wardialer

Root Beer In Europe?

Sun Nov 22, 2009 8:47 am

Just wondering why there is no root beer in Europe?
Can anyone explain this please?

Thx.

kiwiandrew

RE: Root Beer In Europe?

Sun Nov 22, 2009 8:58 am

Because Europe , unlike North America , actually produces drinkable beer ?  duck 

afterburner

Sun Nov 22, 2009 9:10 am

I just did a quick search in Google and find this thread on flyertalk.com. Apparently in UK you can find root beer in A&W restaurants and in Sainsbury's and Asda supermarkets.

AirPacific747

Sun Nov 22, 2009 10:33 am

I've been able to buy A&W root beer in a danish supermarket recently. Something that I really miss from my time in Canada! I don't know if it was a limited offer though.

TransIsland

Sun Nov 22, 2009 1:03 pm

When I lived in Berlin, I ignored root beer in the shelves of many a supermarket. However, it was usually not in the drinks & sodas aisle, but in the "ethnic" section.
I'm an aviation expert. I have Sky Juice for breakfast.

andaman

Sun Nov 22, 2009 2:37 pm

Quoting TransIsland (Reply 4):
it was usually not in the drinks & sodas aisle, but in the "ethnic" section.

Yes same in Finland. Marshmallow and peanut butter are a bit more common, but still 'foreign specialties'. It's a lot easier to find Greek or Thai food, I think it's mostly about where people travel for their holidays.
Chinese cookie in SFO: "You're doomed to a life of forever travelling abroad and to be able to afford it!"

ajd1992

Sun Nov 22, 2009 5:43 pm

You can get it, it's just not very common.

Plus it tastes like crap anyway, so it's no wonder we don't sell it  Wink For people from the UK who haven't tasted it, think liquid germoline that's coke coloured...

mayor

Sun Nov 22, 2009 5:59 pm

Quoting Ajd1992 (Reply 6):
Plus it tastes like crap anyway, so it's no wonder we don't sell it

All a matter of taste, I guess. Maybe your taste buds have been dulled from too much beer!  Wink