:1.

* 16.7m colours.

* Anti-glare.

* Pixel pitch 0.283mm.

* Viewing angles: horizontal 160, vertical 160.

* Response time 5ms.

* Wall mountable.

* Power saving facility.

* Size (H)35.92, (W)45.43, (D)16.37cm.

Buying guides
 
User avatar
OA260
Topic Author
Posts: 21117
Joined: Thu Nov 30, 2006 8:50 pm

RE: Computer Experts Is This Base Unit Any Good?

Sun Mar 29, 2009 12:59 pm

I finally settled on this yesterday . EUR 429 .

Packard Bell Imedia

* Intel® Pentium® Dual-Core E2220
* (2.4GHz, 800MHz FSB, 1MB Cache)
* Genuine Windows Vista® Home Basic
* 2GB DDR2 memory
* 160GB SATA hard drive (7200rpm)
* NVIDIA® GeForce 7050 graphics
* Dual Layer DVD Rewriter
* 6x USB ports
* 19" TFT display

http://i656.photobucket.com/albums/uu281/anetpics2009/HurtigrutenMarch2009600.jpg

Going to buy a 500GB storage box also in a few weeks.
 
fatmirjusufi
Posts: 1708
Joined: Sat Jan 03, 2009 1:28 pm

RE: Computer Experts Is This Base Unit Any Good?

Sun Mar 29, 2009 1:13 pm

Congratulation, Philip. I think it's pretty great choice.
After a day, satisfied with it?

Fatmir
DO FLIGHTS. NOT FIGHTS.
 
User avatar
OA260
Topic Author
Posts: 21117
Joined: Thu Nov 30, 2006 8:50 pm

RE: Computer Experts Is This Base Unit Any Good?

Sun Mar 29, 2009 2:01 pm



Quoting FatmirJusufi (Reply 22):
Congratulation, Philip. I think it's pretty great choice.
After a day, satisfied with it?

Thanks. I did a test by reading a long TR and the pics loaded instantly. On my old laptop it sometimes took a while to load but not with the new PC. Also HQ videos on Youtube stream no problem. So far so good.

Next item I need is a Wireless printer/scanner . They are half price at the moment. Now is the time to buy these things.
 
fatmirjusufi
Posts: 1708
Joined: Sat Jan 03, 2009 1:28 pm

RE: Computer Experts Is This Base Unit Any Good?

Sun Mar 29, 2009 3:29 pm



Quoting OA260 (Reply 23):
Thanks. I did a test by reading a long TR and the pics loaded instantly. On my old laptop it sometimes took a while to load but not with the new PC. Also HQ videos on Youtube stream no problem. So far so good.

You had problems like pics loading and Youtube streaming videos in your old laptop? Before my current PC I had before an other just like your laptop. Problems loading videos, pics and everything. Crap! :@
It's great feeling when you move to a better PC.

Fatmir
DO FLIGHTS. NOT FIGHTS.
 
User avatar
OA260
Topic Author
Posts: 21117
Joined: Thu Nov 30, 2006 8:50 pm

RE: Computer Experts Is This Base Unit Any Good?

Sun Mar 29, 2009 4:11 pm



Quoting FatmirJusufi (Reply 24):
It's great feeling when you move to a better PC.

Yes especially when there is discounts and you get a good deal. My old laptop looks like something from the dark ages compared to this new PC.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests