User avatar
STT757
Topic Author
Posts: 13222
Joined: Tue Mar 28, 2000 1:14 am

Vonage (VOIP) Question

Thu Jun 18, 2009 4:17 pm

Can I use a fax machine on a Vonage VOIP line, they advertise on their website a second fax line but that's not what I need. I just need to fax stuff once a week, I don't want a second line I just want to fax over the house line. Is that possible without buying anything additional, I have Cable phone service now that does not support fax. I was thinking of switching to Vonage, any experiences?..
Eastern Air lines flt # 701, EWR-MCO Boeing 757
 
jetblueguy22
Posts: 2539
Joined: Thu Nov 29, 2007 12:26 am

RE: Vonage (VOIP) Question

Thu Jun 18, 2009 4:31 pm

I am 90% sure that you can fax. My father had it and I remember the fax line down and him using the Vonage line for the faxes. Vonage is good for voice. The only problem is sometimes it goes down. If you are using it for a home service it is excellent. I wouldn't use it for business, though.
Blue
Look at sweatpants guy. This is a 90 million dollar aircraft, not a Tallahassee strip club
 
User avatar
OA260
Posts: 21112
Joined: Thu Nov 30, 2006 8:50 pm

RE: Vonage (VOIP) Question

Thu Jun 18, 2009 7:53 pm

I have an Irish based VOIP provider and I am unable to send or receive faxes. Id be interested in Vonage if you could with them.

I gave up my home phone and never looked back. Ive saved a fortune. Sometimes it goes down but not often.
 
User avatar
Dreadnought
Posts: 9841
Joined: Tue Feb 19, 2008 6:31 pm

RE: Vonage (VOIP) Question

Thu Jun 18, 2009 8:30 pm



Quoting STT757 (Thread starter):
Can I use a fax machine on a Vonage VOIP line, they advertise on their website a second fax line but that's not what I need. I just need to fax stuff once a week, I don't want a second line I just want to fax over the house line. Is that possible without buying anything additional, I have Cable phone service now that does not support fax. I was thinking of switching to Vonage, any experiences?..

Depends where you are. Vonage is not a telephone company. They are simply a marketing and feature platform and they use the actual telecom backbone of other telephone companies which sell their origination services, like Level 3 or Global Crossing. If your particular line is on a Level 3 network, you are probably out of luck because their network is not T.38 compliant (fax-capable). Global Crossing is ok for T.38.

If you can send me your NPA-NXXX (area code and next 4 digits) I should be able to tell you which network Vonage would use for you. Send an instant message for privacy.
Forget dogs and cats - Spay and neuter your liberals.
 
COIAHLGW
Posts: 156
Joined: Thu Dec 18, 2003 10:11 am

RE: Vonage (VOIP) Question

Fri Jun 19, 2009 2:05 am

Here's a whole forum devoted to Vonage faxing  Smile

https://forums.vonage.com/forumdisplay.php?f=30

I am a Vonage customer, and have a fax machine in the closet for the once a year I need to send a fax. No problems here after setting the fax machine to 9600 rather than 14400. However, as you will see in the forum, your experience may vary.

If you do try Vonage and don't like it, cancel within the first 30 days or there are some steep termination charges...
 
User avatar
STT757
Topic Author
Posts: 13222
Joined: Tue Mar 28, 2000 1:14 am

RE: Vonage (VOIP) Question

Fri Jun 19, 2009 2:12 am

Hmm, seems like I might be able to make it work so long as I set up the fax for basic service. I'll give it a shot.

I was looking at getting their basic package, $17.99 per month. What's the catch or difference between the $17.99 package and the $24.99 package they push so hard?..

btw..

I live about 10-15 minutes down the road from the Vonage headquarters, it used to be Bell labs.
Eastern Air lines flt # 701, EWR-MCO Boeing 757
 
User avatar
Dreadnought
Posts: 9841
Joined: Tue Feb 19, 2008 6:31 pm

RE: Vonage (VOIP) Question

Fri Jun 19, 2009 3:17 am



Quoting STT757 (Reply 5):
live about 10-15 minutes down the road from the Vonage headquarters, it used to be Bell labs.

Doesn't matter. They don't have a network of their own. For incoming calls at least you are at the mercy of whatever CLEC they buy DIDs from in that area. For outgoing calls (or faxes), you'll have a better chance, as the ATA will go IP to IP directly to Vonage's gateway. But I still think you run the risk of not being able to recieve faxes reliably.

Have you tested your bandwdth's latency and jitter?
Forget dogs and cats - Spay and neuter your liberals.
 
User avatar
STT757
Topic Author
Posts: 13222
Joined: Tue Mar 28, 2000 1:14 am

RE: Vonage (VOIP) Question

Fri Jun 19, 2009 3:24 am



Quoting Dreadnought (Reply 6):
But I still think you run the risk of not being able to recieve faxes reliably.

I don't need to receive faxes, I'm looking to send a fax once a week.

Quoting Dreadnought (Reply 6):
Have you tested your bandwdth's latency and jitter?

What's that?.. I have Optimum online high speed cable internet.
Eastern Air lines flt # 701, EWR-MCO Boeing 757
 
User avatar
Dreadnought
Posts: 9841
Joined: Tue Feb 19, 2008 6:31 pm

RE: Vonage (VOIP) Question

Fri Jun 19, 2009 3:56 am



Quoting STT757 (Reply 7):
I don't need to receive faxes, I'm looking to send a fax once a week.

That's better, but I would ask them when you order whether the line will be T.38 compliant.

Quoting STT757 (Reply 7):
What's that?.. I have Optimum online high speed cable internet.

Cable Internet should be fine. DSL tends to be more of a problem. Try this little test.

http://myspeed.visualware.com/voip/

Any packet loss of more than 1 or 2% will cause you problems. Jitter is usually manageable if less than 100-150 ms (more than this test allows), Any latency more than 50 ms could be bad news.

Remember that VoIP is not the same as telephone service. You are using the internet to send data packets which must be reassembled in realtime at the other end, in the place of an analog connection. With good equipment, this is rarely a problem. Anyone now getting his phone service via his cable company for instance is using VoIP, and most people never even notice the difference. But vonage has been using the same old cheap-ass Linksys 2102 ATA for years, and in my opinion it just doesn't cut it.

Just know what you're getting.
Forget dogs and cats - Spay and neuter your liberals.
 
User avatar
casinterest
Posts: 5391
Joined: Sat Feb 12, 2005 5:30 am

RE: Vonage (VOIP) Question

Fri Jun 19, 2009 12:37 pm

Quoting STT757 (Reply 7):
I don't need to receive faxes, I'm looking to send a fax once a week.

There are services for your PC where you can just scan a fax in and send it in email. This would probably work for you.

However what Dreadnought stated above is true. Vonage is not responsible for QOS(Quality of Service) on their networks. The Network Provider they lease from is. I don't think Vonage is paying for QOS, so they are at the mercy of the providers. That being said, if all you have to do is send one fax a week, as long as Vonage uses G.711 for RTP, then just wait till 9:00 P.M till 7:00 A.M to send your Fax. These times will have the least users using bandwidth which will actually assure you of higher QOS since Jitter will be less of an issue(Shouldn't be an issue). If Vonage is using G.729 for voice and not offering T.38 for fax you are going to be out of luck for the most part, but you might get lucky at the times above. I have occasionally seen G.729 successfully send a fax. But that signal has to be Crisp and clear.


one more thing, the fact that they are offering the "2nd" fax line leads me to believe they have t.38. Vonage has to have it due to the QOS concerns above. T.38 has redundancy which allows the last 2 packets to be piggybacked on the current one, to help ensure a more reliable delivery.

[Edited 2009-06-19 05:48:18]
Older than I just was ,and younger than I will soo be.
 
COIAHLGW
Posts: 156
Joined: Thu Dec 18, 2003 10:11 am

RE: Vonage (VOIP) Question

Fri Jun 19, 2009 6:02 pm

The difference between the lower cost package and higher cost package is that the $24.99 per month plan is an unlimited plan, as far as domestic (US, Canada, Puerto Rico) calls go. It also includes unlimited international calling to landlines (not mobiles) to the UK, Ireland, France Spain and Italy.

With the $17.99/month plan, it includes 500 minutes to the US, Canada and Puerto Rico. No international calling is included with this plan, but they do offer competitive rates.

You don't say what your current regular calling needs are, but Vonage includes additional great features. I use the call forwarding the most, as that way you can always receive calls. The free international calling is great for me to the UK as I have family both sides of the pond, and I can plug in my phone adapter to the Internet in England and use it there to continue to make/receive calls as if I'm at home.

I know this has nothing to do with faxing of course, but the bottom line is that I am happy with the service I have received so far. Will be 2 years next month.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: ThePointblank and 9 guests