skyhigh777

I Quit My Job...What Should I Do?

Tue Jun 09, 2009 4:22 pm

Hey guys,

So, as much as I want to refrain from ranting, I'm going to share some of my thoughts on what led me to quit my job.

I graduated last year from the University of Maryland as an Economics and Psychology major, and subsequently took a few months off to travel Europe. When I returned I got lucky and landed a contract job at the International Monetary Fund in Washington, DC as a "Project Coordinator". Now, at first I liked the job because of the decent pay and the fact that I was being treated very well and given a good amount of responsibilites from the start. As the months went by, I felt myself more and more falling into a routine: wake up at 5:45 am, commute from northern Suburbs to DC for 40 min, get to the gym by 6:45 am, at my desk by 8 am. After almost 5 months, I've reached a breaking point. I just can't do it anymore. I see all these people walking the streets of the city looking like robotic drones, and it gets worse when I actually enter the building. Everyone seems to be on autopilot. If not, they are angry or frustrated by how "busy" they are, and everyone tries to one-up one another thinking that one person is even busier than the other. I keep thinking to myself that I'm 24 years old...and if I reach the age of 50 and have the life of the people that surround me in this office everyday, I would rather not reach 50. I feel like I'm destined to do more than this in my life. At this point, it feels like I'm in a river swimming against the current, when other people are trying to take me down stream with them.

My contract was supposed to end in September as this big project we are working on comes to a close, but I was offered the opportunity to stay as an extended contract. I declined. A lot of people told me I was crazy to turn down the opportunity, but there are two main reasons why I did: